You are not logged in.

#1 2018-11-09 23:56:20

Redmattski
Member
Registered: 2016-10-26
Posts: 13

[Solved] Segfault when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam

Hi

I have installed steam and the steam-native-runtime metapackage in Arch.  Steam loads successfully either via the steam-runtime or the native runtime.

I have been able to run other games successfully (e.g. Scram, Your Dry Delight) but when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam, the game does not launch.

https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/N3GkS58KBk/

My system should be sufficient to run the game based on the system requirements (https://ck2.paradoxwikis.com/System_requirements):

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz 8MB Cache
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon RX 580  Graphics card

I have the mesa and lib32-mesa installed and also xf86-video-amdgpu

When I try and trigger the game from terminal, the game segfaults immediately. 

LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib32/libudev.so.1 STEAM_RUNTIME=0 '/home/users/matthew/.steam/steam/steamapps/common/Crusader Kings II/ck2'

1592 Segmentation fault      (core dumped)

I have run gdb and get the following output

https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/Bhff7dkxpr/

With Valgrind, I get the following output

https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/8sk8Qn3z3d/

I am not sure how to proceed with this information or how to debug further.  If anyone could give any points, it would be appreciated.

Last edited by Redmattski (2018-11-24 20:17:31)

Offline

#2 2018-11-10 17:55:14

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 6,441

Re: [Solved] Segfault when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam

Steam: An X Error occurred
X Error of failed request:  BadWindow (invalid Window parameter)
Major opcode of failed request:  40 (X_TranslateCoords)
Resource id in failed request:  0x8558ec
Serial number of failed request:  13784
xerror_handler: X failed, continuing
ERROR: ld.so: object '/home/users/matthew/.local/share/Steam/ubuntu12_32/gameoverlayrenderer.so' from LD_PRELOAD cannot be preloaded (wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS32): ignored.
/bin/sh: primusrun: command not found

The reference to primusrun makes me wonder if CK II is setup to use an nivida card.
Check ~/.paradoxinteractive/Crusader Kings II/settings.txt .


Multi-init booting with apg Openrc and systemd coexisting
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#3 2018-11-10 23:28:20

Redmattski
Member
Registered: 2016-10-26
Posts: 13

Re: [Solved] Segfault when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam

Thanks for the pointer.  I don't seem to have a folder ~/.paradoxinteractive/Crusader Kings II in my home drive and I cannot find a settings.txt.

I am planning to try reinstalling Steam from sratch on my machine to see if the relevant folders are created.

Offline

#4 2018-11-24 20:22:51

Redmattski
Member
Registered: 2016-10-26
Posts: 13

Re: [Solved] Segfault when running Crusader Kings 2 from Steam

I was not able to resolve the issue via steam or steam-native-runtime and was unable to determine the specific root cause.

However this game was playable when run under Flatpak.

Instructions on how to install via Flatpak are on the steam page of the Arch Linux wiki.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB