You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-09 23:56:20

Redmattski
Member
Registered: 2016-10-26
Posts: 12

Segfault when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam

Hi

I have installed steam and the steam-native-runtime metapackage in Arch.  Steam loads successfully either via the steam-runtime or the native runtime.

I have been able to run other games successfully (e.g. Scram, Your Dry Delight) but when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam, the game does not launch.

https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/N3GkS58KBk/

My system should be sufficient to run the game based on the system requirements (https://ck2.paradoxwikis.com/System_requirements):

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 8MB Cache
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 580  Graphics card

I have the mesa and lib32-mesa installed and also xf86-video-amdgpu

When I try and trigger the game from terminal, the game segfaults immediately. 

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/libudev.so.1 STEAM_RUNTIME=0 '/home/users/matthew/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Crusader Kings II/ck2'

1592 Segmentation fault      (core dumped)

I have run gdb and get the following output

https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/Bhff7dkxpr/

With Valgrind, I get the following output

https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/8sk8Qn3z3d/

I am not sure how to proceed with this information or how to debug further.  If anyone could give any points, it would be appreciated.

Offline

#2 2018-11-10 17:55:14

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 6,362

Re: Segfault when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam

Steam: An X Error occurred
X Error of failed request:  BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
Major opcode of failed request:  40 (X_TranslateCoords)
Resource id in failed request:  0x8558ec
Serial number of failed request:  13784
xerror_handler: X failed, continuing
ERROR: ld.so: object '/home/users/matthew/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/gameoverlayrenderer.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded (wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32): ignored.
/bin/sh: primusrun: command not found

The reference to primusrun makes me wonder if CK II is setup to use an nivida card.
Check ~/.paradoxinteractive/Crusader Kings II/settings.txt .


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#3 2018-11-10 23:28:20

Redmattski
Member
Registered: 2016-10-26
Posts: 12

Re: Segfault when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam

Thanks for the pointer.  I don't seem to have a folder ~/.paradoxinteractive/Crusader Kings II in my home drive and I cannot find a settings.txt.

I am planning to try reinstalling Steam from sratch on my machine to see if the relevant folders are created.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB