You are not logged in.

#126 2019-02-15 02:41:10

Docbroke
Member
From: India
Registered: 2015-06-13
Posts: 1,168

Re: How do Archers play their music?

lizzy + mpv


Arch is home!
sway rofi qutebrowser vifm vim mutt lizzy pass

Offline

#127 2019-02-15 12:03:34

Gigamo
Member
Registered: 2008-01-19
Posts: 394

Re: How do Archers play their music?

cmus

Offline

#128 2019-02-15 12:25:28

K3N8
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2011-11-02
Posts: 61

Re: How do Archers play their music?

I use Plexamp


Arch Linux x86_64 LTS

Offline

#129 2019-02-15 12:31:53

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,362

Re: How do Archers play their music?

my own cloud thing https://github.com/ugjka/music
not very advanced or particularly pretty but i wanted something that does what i want and nothing more


ENTER

~ Arch is not Arch unless it is Arch ~

Offline

#130 2019-02-15 14:55:47

Morn
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 602

Re: How do Archers play their music?

qmmp (with a Winamp 2 skin of course) and Rhythmbox. JuK in the past too, until a JuK upgrade removed all my existing playlists. :-(

qmmp is nice for creating playlists on the fly, e.g. playing all files in a folder, which is not really possible with players that follow the iTunes-like library approach. I also like that I can quickly turn on and off plugins, especially for MOD and SID file types which clutter the playlist with their multiple tracks per file.

Offline

#131 2019-03-08 09:57:58

samurai
Member
From: Turkey
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 20

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Morn wrote:

qmmp (with a Winamp 2 skin of course) and Rhythmbox. JuK in the past too, until a JuK upgrade removed all my existing playlists. :-(

qmmp is nice for creating playlists on the fly, e.g. playing all files in a folder, which is not really possible with players that follow the iTunes-like library approach. I also like that I can quickly turn on and off plugins, especially for MOD and SID file types which clutter the playlist with their multiple tracks per file.

Is it possible to show album art on the lower left corner on Rhytmbox? And it is too small for my taste.

Offline

#132 2019-03-08 11:19:33

Morn
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 602

Re: How do Archers play their music?

samurai wrote:
Morn wrote:

qmmp (with a Winamp 2 skin of course) and Rhythmbox. JuK in the past too, until a JuK upgrade removed all my existing playlists. :-(

qmmp is nice for creating playlists on the fly, e.g. playing all files in a folder, which is not really possible with players that follow the iTunes-like library approach. I also like that I can quickly turn on and off plugins, especially for MOD and SID file types which clutter the playlist with their multiple tracks per file.

Is it possible to show album art on the lower left corner on Rhytmbox? And it is too small for my taste.

Yes, album art is definitely too small in RB. They should copy iTunes or Juk and make it clickable or "hoverable".

Offline

#133 2019-03-28 08:56:08

Xigi
Member
From: online
Registered: 2013-11-27
Posts: 15

Re: How do Archers play their music?

sayonara. I think I've tried  5 - 6 other players before finding one where you could change the playback speed, it seems like a basic feature so I was surprised that so many don't have it

Offline

#134 2019-03-28 11:05:17

ghus
Member
Registered: 2016-11-14
Posts: 417

Re: How do Archers play their music?

I would like to take the opportunity to ask you if are there others music players (within a GUI) that allows to change settings like the ratio, and bit depth, as audacious has. Like its sample rate converter, and/or to choose the interpolation's method. Do those options might change the sound's quality? Or it depends from the file's source quality at first? ...Like the sample rate converter cannot change the quality, but the bit's depth may offer anyway a better sound, e.g.?

Offline

#135 2019-04-08 12:13:11

ZoneF
Member
Registered: 2019-04-08
Posts: 1

Re: How do Archers play their music?

QuodLibet is my favorite

Offline

#136 2019-05-28 16:40:42

arijitd
Member
Registered: 2019-05-28
Posts: 3

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Well you can use mpd or cmus. My favorites ❤️ Mpd is difficult to setup but you can use cmus. It's a great option

Offline

#137 2019-05-28 17:16:21

mmdamin
Member
From: Iran
Registered: 2019-02-19
Posts: 200
Website

Re: How do Archers play their music?

I didn't found a beautiful music player, but Lollypop is best of them. Its UI design is better than other players I've seen.
It has categories on left side containing Artists, Albums, Playlists, ...
And shows them in a good way.
It's also a little buggy and sometimes crashes or shows things wrong.
Deepin Music is a little good but Lollypop is better, Deepin lacks a lot of options. I didn't like it.
I like Windows 10's Groove Music Application.

Offline

#138 2019-05-28 17:55:05

JayCeeEhm
Member
Registered: 2012-02-29
Posts: 8

Re: How do Archers play their music?

MPD on Server to Creative USB sound card to JVC amp.
   Controlled with Cantata on Desktop and MPDroid on Phone.

Clementine and Google Music on Desktop for local playback
   Clementine can be controlled with KDEConnect on Phone.

CD's and Vinyl on JVC amp.

Google music on phone to various bluetooth speakers.
   JVC amp has a bluetooth receiver attached to it.
   Sony bluetooth speaker in kitchen.
   IHome iBTN24 in bathroom and on deck
   IHome iBT16 when at friends houses

IPod Shuffle 2GB when on the go.
   Clementine has good support for it.
   GTKPod to send music to it also works well.

I think that is all the ways.

Thinking of casting my Clementine to Server and dropping Cantata and MPDroid since seldom do I listen to music without the desktop running and then I only have to deal with one music database instead of two (Clementine and MPD).

Offline

#139 2019-05-30 04:23:25

syn42_
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2014-12-16
Posts: 6

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Honestly I just use the Spotify flatpak smile


syn_ @ irc.freenode.net

Offline

#140 2019-06-02 14:10:17

lpr1
Member
Registered: 2017-10-08
Posts: 40

Re: How do Archers play their music?

ZoneF wrote:

QuodLibet is my favorite

Used Clementine for quite a while, now I am very happy with QuodLibet, the only reason I moved to it is to remove dependencies that were used only for Clementine, otehrwise, Clementine is great player.

Offline

#141 2019-06-02 14:31:55

mmdamin
Member
From: Iran
Registered: 2019-02-19
Posts: 200
Website

Re: How do Archers play their music?

I would switch to QoudLibet, too.
I just searched for it and I liked it.
I think it's better than lollypop.

Offline

#142 2019-06-04 17:04:53

qinohe
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 884

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Nice thread, have an Ampache server and an MPD server providing a few streams (including Ampache).
Manage them with Ampache website, ncmpcpp and M.A.L.P(Android).
The streams play on multiple systems DAC trough MOC or VLC on the Androids.

Offline

#143 2019-06-08 02:38:30

mrazster
Member
From: 127.0.0.1
Registered: 2019-05-24
Posts: 12
Website

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Rhythmbox...plain and simple.


Arch...the way it was meant to be !!

Offline

#144 2019-06-08 09:27:39

vacant
Member
From: downstairs
Registered: 2004-11-05
Posts: 806

Re: How do Archers play their music?

mrazster wrote:

Rhythmbox...plain and simple.

Kodi...not plain and not simple smile

But then it's also for movies, TV series, EPG and photos. I also like the audiovisual effects and (sometimes) the optional bouncy lyrics!

Offline

#145 2019-06-10 19:10:52

UncleSpellbinder
Member
From: Highland, Indiana - U.S.A.
Registered: 2019-05-28
Posts: 4
Website

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Right now I'm using Strawberry. It really handles large libraries rather well. But I'm gonna give Sayonara a shot as well. No clue on how it handles large libraries.


“Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible.” -  Frank Zappa

Offline

#146 2019-06-10 20:29:08

d_fajardo
Member
Registered: 2017-07-28
Posts: 498

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Cantata for me. I have an external USB DAC and some DSD music files so I feed the DAC bit-perfect from ALSA via mpd and works very well. There are also internet contents in Cantata like radio stations I can stream directly. The info section searches for articles about the artists and the lyrics.

Online

#147 2019-06-11 07:56:53

archimboldo
Member
Registered: 2016-03-07
Posts: 151

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Audacious, pure alsa.

Last edited by archimboldo (2019-06-11 07:57:08)


Rules for problems.
Everyone has problems. Animals have problems. And buildings. And cats, and trees.
Problems are your friends. Treat them well.

Offline

#148 2019-06-11 10:29:14

Jaekr
Member
From: Annecy, France
Registered: 2019-06-10
Posts: 15
Website

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Vlc or Mikmod.


Windows is a virus. Change my mind.

Offline

#149 2019-07-03 20:02:27

cynicfm
Member
From: Home
Registered: 2019-05-31
Posts: 68

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Well my favourite way of listening to music is through cd player or turntable connected to some nice speakers...
However this is not portable at all so i rip cds i have to my laptop with .wav or .flac formats so i mainly use Audacious, used parole sometimes, vlc not fan, however i can say that when i don't use external usb audio i prefer alsaplayer <- this one is nice but when i do then Audacious smile


I am new to linux 24 years and vegetarian.

If i typed something wrong please correct me as i am learning.
Thank you.

Offline

#150 2019-07-13 11:47:00

lrwz
Member
Registered: 2019-07-13
Posts: 4

Re: How do Archers play their music?

Organisation is done with beets, which allows for a consistent directory structure and automatic tagging of my library.

I use mpd for playback.

For selecting music to play, I normally use mpc from the command line.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB