You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-12 17:39:09

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

[SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

Yo! So as the title says, for some odd reason when I try to boot a Desktop Environment like Xfce and/or LXQt whether it's through GDM or startx my laptop monitor decides to pack things up and call it a day and turns off. However, on the other hand, Gnome works perfectly well and I have no issues running Gnome. I'm hoping y'all could maybe give me some pointers in what might end up being wrong? Here's what I've done so far:

I've tried deleting the Sessions folder via

 rm -r ~/.cache/sessions/ 

command and regenerating said folder. The results all come out the same.

I've also tried stopping GDM and running

 startxfce4 

that did not work either.

At that point I figured that it might be something with Nvidia, perhaps having issues with the DE's. So I went to Nvidia Trouble shooting.

1. I tried adding

 xrandr --auto 

to my xinitrc to no avail.

2. Then I added the

 rcutree.rcu_idle_gp_delay=1 

Kernel Parameter 

3. Then I tried to add the nvidia module directly to my mkinitcpio file

4. After none of the above worked I tried both 2 & 3 together.

5. Finally I tried un-installing and reinstalling nvidia and that did not work either.

So, at this point I don't feel like it's a nvidia problem.

I've even tried logging onto these same DE's as root so I don't think it's a permission problem either.

I should add, that Arch recognizes that the DE is running, since I am no longer able to open another DE, but even though that's the case, nothing can be seen.

Last edited by uhIDunno (2018-10-14 17:38:09)

Offline

#2 2018-10-12 17:49:26

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 25,918
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

So Wayland works but X doesn't. Post your Xorg log.


Moving to NC...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#3 2018-10-12 18:21:55

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

jasonwryan wrote:

So Wayland works but X doesn't. Post your Xorg log.


Moving to NC...

I'm not too sure on how I would post my Xorg log since it's so much text. How would I do that? I try journalctl -ar and I get pretty much everything the system does, but I can't seem to find a way to specifically get the X-Org log. Edit, so I actually can't find the X-Org log under my share directory.

Last edited by uhIDunno (2018-10-12 18:23:48)

Offline

#4 2018-10-12 18:34:30

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 25,918
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#5 2018-10-12 18:56:49

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

Offline

#6 2018-10-12 18:58:08

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 25,918
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

That's your journal, not your Xorg log. How did you install Arch?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#7 2018-10-12 19:03:56

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

jasonwryan wrote:

That's your journal, not your Xorg log. How did you install Arch?

Well, I used MBR over Gpt and I used X-org over Wayland. Though I followed the guide step by step. I didn't have any problems until recently. Xfce and LXDE / LXQt both ran. Then they stopped for a while. Then I temporarily fixed it with a system update. Then it broke again. System is currently 100% up to date though.

Offline

#8 2018-10-12 19:16:25

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 25,918
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

Then please paste the Xorg log: without it no-one can assist you.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#9 2018-10-12 19:20:54

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,476

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

You have to add at least one additional line to your .xinitrc or relevant GDM startup files https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NVIDIA_Optimus

Offline

#10 2018-10-12 19:24:35

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

jasonwryan wrote:

Then please paste the Xorg log: without it no-one can assist you.

So I followed the wiki which lead me to this: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=184639

Which also lead me to this: https://who-t.blogspot.com/2014/03/view … alctl.html

Leading me to the command of

 journalctl -e _COMM=Xorg 

Which outputs this:

http://www.rafb.me/results/SgRn6u43.html

I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong, but it's only outputting a single line.

 [es@archlinux ~]$ nano ~/.local/share/xorg/
[es@archlinux ~]$ ~/.local/share/xorg/
bash: /home/es/.local/share/xorg/: No such file or directory

It states that the xorg file just doesn't exist.

Offline

#11 2018-10-12 19:33:05

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,476

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

If you are running on the nvidia driver your xorg would be root started and the log would be in /var/log/ Xorg.0.log.  In doubt just post/look at the log of GDM 

journalctl -b -u gdm

Offline

#12 2018-10-13 03:34:01

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

V1del wrote:

If you are running on the nvidia driver your xorg would be root started and the log would be in /var/log/ Xorg.0.log.  In doubt just post/look at the log of GDM 

journalctl -b -u gdm

Inputting

 journalctl -b -u gdm 

outputs:

-- Logs begin at Wed 2018-09-26 20:45:40 EDT, end at Fri 2018-10-12 23:28:12 ED>
Oct 12 23:26:20 archlinux systemd[1]: Starting GNOME Display Manager...
Oct 12 23:26:20 archlinux systemd[1]: Started GNOME Display Manager.
Oct 12 23:26:20 archlinux gdm-launch-environment][528]: accountsservice: Could >
Oct 12 23:26:27 archlinux gdm-password][771]: accountsservice: Could not get cu>
Oct 12 23:26:33 archlinux gdm-password][771]: pam_unix(gdm-password:session): s>
lines 1-6/6 (END)

Though I did take a look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log and it gave me this: http://www.rafb.me/results/Q5RiJv19.html

Offline

#13 2018-10-13 03:36:34

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 25,918
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

There isn't much point pasting severely truncated files.

Please read the wiki and make some effort to help yourself. The systemd page explains how to include the full lines and for the Xorg log just paste the entire log, using the method from the link I posted above.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Online

#14 2018-10-13 04:41:13

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

jasonwryan wrote:

There isn't much point pasting severely truncated files.

Please read the wiki and make some effort to help yourself. The systemd page explains how to include the full lines and for the Xorg log just paste the entire log, using the method from the link I posted above.

I see what you mean, by it was not much information, sorry about that. I believe I managed to get it to paste the whole thing here: http://www.rafb.me/results/RrbtsG72.html

Offline

#15 2018-10-13 06:30:13

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 8,476

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

So you're running Xorg on the nvidia chip, but outputs are only attached to the intel one.
If you really want to do this, you've to redirect the output.

Start by really reading up https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/NVIDIA_Optimus

Offline

#16 2018-10-13 16:53:37

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

Okay, quick update. I don't even know why things are working, however, after a small system update(8MB) every Desktop Environment except for LXDE and LXQt are currently working. I think I can close the thread or something? I don't use forums very often so, I'm not really sure.

I talked this whole situation over with a friend of mine and he suggested trying to plug-in the laptop to another monitor and it worked fine. So I don't know whether that was the fix or if the small update from last night was the fix. Because I didn't really do anything to fix the problem.

Offline

#17 2018-10-14 00:04:51

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 5,476

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

Which packages were updated? There was a short time during which the nvidia-utils package didn't include a configuration option that helps with optimus setups. If your post was done while having that version of the utils package that would explain this.  That wouldn't be a small update though.

If you consider this as [SOLVED] you can mark it as such by editing the title in your first post and prepending that info there, you might have to shorten your title a little if it's too long to add that.

Offline

#18 2018-10-14 17:36:01

uhIDunno
Member
Registered: 2018-10-12
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] Booting any DE that's not Gnome causes Monitor Failure

V1del wrote:

Which packages were updated? There was a short time during which the nvidia-utils package didn't include a configuration option that helps with optimus setups. If your post was done while having that version of the utils package that would explain this.  That wouldn't be a small update though.

If you consider this as [SOLVED] you can mark it as such by editing the title in your first post and prepending that info there, you might have to shorten your title a little if it's too long to add that.

So this is the update prior to the problem fixing itself:

[2018-10-13 01:58] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2018-10-13 01:58] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2018-10-13 01:59] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] transaction started
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] upgraded ncurses (6.1-3 -> 6.1-4)
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] upgraded bison (3.0.5-1 -> 3.1-1)
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] upgraded libx11 (1.6.6-2 -> 1.6.7-1)
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] upgraded flatpak (1.0.3-1 -> 1.0.4-1)
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] upgraded libnautilus-extension (3.30.1-1 -> 3.30.2-1)
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] upgraded nautilus (3.30.1-1 -> 3.30.2-1)
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] upgraded openal (1.19.0-2 -> 1.19.1-1)
[2018-10-13 02:00] [ALPM] transaction completed

The big one being that libx11 was updated but a friend and I checked the open source update and it had nothing to do with Nvidia updates. Just some update about a Firefox fix not much else.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB