You are not logged in.

#1 2006-05-25 15:26:19

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Wifi boot problems

Hello, my wifi always failed to boot at startup...

Here is my /etc/rc.conf:

#
# Interfaces to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each interface then list in INTERFACES
#   - prefix an entry in INTERFACES with a ! to disable it
#
# Note: to use DHCP, set your interface to be "dhcp" (eth0="dhcp")
#
lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
eth0="dhcp"
wlan0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(lo !eth0 wlan0)

#
# Routes to start at boot-up (in this order)
# Declare each route then list in ROUTES
#   - prefix an entry in ROUTES with a ! to disable it
#
gateway="default gw 192.168.1.1"
ROUTES=(!gateway)

And here is my /etc/conf.d/wireless

wlan_wlan0="wlan0 essid kingboxerwifi key restricted 1011021034 channel 6"
WLAN_INTERFACES=(wlan0)

When My Arch system is launched, if I make a iwconfig, I have nothing configurated...

Is it possible to use dhclient at boot???

Please help, Thanks you in advence

Kingboxer

Offline

#2 2006-05-25 15:34:26

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 332
Website

Re: Wifi boot problems

Once your computer is up and running, can you manually run "iwconfig wlan0 essid....."

Also, check the "DAEMONS=()" section of your rc.conf, do you have "network" in there?


In my 10th year of Arch

Offline

#3 2006-05-25 16:42:16

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

Yes, I have the network daemon in rc.conf...

I know about to iwconfig manually but I would like to make it run automaticly...

And what about dhclient? Do you use it at boot?

Offline

#4 2006-05-25 17:08:56

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 332
Website

Re: Wifi boot problems

kingboxer wrote:

I know about to iwconfig manually but I would like to make it run automaticly...

Does it work when you do that though?

kingboxer wrote:

And what about dhclient? Do you use it at boot?

No I don't.

Try running

iwlist scan wlan0

and make sure you can see your access point.


In my 10th year of Arch

Offline

#5 2006-05-25 17:48:18

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

manually it's working fine

Offline

#6 2006-05-25 18:15:43

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 332
Website

Re: Wifi boot problems

Dang, this is tough.  How are the modules for your wirless card being loaded.  Are you maybe using hotplug and running it after the network daemon?

Also, when you boot, does the network damon start ok, or does it fail.


In my 10th year of Arch

Offline

#7 2006-05-25 20:26:13

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

the daemon fail all the time...

I don't have hotplug

thanks for your help, I used all my sciences in this problem

Offline

#8 2006-05-25 20:54:07

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 332
Website

Re: Wifi boot problems

Once the computer is up, if you run '/etc/rc.d/network start' does it give a more detailed error?


In my 10th year of Arch

Offline

#9 2006-05-25 21:48:10

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

/etc/rc.d/network start
:: Starting Network                                                      [DONE]

Everything is fine, after the boot in the gnome terminal

That's wired...

Do you understand something to it?

Offline

#10 2006-05-25 23:19:30

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 332
Website

Re: Wifi boot problems

Edit your DAEMONS=() section in your /etc/rc.conf, and put the 'network' entry later. 

For example change:

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng !hotplug network pcmcia acpid crond gdm)

to

DAEMONS=(syslog-ng !hotplug pcmcia acpid crond network gdm)

In my 10th year of Arch

Offline

#11 2006-05-26 15:19:53

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

I have just noticed a strange thing when I do a iwlist wlan0 scan in a gnome terminal, I can see my essid BUT when I do it in console out of my X server, I can't see it...
I have the same result even if I put the daemon later in my rc.conf

Offline

#12 2006-05-26 15:32:16

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

After a wilde, the two "iwlist" say the same thing....

Offline

#13 2006-05-26 19:03:08

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

Yep; I think I have a problem with my essid detection...

what can I do about it???

Offline

#14 2006-05-26 19:08:39

murffatksig
Member
From: Atl
Registered: 2004-05-17
Posts: 332
Website

Re: Wifi boot problems

Well, since you're using gnome, you could add a the "iwconfig wlan..." command to the things to run at startup. 

Could try another wireless network like a coffee house that has free wifi?  Maybe it's your access point


In my 10th year of Arch

Offline

#15 2006-05-27 17:09:49

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

I don't have a possibility to use an other accees point, how can I improuve de detection of mine at the boot of my system?
Thanks for your anwsers...

Offline

#16 2006-05-28 10:37:51

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

Do you think it will help to move the computer in my room?

Offline

#17 2006-05-28 10:59:17

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,664

Re: Wifi boot problems

Try removing the 'channel 6' part from your /etc/conf.d/wireless .
Most access points don't use a fixed channel.


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#18 2006-05-28 13:52:41

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

okay I will try this at home this evening

Offline

#19 2006-05-31 18:08:05

kingboxer
Member
Registered: 2006-05-19
Posts: 61

Re: Wifi boot problems

same problem when I remove channel 6

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB