You are not logged in.

#1 2010-04-16 17:19:38

rangalo
Member
Registered: 2008-06-25
Posts: 108
Website

IntelliJ idea with xmonad

When I start intelliJ idea in Xmonad, I just see a grey window, nothing happens.

Did anybody have success with this combination.

Offline

#2 2010-04-16 18:20:23

mintcoffee
Member
From: Waterloo, ON
Registered: 2007-10-05
Posts: 120
Website

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

Yep, xmonad and Java swing application's don't play well with the default config. You'll need to set your WM name to "LG3D" for Java Swing apps to work. The easiest way to add a call to setWMName "LG3D" in your startupHook like this:

import XMonad.Hooks.SetWMName
xmonad $ defaultConfig { startupHook = setWMName "LG3D" }

Arch on a Thinkpad T400s

Offline

#3 2010-04-16 18:36:39

rangalo
Member
Registered: 2008-06-25
Posts: 108
Website

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

Thanks,

This worked like a charm.

Offline

#4 2010-04-16 19:49:57

rangalo
Member
Registered: 2008-06-25
Posts: 108
Website

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

Another question,  how should I watch youtube videos in full screen ?

Offline

#5 2010-04-16 20:13:21

eol
Member
Registered: 2009-05-30
Posts: 23

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

rangalo wrote:

Another question,  how should I watch youtube videos in full screen ?

When I used Xmonad, I had such a line in ~/.xmonad/xmonad.hs

ManageHook = composeOne [ isFullscreen -?> doFullFloat ]

Maybe is it still right.

Offline

#6 2010-04-16 20:26:10

brisbin33
Member
From: boston, ma
Registered: 2008-07-24
Posts: 1,796
Website

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

rangalo wrote:

Another question,  how should I watch youtube videos in full screen ?

i found a gem on their mailing list.  it lets you focus the other screen and change workspaces without losing the fullscreen-ness.

import XMonad.Hooks.ManageHelpers
import qualified XMonad.StackSet as W

--- add the following rule to your manageHook list: isFullscreen --> myDoFullFloat

myDoFullFloat :: ManageHook
myDoFullFloat = doF W.focusDown <+> doFullFloat

Last edited by brisbin33 (2010-04-16 20:32:51)

Offline

#7 2010-04-16 20:27:04

lifeafter2am
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2009-06-10
Posts: 1,332

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

brisbin33 wrote:
rangalo wrote:

Another question,  how should I watch youtube videos in full screen ?

i found a gem on their mailing list.  it lets you focus the other workspace and change workspaces without losing the fullscreen-ness.

import XMonad.Hooks.ManageHelpers
import qualified XMonad.StackSet as W

--- add the following rule to your manageHook list: isFullscreen --> myDoFullFloat

myDoFullFloat :: ManageHook
myDoFullFloat = doF W.focusDown <+> doFullFloat

brisbin33, you are da man!  big_smile


#binarii @ irc.binarii.net
Matrix Server: https://matrix.binarii.net
-------------
Allan -> ArchBang is not supported because it is stupid.

Offline

#8 2010-07-10 23:13:52

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 115

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

mintcoffee wrote:

Yep, xmonad and Java swing application's don't play well with the default config. You'll need to set your WM name to "LG3D" for Java Swing apps to work. The easiest way to add a call to setWMName "LG3D" in your startupHook like this:

import XMonad.Hooks.SetWMName
xmonad $ defaultConfig { startupHook = setWMName "LG3D" }

Note:

XMonad.Hooks.EwmhDesktops

nullifies the effect of XMonad.Hooks.SetWMName.

However, adding

>> setWMName "LG3D"

to the LogHook appears to yield the desired effect.

Last edited by misc (2010-07-11 00:34:39)

Offline

#9 2010-07-10 23:34:10

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,183

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

rangalo wrote:

When I start intelliJ idea in Xmonad, I just see a grey window, nothing happens.

Did anybody have success with this combination.

I have seen this problem in musca as well. There was some solution that I used, but its been so long I don't remember.

Will setting the wm name to LG3D work in wms other than xmonad? Has anyone else tried it ?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#10 2010-07-10 23:40:47

misc
Member
From: Bavaria, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 115

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

The funny thing is, with the config set as I wrote the menus of this particular Java app do stay, but only if I move the cursor on one of their entries. If I do not, they immediately collapse just as before.

Offline

#11 2010-07-11 00:12:31

Runiq
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-10-29
Posts: 1,053

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

Inxsible wrote:
rangalo wrote:

When I start intelliJ idea in Xmonad, I just see a grey window, nothing happens.

Did anybody have success with this combination.

I have seen this problem in musca as well. There was some solution that I used, but its been so long I don't remember.

Will setting the wm name to LG3D work in wms other than xmonad? Has anyone else tried it ?

Yes, it works in all WMs actually, They hardcoded a list of supposedly working WMs into swing or something.

Offline

#12 2016-12-01 08:25:52

lawleagle
Member
Registered: 2016-11-22
Posts: 6

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

mintcoffee wrote:

Yep, xmonad and Java swing application's don't play well with the default config. You'll need to set your WM name to "LG3D" for Java Swing apps to work. The easiest way to add a call to setWMName "LG3D" in your startupHook like this:

import XMonad.Hooks.SetWMName
xmonad $ defaultConfig { startupHook = setWMName "LG3D" }

Has no-one noticed this in all these years? This messes up other applications. Chromium now shows the minimize, maximize and close buttons, which it didn't before.

Offline

#13 2016-12-01 08:49:17

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: IntelliJ idea with xmonad

Six years later? No wonder it no longer works: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … bumping.22


Closing


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB