You are not logged in.

#1 2006-07-21 15:03:50

molinero
Member
From: Copenhagen/Denmark
Registered: 2004-09-19
Posts: 110

Wireless ssid

So my computer went dead and now I'm installing arch on my new one.

I have one small problem. When my old computer booted it just jumped on my wireless since it had the strongest signal. But now with the new comp the network doesn't start at boot.

After boot I have to do

iwconfig eth2 essid xxxxx

and then do

sh /etc/rc.d/network start

This works.

Seems like

iwconfig eth2 essid any

doesn't work which is really annoying since I move my computer around a lot (school, friends, home so on)

How come it doesn't find my AP on boot?

Offline

#2 2006-07-21 17:10:26

Ryujin
Forum Fellow
From: Centerville, Utah
Registered: 2005-05-12
Posts: 246
Website

Re: Wireless ssid

I have had the same problem, I hate to give a non technical commandline-less solution, but the only way I got it to work was with network manager, just add testing and
pacman -Sy gnome-network-manager
recomment testing
and it starts with nm-applet

just my 2 cents

Offline

#3 2006-07-21 17:48:03

alexpnx
Member
From: Nicosia, Cyprus
Registered: 2006-06-10
Posts: 47

Re: Wireless ssid

i use the menu on boot which lets me select different profiles and times out in 5 sec if i dont select any.
just edit rc.conf with "NET_PROFILES=(menu)" and add your profiles to /etc/network-profiles (there's a template already there)

Offline

#4 2006-07-22 11:35:57

molinero
Member
From: Copenhagen/Denmark
Registered: 2004-09-19
Posts: 110

Re: Wireless ssid

hmm - both solutions would work ... but it is still annoying that it can't log on to a network at boot (without the menu).

So I tried a little script to see if it would work. I took the first ESSID from the

iwlist eth2 scan

and had it log on to that - but that doesn't work. And after running my script I can't log on to any network not even manually by doing

iwconfig eth2 essid xxxx
ifconfig eth2 up
dhcpcd eth2

My testscript looks like this

#!/bin/bash

INTERFACE=eth2
aESSID="`iwlist $INTERFACE scan | grep ESSID -m 1`"
bESSID=${aESSID:27}
index=`expr index "$bESSID" "`
ESSID=${bESSID:0:$index-1}
echo Logging on to $ESSID
iwconfig $INTERFACE essid $ESSID
iwconfig                                                #lets see if the essid gets set
sh /etc/rc.d/network start

I can see that the script sets the ESSID correctly but I still can't log on

Does anyone know why

iwconfig ethX essid any

doesn't work anymore

Offline

#5 2006-07-22 11:52:19

allucid
Member
Registered: 2006-01-06
Posts: 259

Re: Wireless ssid

molinero wrote:

How come it doesn't find my AP on boot?

Is it the ssid hidden (not broadcasted)?

Offline

#6 2006-07-23 12:55:50

alexpnx
Member
From: Nicosia, Cyprus
Registered: 2006-06-10
Posts: 47

Re: Wireless ssid

molinero wrote:

hmm - both solutions would work ... but it is still annoying that it can't log on to a network at boot (without the menu).

So I tried a little script to see if it would work. I took the first ESSID from the

iwlist eth2 scan

and had it log on to that - but that doesn't work. And after running my script I can't log on to any network not even manually by doing

iwconfig eth2 essid xxxx
ifconfig eth2 up
dhcpcd eth2

My testscript looks like this

#!/bin/bash

INTERFACE=eth2
aESSID="`iwlist $INTERFACE scan | grep ESSID -m 1`"
bESSID=${aESSID:27}
index=`expr index "$bESSID" "`
ESSID=${bESSID:0:$index-1}
echo Logging on to $ESSID
iwconfig $INTERFACE essid $ESSID
iwconfig                                                #lets see if the essid gets set
sh /etc/rc.d/network start

I can see that the script sets the ESSID correctly but I still can't log on

Does anyone know why

iwconfig ethX essid any

doesn't work anymore

are you doing "ifconfig ethX up" after that script?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB