You are not logged in.

#1 2017-10-18 12:05:28

behrooz
Member
Registered: 2016-07-01
Posts: 10

kwin crash on plasma 5.11

Hello
I have plasma 5.11 on my laptop lenovo G500 with VGA ( Intel HD 4000). Sometimes Kwin crash and title bar will go missing on all windows and I'm not able to switch between windows. if i run

kwin_x11

or reboot arch linux title bar will go back and issue fixed. How can i fix this issue to never don't happen again?

Offline

#2 2017-10-18 13:07:01

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 7,610

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

How can i fix this issue to never don't happen again?

Don't use kwin.

Seriously, your post provide absolutely no information and you ask us how to prevent undefined "things"...
Read https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57855 (and the other stickies) and maybe start with the backtrace that KDE yells at you when something crashed (and if it doesn't, instal drkonqi)

Offline

#3 2017-10-20 01:40:18

irb
Member
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 10
Website

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

I'm seeing a crash too. I've deleted ~/.cache and Trolltech.conf and run "kbuildsycoca5 --noincremental"as per the wiki. Some log context:

Oct 19 16:43:49 wreckage plasmashell[1151]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 37140, resource id: 79692329, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3
Oct 19 16:43:50 wreckage plasmashell[1151]: QXcbConnection: XCB error: 2 (BadValue), sequence: 37622, resource id: 60817413, major code: 142 (Unknown), minor code: 3
Oct 19 16:43:51 wreckage kwin_x11[1148]: QOpenGLContext::swapBuffers() called with non-exposed window, behavior is undefined
Oct 19 16:43:51 wreckage kwin_x11[1148]: The X11 connection broke: No error (code 0)
Oct 19 16:43:51 wreckage kwin_x11[1148]: QObject::~QObject: Timers cannot be stopped from another thread
Oct 19 16:43:51 wreckage kwin_x11[1148]: QThread::wait: Thread tried to wait on itself
Oct 19 16:43:53 wreckage plasmashell[1151]: qt.svg: <input>:170: Could not resolve property: linearGradient4389
Oct 19 16:43:53 wreckage plasmashell[1151]: qt.svg: <input>:170: Could not resolve property: linearGradient4381

What more information would be helpful? The crash occurs when switching windows, and occurs more frequently if a GL app like a game is running.

This system has an nvidia GP102 [TITAN X], is up to date on patches, 128Gb RAM.

/i.

Offline

#4 2017-10-20 02:46:51

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 6,099

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

irb wrote:

128Gb RAM.

Good grief. Really? I had no idea.

Can you provide a back trace?

Last edited by cfr (2017-10-20 02:49:32)


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | refind | stub loader | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x270 | Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7200U CPU @ 2.50GHz | Intel Corporation Wireless 8265 / 8275 | US keyboard with Euro | 512G NVMe INTEL SSDPEKKF512G7L

Offline

#5 2017-10-20 03:46:15

behrooz
Member
Registered: 2016-07-01
Posts: 10

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

cfr wrote:
irb wrote:

128Gb RAM.

Good grief. Really? I had no idea.

Can you provide a back trace?

How can I provide a back trace? Can you give me wiki link or any information? in my kde desktop when kwin_x11 crash, kde doesn't show any error handler window. how can i enable error handler?

Offline

#6 2017-10-20 06:24:55

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 7,610

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

seth wrote:

(and if it doesn't, instal[l] drkonqi)

You can also "man coredumpctl" in case kwin dumps the core in case drkonqi isn't available as error handler.

Offline

#7 2017-10-28 21:53:42

Teyras
Member
Registered: 2010-07-14
Posts: 56

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

I had the same issue with kwin 5.11.2, downgrading to 5.10.5 solved it. Obtaining a core dump is annoying when your window manager crashes randomly tongue

Offline

#8 2017-11-11 18:51:47

irb
Member
Registered: 2014-11-07
Posts: 10
Website

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

It looks like it's fixed in 5.11.4.

Offline

#9 2017-11-11 23:00:23

behrooz
Member
Registered: 2016-07-01
Posts: 10

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

irb wrote:

It looks like it's fixed in 5.11.4.

Do you have any link for fixbugs list in 5.11.4?

Offline

#10 2017-12-27 09:05:36

Teyras
Member
Registered: 2010-07-14
Posts: 56

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

irb wrote:

It looks like it's fixed in 5.11.4.

I cannot confirm this. The problem persists with kwin 5.11.4 and kwindowsystem 5.41.0 - after some desktop switching, kwin crashes.

Offline

#11 2017-12-27 09:20:45

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 7,610

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

Without a coredump to compare, you don't even know whether you're talking about the same problem.
"something crashes" is as meaningless as it gets.

Offline

#12 2017-12-28 18:58:40

Teyras
Member
Registered: 2010-07-14
Posts: 56

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

seth wrote:

Without a coredump to compare, you don't even know whether you're talking about the same problem.
"something crashes" is as meaningless as it gets.

Good point. I found a person with a similar problem here. Their workaround (disable desktop switch OSD) fixed the problem for me too.

If I manage to obtain an actual coredump, I'll post it to the mailing list.

Last edited by Teyras (2017-12-28 19:01:06)

Offline

#13 2018-07-13 15:23:07

Syncopated
Member
Registered: 2015-02-07
Posts: 14

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

irb wrote:

It looks like it's fixed in 5.11.4.

Any citation?

I still get the problem from time to time on the latest version. In fact, it happened half an hour ago. And BTW, I'm using nvidia driver. Some people think it's a driver problem (https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=386370#c8). I don't know what it is but I wish I could throw money at the problem instead of pulling out my hair every time it happens because sometimes Alt-F2 doesn't work so I can't easily restart.

Last edited by Syncopated (2018-07-13 15:25:39)

Offline

#14 2018-07-13 15:38:31

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 4,922

Re: kwin crash on plasma 5.11

No need to throw money nor necrobump an old unrelated post (that you are using nvidia and OP is using intel does make a difference here), it should be fixed on the latest nvidia-390xx driver: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=238191 (yes that one is currently technically "newer" than 396)

Continue in that thread if necessary, closing.

Last edited by V1del (2018-07-13 15:39:15)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB