You are not logged in.

#1 2017-05-08 23:10:10

curiousmitchell
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

[SOLVED] Operation system not found

Hi, new to Arch, and struggling with the initial install. Linux & server user for many years, however Arch is another kettle of fish.

So far:

Have installed using the newbie guide and seemingly set everything up. Possibly an issue with grub? I'm using a L321x dell xps 13 ultrabook - this was before uefi was a thing. There's not much I can actually change in the bios - other than selecting which disk to boot from it's pretty basic.

I've configured the wireless, installed the base system, and setup grub - only on rebooting, I get the error message 'Operation system not found'. Can still boot from the installation usb and arch-chroot into root - what else can I try?

Thanks.

Last edited by curiousmitchell (2017-05-09 09:57:41)

Offline

#2 2017-05-08 23:17:42

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,436
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

curiousmitchell wrote:

I've configured the wireless, installed the base system, and setup grub

How did you do that -- what instructions did you follow?  Sounds like you missed the `grub-install /dev/sdX` stage of setting up grub.

Offline

#3 2017-05-08 23:31:58

Trilby
Forum Fellow
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 17,404
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

As above - assuming the error is "operating system not found" - that is a generic BIOS error.  This results from one of two three causes: either your BIOS is not configured to boot the disk you installed to, or that disk doesn't have the MBR boot code (which the grub-install command would create.)

(edit: third possibility below)

Last edited by Trilby (2017-05-09 00:31:00)


Resist the GNU world order.

Offline

#4 2017-05-08 23:47:11

R00KIE
Forum Moderator
From: Between a computer and a chair
Registered: 2008-09-14
Posts: 4,361

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

I believe some boards also refuse to boot if there isn't a partition marked as bootable.


R00KIE
Tm90aGluZyB0byBzZWUgaGVyZSwgbW92ZSBhbG9uZy4K

Offline

#5 2017-05-09 03:21:47

curiousmitchell
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

@fukawi2 - I used the installation instructions here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Installation_guide
When I got to the bootloader section, I followed the links through and install grub. I definitely ran 'grub-install /dev/sda' and watched it complete successfully.

@Trilby - The bios has always been configured to boot from the hard disk, however this was one of the first things I checked. This issue isn't it.

@Rookie - thanks for the tip.

Could you please help me manually mark the correct partition to boot from, using fdisk? How do I check the MBR code? Again, I have run grub-install, however something isn't right.

Thanks everyone for your quick replies.

Offline

#6 2017-05-09 04:19:31

tom.ty89
Member
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 896

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

curiousmitchell wrote:

Could you please help me manually mark the correct partition to boot from, using fdisk? How do I check the MBR code?

It doesn't matter which partition to mark, grub does not rely on the bootable flag, so in case your BIOS really have this "false sanity check", you can just mark any one of them as bootable. (It matters if you turn to syslinux or so though)

curiousmitchell wrote:

How do I check the MBR code?

[root@localhost ~]# hexdump -C -n 512 /dev/sda
00000000  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  |................|
*
000001c0  02 00 ee ff ff ff 01 00  00 00 23 7b 94 03 00 00  |..........#{....|
000001d0  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  |................|
*
000001f0  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 55 aa  |..............U.|
00000200

(Mine is a "PMBR" on a "GPT disk" without any legacy bootloader installed)

Offline

#7 2017-05-09 05:24:31

curiousmitchell
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

@tom.ty89 Thanks. How do I actually mark the partition as bootable - is there a way to do this through fdisk (or something similar), that doesn't rely on grub, assuming that is the issue?

Offline

#8 2017-05-09 08:01:22

olegabrielz
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2015-12-23
Posts: 255

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

curiousmitchell wrote:

... is there a way to do this through fdisk ...?

You can actually answer that question yourself. I'll give you a hint: Look under 'extra functionality (experts only)' in fdisk wink


Be aware of my Newbie Powers

Offline

#9 2017-05-09 08:57:50

curiousmitchell
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

@olegabrielz - That's really patronizing and less than helpful. The point of posting in the forums is asking for concrete help - I don't need to be told to answer the question myself and given 'hints' as to where to find it. If you aren't able to offer help please don't bother posting.

Offline

#10 2017-05-09 09:03:57

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 7,411
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

Olegabrielz's reply was perfectly helpful. If you want to know whether a command can do something, read it's manpage. The forums are not here to hold your hand.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … way_street


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#11 2017-05-09 09:08:33

curiousmitchell
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

@WorMzy - then a simple 'It's in the man page' would suffice - patronising attitudes and comments are just a great way to piss people off. For those interested, the bootable flag is "a" in fdisk. (not hard to write, is it?) Will try later and post back the results.

Offline

#12 2017-05-09 09:41:55

curiousmitchell
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

Ok - solved it! Needed to unset the bootable flag from /dev/sda1 (where grub installed itself) and make it /dev/sda2 (where the operating system actually is). Simple commands:

fdisk /dev/sda
a (choose bootable option)
Then choose each partition to toggle it.

Thanks for all your help people.

M

Offline

#13 2017-05-09 09:43:21

curiousmitchell
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

How do I mark this thread as solved?

Offline

#14 2017-05-09 09:46:19

olegabrielz
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2015-12-23
Posts: 255

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

Just edit your first post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the title.


Be aware of my Newbie Powers

Offline

#15 2017-05-09 09:58:05

curiousmitchell
Member
Registered: 2017-05-08
Posts: 15

Re: [SOLVED] Operation system not found

olegabrielz wrote:

Just edit your first post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the title.

Thanks! Done. M

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB