You are not logged in.

#1 2017-09-07 18:28:08

fear
Member
Registered: 2017-09-07
Posts: 3

How do I assign /48 static ipv6 to KVM?

I got a dedicated server at online.net, they provide an IP6 of /48. I am working on KVM at the moment, I was able to get a static lan ip assigned to it. But, I can't figure out how do I assign a staic IPV6 address to a specific KVM? There are three running. I would appreciate a response.

Offline

#2 2017-09-07 19:08:04

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,283

Re: How do I assign /48 static ipv6 to KVM?

I think you should be able to adapt this guide from gentoo. Basically, you assign a subnet of your ipv6 range to KVM, then configure the virtualized OS to a static IPv6 from that subnet.
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/QEMU/KVM_IPv6_Support

Last edited by progandy (2017-09-07 19:09:22)

Offline

#3 2017-09-07 19:37:00

fear
Member
Registered: 2017-09-07
Posts: 3

Re: How do I assign /48 static ipv6 to KVM?

I tried the guide before,   <ip family='ipv6' address='2001:db8:dead:beef:fe::2' prefix='96'> it doesn't allow me to do less than /64. I am on /48 ... So that guide is useless to me.

Offline

#4 2017-09-07 21:50:44

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,283

Re: How do I assign /48 static ipv6 to KVM?

/48 means you own all addresses starting with the given 48 bits. Your KVM doesn't need 10^24 addresses, so make the fixed part of the address longer. If you replace /48 with /96 (make the fixed part 96 bits long), then all your KVM v6 IPs will start with "????:????:????:0000:0000:0000:" That will still be 4 billion possible IPs.

Last edited by progandy (2017-09-07 22:00:06)

Offline

#5 2017-09-08 01:33:56

fear
Member
Registered: 2017-09-07
Posts: 3

Re: How do I assign /48 static ipv6 to KVM?

.. I don't understand. Anybody else? I guess I may have to post on online.net if I can't get an answer here. I know it is possible.

Offline

#6 2017-09-08 10:53:59

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,283

Re: How do I assign /48 static ipv6 to KVM?

I think you should ask on online.net and make yourself more familiar with how IPv6 works in general before assigning it to your server. In the worst case you may loose access and you'll have to ask the support to fix your network.
https://forum.online.net/index.php?/top … onlinenet/

I'll try it again, though: online.net provides you with all ipv6 addresses that start with the given 6 bytes (/48, 48 bits). You can now pick and choose for example 2 additional bytes to create a prefix with 8 bytes length (/64, 64 bits). Then tell your KVM to use only IPs that start with these 8 bytes.

Last edited by progandy (2017-09-08 11:15:56)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB