You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-16 16:49:29

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

how to speed up my LAN??

Hi,

At my home I have a LAN with 2 machines running Win 2000, one running Win XP and my own running Arch.  My pc to pc speeds are consistently about half of what I can achieve downloading large files from the internet, from any one of the machines.  Is there a doc or guide that someone can point me to that might help??  I've tried but I can't find any.

It only runs TCP/IP by the way. I use all static IPs, to eliminate the browser election nonsense but that hasn't really helped.


I realize that it's not an Arch specific problem but I'd really like to speed it up.

By the way, if I can get enough good advice and avhieve my goal I'd like to contribute a Wiki page as it seems to be an issue that bother folks from time to time.

Thanks,

Jim

Offline

#2 2006-05-16 20:18:01

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,390

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

To help we need to know a bit more about your network setup.

Are those 2 pc's the only ones in the LAN ?

What devices are used for connecting the pc's : adsl-router , cable router, hub, switch, usb-modem ?

If you are using copy/paste with lots of small files, windows explorer can be VERY SLOW over a LAN.
Try testing it with large files, like DVD-iso's.
make sure the pc's are NOT doing anything else when you test.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#3 2006-05-16 20:45:54

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Apologies for not being clear. There are a total of four PCs. Two of them run Win 2000 (SP4). One runs Win Xp and mine runs Arch.  I have fios (fibre-optic) internet access and a D-Link DI-604 router. One of the Win2000 machines and the Win XP machine have Linksys 10/100 ethernet cards and the other two have on-board Lan sockets.

Yes, I expect that paste/copy with tons of small files would be slow, but even if I copy a 700MB CD-Image the speeds vary up and down from 250 KB/s to 450KB/s. It tends to average around 350KB/s.  I have downloaded this very file from a web-site at 630 KB/s.

Here's a copy of my smb.conf;

Note I've been adjusting SO_RCVBUF and SO_SNDBUF size based on soem info I found on the 'net.


[global]
workgroup = BERETTADOMAIN
netbios name = BERETTAJ
server string = host %h Version %v for %I
#map to guest = Bad User
encrypt passwords = yes
#username map = /etc/samba/smbusers
#smb passwd file = /etc/samba/smbpasswd
socket options = TCP_NODELAY SO_RCVBUF=8576 SO_SNDBUF=8576
#socket options = TCP_NODELAY
#character set = ISO8859-1
printcap name = cups
guest ok = yes

[000JIM_TRANS]
path = /Data
read only = no
case sensitive = no
msdfs proxy = no

Thanks,
Jim

Offline

#4 2006-05-16 21:19:17

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,390

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

The DI-604 uses auto-negotiation for speed and duplex setting.

Sometimes auto-negotation between networkcard and router gives the wrong results, and ends up as 10 Mb, full/half duplex instead of the usual 100 Mb full duplex for modern networks.

The 350 kb/s you mention is consistent with a 10 Mb connection.

My guess is one or more of pc's are running on 10 Mb.

In windows you can find out the speed through
control panel, network connections, right-click the lan connection and choose status.

Not sure how to do that that on arch ...., but the LED's  on your router may also help determining what speeds you're using.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#5 2006-05-16 21:28:17

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Thanks Lone_Wolf,

I checked each Windows PC. They're all 100MB. I don't know how to check the Arch machine speed but as I can download from the internet at 650+ KB/s It must be 100MB.

Unfortunately the D-Link router doesn't have a speed LED.


Jim

Offline

#6 2006-05-17 11:38:03

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Maybe the built in switch in your DLink router isn't all that great. Can you connect a switch you know is working fine to the router and all the LAN PC to that switch?


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#7 2006-05-17 12:07:16

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Heimdall & FUBAR,

mii-tool gives this reply;

SIOCGMIIPHY on 'eth0' failed: Operation not supported
no MII interfaces found


I don't think it's the D-Link's switch. I had the same speed issue with a Linksys router and a Linksys switch that I tried.


Jim

Offline

#8 2006-05-17 12:35:21

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

mii module is loaded?

What do you mean?

Offline

#9 2006-05-17 17:44:13

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

No it's not loaded. How do I do that?

Offline

#10 2006-05-17 17:58:31

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

modprobe mii-tool

A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#11 2006-05-17 23:28:56

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

OK I tried the modprobe mii-tool


# modprobe mii-tool
FATAL: Module mii_tool not found.

So I tried;
# modprobe mii_tool
FATAL: Module mii_tool not found.

I can find mii-tool in my /sbin directory.  Am I missing something here??

Jim

Offline

#12 2006-05-18 06:04:22

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Are you using the stock kernel? If you built a custom kernel, you'll need to enable mii support in it.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#13 2006-05-18 12:40:59

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Yes, I'm using stock.

Offline

#14 2006-05-18 12:45:10

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Oh god, I fucked up:

modprobe mii

should do the trick (cf supra).


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#15 2006-05-18 13:32:06

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

I get no reply to 'modprobe mii'

Jim

Offline

#16 2006-05-18 14:20:39

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

That means it worked.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#17 2006-05-18 22:36:06

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

OK Thanks.

Now If I do

lsmod|grep mii

I get

mii                     5376  0

What does that mean?

Jim

Offline

#18 2006-05-18 22:57:02

sputnik
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-06-24
Posts: 98

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Now do:
mii-tool

Offline

#19 2006-05-19 00:29:21

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

Here's what I get;


# mii-tool
SIOCGMIIPHY on 'eth0' failed: Operation not supported
no MII interfaces found


Jim

Offline

#20 2006-05-21 22:56:00

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,390

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

That suggests there's someting wrong with your network config in arch.

run as root

hwdetect --show-net

check the output of lsmod to see if the modules that lists are present.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#21 2006-05-22 00:04:21

MillTek
Member
Registered: 2005-01-30
Posts: 442

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

OK,

I get;

# hwdetect --show-net
NET    : forcedeth irtty-sir sir-dev ppp_generic slhc irda

When I lsmod, irtty-sir and sir-dev do not show in the list. The others do.

Jim

Offline

#22 2006-05-22 19:25:34

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,390

Re: how to speed up my LAN??

well, i'm at out of ideas for this.

Maybe you should file a bug report on flyspray.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB