You are not logged in.

#1 2006-06-12 02:30:15

Vlad_Paler
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2006-01-24
Posts: 14
Website

PCMCIA Issues

I can't figure out how to use my PCMCIA card at all. I have then yenta_socket module, but there's no reaction when I plug the card in (nothing on dmesg.) Any ideas?

The card is a Microsoft (I know, I know, I got it when I had XP,) Wireless Notebook Adapter MN-520 802.11b Card. Supposedly, it's incorporated in the wlan-ng26 drivers, so that shouldn't be the problem. I'm heading off to uni soon, and this is one of the last issues I have  to resolve to make a 100% shift from windows to linux.

Offline

#2 2006-06-12 07:45:01

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: PCMCIA Issues

Do you have the pcmciautils package installed?

Offline

#3 2006-06-13 12:06:58

Vlad_Paler
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2006-01-24
Posts: 14
Website

Re: PCMCIA Issues

Yes, version 013-6.

Offline

#4 2006-06-13 12:09:07

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: PCMCIA Issues

What shows lspcmcia ?

EDIT: It seems that this card is based on prism2/2.5/3 chip so it should work with orinoco_cs, hostap_cs or wlan-ng (in theory :-)). If pcmciautils don't detect the module automatically try loading any of these modules using modprobe from command line and checking dmesg for output. If any of them works add it to MODULES in /etc/rc.conf.

Offline

#5 2006-06-27 03:07:50

Vlad_Paler
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2006-01-24
Posts: 14
Website

Re: PCMCIA Issues

lspcmcia
Socket 0 Bridge:        [yenta_cardbus]         (bus ID: 0000:00:0a.0)

it's the same with/without the card in it

modprobing all three of the other modules fails too :-(

from hwd -s

PCMCIA slot: O2Micro Inc|OZ6912 CardBus Controller module: yenta_socket

Offline

#6 2006-06-27 11:21:02

lanrat
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2003-10-28
Posts: 1,274

Re: PCMCIA Issues

Looks like your card or the slot isn't working at all. The card should be listed with lspcmcia even without the wifi driver loaded.
I don't know why it's like this but are you sure that the card/slot is working ?
What other modules do you have loaded (lsmod)?

EDIT:
What shows dmesg? Any errors related to IRQ ?
Is acpi working fine on this laptop?

Offline

#7 2006-07-01 05:49:28

k.mandla
Member
From: Japan
Registered: 2006-05-16
Posts: 86
Website

Re: PCMCIA Issues

Hi. I don't know if this will help at all, but your problem reminds me of another thread in the Ubuntu Forums.

http://www.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=125334

It's lengthy, but the OPer fought with a similar-sounding problem for quite some time before finding an answer.

If you're having the same problem, it might have something to do with the hardware in your laptop and the kernel you use. Anyway, it's an idea.

Cheers!  big_smile


Linux user No. 409907

Offline

#8 2006-07-01 11:34:56

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: PCMCIA Issues

i can tell you for my laptop pcmcia is recognized but udev wouldnt always connect to net with it so in /etc/rc.conf  the section where MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes" i prefixed it with a #
to disable then in daemons i added hwd now it works great give it a shot , you may even need to write a udev rule

Offline

#9 2006-07-09 16:31:32

Vlad_Paler
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2006-01-24
Posts: 14
Website

Re: PCMCIA Issues

So.. you mean like

#MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
...
DAEMONS=(syslog-ng hwd !pcmcia network netfs crond alsa cups samba)

The DAEMONS is exactly as it is now, but I'll try the # in front of MOD_AUTOLOAD.

Also, the guy on the unbuntu forums only had success when he installed Slackware, though it was an older kernel. I rather not have to downgrade my kernel, or switch to another distro, but I'l do what's gotta be done.

Offline

#10 2006-07-09 16:54:36

stonecrest
Member
From: Boulder
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 1,190

Re: PCMCIA Issues

I wish I'd seen this earlier. I'm actually running into the same exact problem trying to get my MN-720 pcmcia wifi card to work. If I use ndiswrapper, the card powers on and works fine, but I'd like to use the new bcm43xx module in the kernel.

I can't get the card to power on no matter what I do though. I have pcmciautils installed, I put 'pcmcia' in the mkinitcpio hooks, I've tried modprobing all of the pcmcia modules.. no dice. Thankfully I can continue to use ndiswrapper but I'd really love to ditch it...


I am a gated community.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB