You are not logged in.

#1 2016-04-07 19:17:24

Dornith
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 78

Trouble getting Chromium to use SSH tunnel, "No data received"

Hello.

I'm trying to set up an SSH tunnel to use as a proxy server.  I created the tunnel with this command and tested it in firefox using the manual SOCKS configuration.  I know that it worked because http://www.whatismyipaddress.com/ shows my server IP.

$ /usr/bin/ssh -fND <tunnel port> -M -o ExitOnForwardFailure=yes <user>@<ip>

I set my enviorment variable with this command to try to configure chromium:

$ export SOCKS_SERVER="socks5://localhost:<port>/"

But then, when I try to open chrome I get a "No data received" error no matter which page I visit.  I've also tried setting http_proxy, https_proxy, and ftp_proxy in the same way but I still get the same issue.  I've tried using:

$ chromium --proxy-server="socks5://localhost:<port>"

which, for some reason, works for a little while, but it's slow and constantly prints errors, and eventually the tunnel completely stops working (even in firefox).

CreatePlatformSocket() returned an error, errno=97: Address family not supported by protocol

It works just fine in firefox so I know it's not something else causing problems with the tunnel.

Does anyone know why chromium isn't working with the proxy and how I can fix it?

Offline

#2 2016-04-08 02:57:00

Dornith
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 78

Re: Trouble getting Chromium to use SSH tunnel, "No data received"

Okay, I managed to solve one part of the problem at least.  I ran

$ export SOCKS_VERSION=5

And the internets started reporting my IP as being from my server.

On the other hand, now I still have an issue with connection being really slow, and occasionally getting this error out of SSH:

channel 37: open failed: administratively prohibited: open failed

I'm going to try not forking and see if I get more errors (I never got any before with Firefox).

Offline

#3 2016-04-08 03:18:53

Dornith
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 78

Re: Trouble getting Chromium to use SSH tunnel, "No data received"

So I ran it verbose, without forking and got more or less two sets of messages like so:

debug1: channel 112: new [dynamic-tcpip]
debug1: Connection to port 8123 forwarding to socks port 0 requested.
debug1: channel 113: new [dynamic-tcpip]
debug1: Connection to port 8123 forwarding to socks port 0 requested.
debug1: channel 114: new [dynamic-tcpip]
debug1: Connection to port 8123 forwarding to socks port 0 requested.
debug1: channel 115: new [dynamic-tcpip]
debug1: channel 49: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for csi.gstatic.com port 80, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49536 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 116
channel 30: open failed: connect failed: Connection timed out
debug1: channel 8: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for content.quantcount.com port 443, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49608 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 115
debug1: channel 27: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for 0.docs.google.com port 443, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49578 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 114
debug1: channel 30: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for speedtest.ktis.net port 5060, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49390 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 113
debug1: channel 32: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for [url=http://www.google-analytics.com]www.google-analytics.com[/url] port 443, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49586 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 112
debug1: channel 36: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for gg.google.com port 443, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49598 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 111
debug1: channel 56: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for media.business.spectrum.com port 443, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49528 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 110
debug1: channel 37: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for gg.google.com port 443, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49600 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 109
debug1: channel 38: free: direct-tcpip: listening port 8123 for ssl.gstatic.com port 443, connect from 127.0.0.1 port 49602 to 127.0.0.1 port 8123, nchannels 108
debug1: Connection to port 8123 forwarding to socks port 0 requested.
debug1: channel 8: new [dynamic-tcpip]
debug1: Connection to port 8123 forwarding to socks port 0 requested.
debug1: channel 27: new [dynamic-tcpip]
debug1: Connection to port 8123 forwarding to socks port 0 requested.
debug1: channel 30: new [dynamic-tcpip]
debug1: Connection to port 8123 forwarding to socks port 0 requested.
debug1: channel 32: new [dynamic-tcpip]
debug1: Connection to port 8123 forwarding to socks port 0 requested.
debug1: channel 36: new [dynamic-tcpip]

Also, I got a few messages in the google chromium error console.  Most of them were either ERR_CONNECTION_CLOSED or ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE.

Failed to load resource: net::ERR_CONNECTION_CLOSED [url]https://pixel.quantcount.com/pixel/p-9fYuixa7g_Hm2.gif?labels=_imp.creative.iab,_qc.iab.imp.p-5hg2WVmXEngEa.204280.728794[/url]
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_EMPTY_RESPONSE /dist/js/init.1ba0cf2f831bb27a426db489654708e4.js:12
WebSocket connection to 'ws://speedtest.ktis.net:5060/ws' failed: Error in connection establishment: net::ERR_TIMED_OUT /dist/js/init.1ba0cf2f831bb27a426db489654708e4.js:12
WebSocket connection to 'ws://speed.elitesystemsllc.com:5060/ws' failed: Connection closed before receiving a handshake response /dist/js/init.1ba0cf2f831bb27a426db489654708e4.js:12
WebSocket connection to 'ws://speedtest.izones.net:5060/ws' failed: Connection closed before receiving a handshake response /dist/js/init.1ba0cf2f831bb27a426db489654708e4.js:12
WebSocket connection to 'ws://speedtest1.socket.net:5060/ws' failed: Connection closed before receiving a handshake response /dist/js/init.1ba0cf2f831bb27a426db489654708e4.js:12
WebSocket connection to 'ws://sp1.bays-et.net:5060/ws' failed: Connection closed before receiving a handshake response
[url]https://media.business.spectrum.com/xl/PROD/18441102/creatives.24541/LP_TE_…26pageID%3D855.879.9151%26leadRef%3DLP_DIS_ROI2_Quantcast%26leadSource%3D1[/url]
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_TIMED_OUT [url]https://media.business.spectrum.com/te_re/te_re.js[/url]
Failed to load resource: net::ERR_TIMED_OUT [url]http://www.google.com/ads/measurement/l?ebcid=ALh7CaRw0uMQpYUIbDK-5oHhfXPn0HMLfJ6Sl0_mFRCF6YEOoEqvDLwqrWkEBbniJck7agqGVfTC8buSg6Un17xub7lay5-fsQ[/url]

Offline

#4 2016-04-19 17:52:44

Dornith
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 78

Re: Trouble getting Chromium to use SSH tunnel, "No data received"

Just an update incase anyone is watching this thread with the same problem: I've opened up a bug report with chromium here.

Offline

#5 2016-04-19 19:49:59

Arch-Hoochie
Member
Registered: 2014-09-23
Posts: 75

Re: Trouble getting Chromium to use SSH tunnel, "No data received"

Not quite was you want but have you tried the chrome package from the aur repo ?

Offline

#6 2016-04-28 00:12:16

Dornith
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 78

Re: Trouble getting Chromium to use SSH tunnel, "No data received"

Arch-Hoochie wrote:

Not quite was you want but have you tried the chrome package from the aur repo ?

I have it installed but I haven't tried it.  I usually only pull that out for HBO.
My computer is out of commission for the week because of moving, but I'll try it as soon as I can. 

Interestingly enough, in the bug report I opened they more or less said, "The problem's not on our end," although I find this suspect considering firefox and thunderbird work just fine.

Offline

#7 2016-05-04 16:49:06

Dornith
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 78

Re: Trouble getting Chromium to use SSH tunnel, "No data received"

Quick update for Arch-Hoochie.  The problem still exists in google chrome as well as chromium.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB