You are not logged in.

#2151 2019-05-28 10:01:03

snack
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-01-13
Posts: 753

Re: Laptops which run Arch

re4xn wrote:

Lenovo Legion Y530-15ICH (Intel i7-8750H, Nvidia 1050 Ti). Working perfectly fine with Bumblebee. Fan speed might need adjustment, they tend to preemptively fire up sometimes and it gets a bit loud (still investigating how to safely adjust their speed).

What do you mean by "Working perfectly fine with Bumblebee"? The sentence per se' is quite clear but it does not fit with people's experience with the 1050 Ti found in the Dell XPS 15 9570, as described here. The troubles with the XPS did not look to me as related to the laptop itself but rather to the VGA, so they should show up with all laptops shipping with the 1050 Ti.

Offline

#2152 2019-05-28 10:01:38

arch2013
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2013-05-22
Posts: 14

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I just installed Arch on a Thinkpad A485 20MU000CGE:

Display     14", 1920x1080, 157dpi, 60Hz, non-glare, IPS, 250cd/m²
CPU     AMD Ryzen 5 PRO 2500U, 4x 2.00GHz
RAM     8GB DDR4-2400 (1x 8GB Module, 2 Slots, max. 32GB)
SSD     256GB M.2 PCIe (2280)
Graphics     AMD Radeon Vega 8 (IGP), HDMI 2.0
Wireless     WLAN 802.11a/b/g/n/ac (2x2, Realtek RTL8822BE), Bluetooth 4.1
Smartcard-reader (works).

After some issues regarding the UEFI setup and a missing firmware file, everything works great now.
All function-keys worked actually out-of-the-box with gnome3 as well as with budgie!
The keyboard is good and has a neat backlight that works as well.

I have not tested bluetooth yet.

Offline

#2153 2019-05-28 17:19:54

re4xn
Member
From: Portugal
Registered: 2019-04-29
Posts: 9

Re: Laptops which run Arch

snack wrote:

What do you mean by "Working perfectly fine with Bumblebee"? The sentence per se' is quite clear but it does not fit with people's experience with the 1050 Ti found in the Dell XPS 15 9570, as described here. The troubles with the XPS did not look to me as related to the laptop itself but rather to the VGA, so they should show up with all laptops shipping with the 1050 Ti.

By 'perfectly fine', I mean that bbswitch and bumblebee work out of the box; installing the required packages, enabling bumblebeed.service and rebooting the laptop is enough to get it working like one expects it to work: the Nvidia card is powered off by default, and using optirun/primusrun enables the Nvidia card as expected, turning it back off when the process using the card ends.

Running glxgears, the command cat /proc/acpi/bbswitch outputs:

0000:01:00.0 OFF

Running primusrun glxgears, the command cat /proc/acpi/bbswitch outputs:

0000:01:00.0 ON

After killing the glxgears process, the command cat /proc/acpi/bbswitch outputs:

0000:01:00.0 OFF

It appears to work 'perfectly fine', although if you have other issues in mind I can check for those. Funnily enough, I tried to install nvidia-xrun first, but failed miserably; unsure whether it was my own fault (very likely) or something else. Either way, the few problems I have found with the Legion Y530 are that you can't run the 4.19 LTS kernel without doing a workaround to enable WiFi and the fans are a bit louder than they have to be (although it doesn't really bother me much). Other than that, no real issues I can think of.

Last edited by re4xn (2019-05-28 17:23:46)

Offline

#2154 2019-06-02 19:08:04

pm
Member
From: Tennessee, USA
Registered: 2019-06-02
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm currently running Arch on a Dell Inspiron 7378 with an i7-7500U (Skylake), 16GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD.  Intel 620 graphics and sound.  So far I haven't run across anything weird.  It does throw a firmware error at times but it doesn't seem to hinder operation.  If I run across it again I'll add it to this post.


Arch Linux x86_64 on Kernel 5.1.6-arch1-1-ARCH.
Running on a Dell Inspiron 13-7378 with 16GB of RAM, i7-7500U and a 512GB SSD.
Running GNOME 3.32.2 as my desktop environment.

Offline

#2155 2019-06-20 03:46:12

jaemnkm
Member
From: San Francisco Bay Area
Registered: 2019-06-20
Posts: 3
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

H/W path       Device     Class          Description
====================================================
                          system         20EN0013US (LENOVO_MT_20EN_BU_Think_FM_ThinkPad P50)
/0                        bus            20EN0013US
/0/3                      memory         128KiB L1 cache
/0/4                      memory         128KiB L1 cache
/0/5                      memory         1MiB L2 cache
/0/6                      memory         6MiB L3 cache
/0/7                      processor      Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700HQ CPU @ 2.60GHz
/0/8                      memory         8GiB System Memory
/0/8/0                    memory         [empty]
/0/8/1                    memory         [empty]
/0/8/2                    memory         8GiB SODIMM DDR4 Synchronous 2133 MHz (0.5 ns)
/0/8/3                    memory         [empty]
/0/e                      memory         128KiB BIOS
/0/100                    bridge         Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor Host Bridge/DRAM Registers
/0/100/1                  bridge         Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor PCIe Controller (x16)
/0/100/1/0                display        GM107GLM [Quadro M1000M]
/0/100/2                  display        HD Graphics 530
/0/100/14                 bus            100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family USB 3.0 xHCI Controller
/0/100/14/0    usb1       bus            xHCI Host Controller
/0/100/14/0/5             input          USB Keyboard
/0/100/14/0/6             input          USB Optical Mouse
/0/100/14/0/8             multimedia     Integrated Camera
/0/100/14/0/9             generic        VFS7500 Touch Fingerprint Sensor
/0/100/14/0/e             communication  Bluetooth wireless interface
/0/100/14/1    usb2       bus            xHCI Host Controller
/0/100/14/1/2             storage        USB Flash Drive
/0/100/14.2               generic        100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family Thermal Subsystem
/0/100/16                 communication  100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1
/0/100/17                 storage        Q170/Q150/B150/H170/H110/Z170/CM236 Chipset SATA Controller [AHCI Mode]
/0/100/1c                 bridge         100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #1
/0/100/1c.2               bridge         100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #3
/0/100/1c.2/0  wlp4s0     network        Wireless 8260
/0/100/1c.4               bridge         100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #5
/0/100/1d                 bridge         100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port #13
/0/100/1d/0               generic        RTS525A PCI Express Card Reader
/0/100/1f                 bridge         CM236 Chipset LPC/eSPI Controller
/0/100/1f.2               memory         Memory controller
/0/100/1f.3               multimedia     100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family HD Audio Controller
/0/100/1f.4               bus            100 Series/C230 Series Chipset Family SMBus
/0/100/1f.6    enp0s31f6  network        Ethernet Connection (2) I219-V
/1                        power          00NY493
/2             scsi4      storage

Offline

#2156 2019-07-20 20:46:43

gnox
Member
Registered: 2013-05-18
Posts: 49

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus Zephyrus G (GA502DU-BR7N6)

System:    Host: asus Kernel: 5.2.1-zen1-1-zen x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.1.0 Desktop: N/A Distro: Arch Linux 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: ASUSTeK product: Zephyrus G GU502DU_GA502DU v: 1.0 serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: GU502DU v: 1.0 serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends v: GU502DU.207 date: 05/17/2019 
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 75.5 Wh condition: 76.4/76.0 Wh (100%) model: ASUSTeK ASUS Battery status: Not charging 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 7 3750H with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx bits: 64 type: MT MCP arch: Zen+ rev: 1 
           L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           flags: avx avx2 lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm bogomips: 36749 
           Speed: 3553 MHz min/max: 1400/2300 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 3553 2: 3126 3: 2699 4: 2469 5: 3059 6: 3785 7: 2896 
           8: 3154 
Graphics:  Device-1: NVIDIA TU116M [GeForce GTX 1660 Mobile] vendor: ASUSTeK driver: nvidia v: 430.34 bus ID: 01:00.0 
           Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Picasso vendor: ASUSTeK driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 05:00.0 
           Display: tty server: X.Org 1.20.5 driver: amdgpu resolution: 1920x1080~120Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD RAVEN (DRM 3.32.0 5.2.1-zen1-1-zen LLVM 8.0.0) v: 4.5 Mesa 19.1.2 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: NVIDIA vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1 
           Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Raven/Raven2/Fenghuang HDMI/DP Audio vendor: ASUSTeK 
           driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 05:00.1 
           Device-3: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 17h HD Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 05:00.6 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.2.1-zen1-1-zen 
Network:   Device-1: Realtek RTL8821CE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter vendor: AzureWave driver: rtl8821ce v: N/A 
           port: e000 bus ID: 03:00.0 
           IF: wlp3s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet vendor: ASUSTeK driver: r8169 v: kernel port: d000 
           bus ID: 04:00.0 
           IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 

Bios updated to 207 from 203.

What doesn't work:
- Wifi, with aur/rtl8821ce-dkms-git couldn't connect to any network.
- Headphones, just static noise. Works with Linux 5.2.5 .
- bbswitch/bumblebee
- fn keys + (F5-F8, Up, Down / fans, touchpad, backlight down, backlight up, keyboard light increase, keyboard light down)

What Works :
- Managed to configure nvidia-xrun, but has no PRIME Sync to the output.
- Speakers
- Volume Keys
- backlight (acpi_backlight=native or vendor) and light program.
- fn keys (F1-F4 / mute, rewind, play-stop, next)
- keyboard backlight brightness with rougacore

Something with the cpu, cannot be limited with cpupower frequency-set -u/-d <nGhz>, is just ignored. Boost can be deactivated with :

echo 0 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/cpufreq/boost

Last edited by gnox (2019-12-07 23:45:35)

Offline

#2157 2019-08-04 17:39:04

axelgenus
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2007-04-15
Posts: 99
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I just finished setting up my laptop (Dell Inspiron 5579 2-in-1) with Arch. I am going to use it mainly as a work/development platform but also as everyday driver.

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v6/7th Gen Core Processor Host Bridge/DRAM Registers (rev 08)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation UHD Graphics 620 (rev 07)
00:04.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Xeon E3-1200 v5/E3-1500 v5/6th Gen Core Processor Thermal Subsystem (rev 08)
00:13.0 Non-VGA unclassified device: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP Integrated Sensor Hub (rev 21)
00:14.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP USB 3.0 xHCI Controller (rev 21)
00:14.2 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP Thermal subsystem (rev 21)
00:15.0 Signal processing controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP Serial IO I2C Controller #0 (rev 21)
00:16.0 Communication controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP CSME HECI #1 (rev 21)
00:17.0 SATA controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP SATA Controller [AHCI mode] (rev 21)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP PCI Express Root Port #6 (rev f1)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point LPC Controller/eSPI Controller (rev 21)
00:1f.2 Memory controller: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP PMC (rev 21)
00:1f.3 Audio device: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio (rev 21)
00:1f.4 SMBus: Intel Corporation Sunrise Point-LP SMBus (rev 21)
01:00.0 Network controller: Qualcomm Atheros QCA6174 802.11ac Wireless Network Adapter (rev 32)

Everything seems to work just fine and, boy, it runs so smooth. The only thing I did not tried so far is Bluetooth.

Offline

#2158 2019-08-05 01:34:15

liewkj
Member
Registered: 2019-07-08
Posts: 71

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I recently refreshed a few old laptops with ArchLinux. They used to run Ubuntu LTS and dual-boot with Windows 10. All of them still dual-boot with Windows 10, and Arch replaced the Ubuntu LTS. Obviously, Arch runs so much better than Windows even for laptops without SSD upgrade. Windows 10 just feels sluggish for laptops without SSD.

Acer Aspire AO722 (AMD C-60)
ASUS 1015E (Celeron 847)
ASUS X200LA (Core i3-4010U) - SSD upgraded

All of them work really well. No issue with Ethernet/WiFi/BT/Hotkeys/Touchpad. All of them run upstream kernel with GNOME/Wayland. Suspend/Resume works out-of-box.

My current personal laptop Huawei Matebook D 14 (AMD Ryzen 2500U) also run ArchLinux.

Last edited by liewkj (2019-08-05 01:36:15)

Offline

#2159 2019-08-16 19:47:26

ciplc
Member
Registered: 2019-07-18
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Thinkpad T480, running fine for months

Offline

#2160 2019-09-10 18:03:19

gragundier
Member
Registered: 2018-10-31
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Razer Blade Stealth Late 2016 model.  There is even a help page for this model of laptops in the arch wiki.

Offline

#2161 2019-10-07 03:29:55

andresgabriel
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2016-01-18
Posts: 5

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP Pavilion Power Laptop 15-cb0xx

System:    Host: nne-hp Kernel: 4.19.77-1-lts x86_64 bits: 64 Console: tty 0 Distro: Arch Linux 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: HP product: HP Pavilion Power Laptop 15-cb0xx v: Type1ProductConfigId serial: 5CD8086JN3 
           Mobo: HP model: 836B v: 46.23 serial: PGXJQ018JAI037 UEFI: Insyde v: F.13 date: 11/03/2017 
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 58.6 Wh condition: 58.6/58.6 Wh (100%) 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-7300HQ bits: 64 type: MCP L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
           Speed: 899 MHz min/max: 800/3500 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 900 2: 899 3: 899 4: 899 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 630 driver: i915 v: kernel 
           Device-2: NVIDIA GP107M [GeForce GTX 1050 Ti Mobile] driver: nvidia v: 435.21 
           Display: server: X.Org 1.20.5 driver: modesetting,nvidia resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 1050 Ti/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 435.21 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel CM238 HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.19.77-1-lts 
Network:   Device-1: Intel Wireless 7265 driver: iwlwifi 
           IF: wlo1 state: up mac: 40:a3:cc:cf:3b:db 
           Device-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet driver: r8169 
           IF: eno1 state: down mac: 10:e7:c6:da:7d:52 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 931.51 GiB used: 371.50 GiB (39.9%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: HGST (Hitachi) model: HTS721010A9E630 size: 931.51 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 97.93 GiB used: 29.00 GiB (29.6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
           ID-2: /home size: 801.22 GiB used: 342.46 GiB (42.7%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda4 
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 16.00 GiB used: 42.9 MiB (0.3%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 59.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: nvidia temp: 55 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:      Processes: 171 Uptime: 6h 14m Memory: 7.68 GiB used: 3.92 GiB (51.1%) Shell: zsh inxi: 3.0.36 

Offline

#2162 2019-10-11 17:11:30

Kallestofeles
Member
Registered: 2016-02-23
Posts: 10

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Been running this ThinkPad T480s (2018 model) for about a year now without any real issues.

[2018-10-12 15:15] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -r /mnt -Sy --cachedir=/mnt/var/cache/pacman/pkg --noconfirm base base-devel vim efibootmgr'

The two main downsides of this laptop for me are the intel graphics can barely even run Wolf3d through wine and the audio system, is abysmal (both the amplification and the speakers) - but for business use, I really love it - it's light, has USB-C, ethernet port, great battery life (working with terminals and listening to music gets me through a full working day if no telco or youtube interferes on gnome3) and a really comfortable layout for which the ThinkPads are known for.
What is not working? The fingerprint sensor - maybe someone has cracked it, but I have not even bothered with it since I have bad memories from trying to get it to work for weeks.

System:    Host: eelpt-350 Kernel: 5.3.5-zen1-1-zen x86_64 bits: 64 Desktop: Gnome 3.34.1 Distro: Arch Linux 
Machine:   Type: Laptop System: LENOVO product: 20L8S25A00 v: ThinkPad T480s serial: <root required> 
           Mobo: LENOVO model: 20L8S25A00 v: SDK0J40697 WIN serial: <root required> UEFI: LENOVO v: N22ET34W (1.11 ) 
           date: 03/13/2018 
Battery:   ID-1: BAT0 charge: 50.2 Wh condition: 50.2/57.0 Wh (88%) 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-8350U bits: 64 type: MT MCP L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
           Speed: 800 MHz min/max: 400/3600 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 800 2: 800 3: 800 4: 800 5: 800 6: 800 7: 800 8: 800 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel UHD Graphics 620 driver: i915 v: kernel 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.5 driver: i915 tty: N/A 
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel UHD Graphics 620 (Kabylake GT2) v: 4.5 Mesa 19.2.0 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k5.3.5-zen1-1-zen 
Network:   Device-1: Intel Ethernet I219-LM driver: e1000e 
           IF: enp0s31f6 state: down mac: 8c:16:45:5a:dd:ac 
           Device-2: Intel Wireless 8265 / 8275 driver: iwlwifi 
           IF: wlp61s0 state: up mac: 68:ec:c5:62:5a:02 
           IF-ID-1: vpn0 state: down mac: N/A 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 476.94 GiB used: 98.70 GiB (20.7%) 
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 vendor: Samsung model: MZVLB512HAJQ-000L7 size: 476.94 GiB 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 467.96 GiB used: 98.60 GiB (21.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/dm-0 
           ID-2: /boot size: 511.0 MiB used: 104.5 MiB (20.4%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/nvme0n1p1 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 33.0 C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0 
Info:      Processes: 352 Uptime: 10h 24m Memory: 15.39 GiB used: 6.50 GiB (42.3%) Shell: zsh inxi: 3.0.36 

Offline

#2163 2019-10-12 09:43:24

snailman153624
Member
Registered: 2019-09-24
Posts: 11

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP Envy x360 15m-ds0011dx

Specs:
8GB RAM (2x4GB, 2400MHz)
AMD Ryzen 5 3500u (Vega 8 IGP)
256 GB Samsung SSD
1920x1080 IPS panel with touchscreen; tablet/tent-mode
ELAN touchpad

I had to use a recent install media to boot (10/2019).  I installed Arch by shrinking the built-in Win10 volume (keeping it for ease of installing HP-supplied BIOS, firmware, etc.), rsync'ing an existing install from my desktop (same GPU drivers, and a Ryzen 2700x, so same microcode packages and everything), mapping the existing EFI partition to /efi, and leaving /boot on the / file system, and re-installing GRUB.  I have limited internet bandwidth, so this solution worked really well.  I was able to fit the entire install on a 128GB SD card (rsync was a little slow....next time will try to use compressed tarball).  Currently have stock kernel 5.3.5-arch1-1-ARCH.

BIOS supports UEFI, Legacy, and disabling secure boot.

The good:
Laptop boots, graphical login (GDM?  don't remember) and Cinnamon comes up.
Power button recognized
Touchpad works
Touchscreen works
Keyboard mostly works (keyboard backlight, volume/mute, and prev/play/next Fn+ keys work, as do alphanumeric and numpad keys, Super, etc.)
Audio output works (built-in speakers)
Screen brightness controls through power settings widgets work
Battery and power supply reports status/health
CPU governor/frequency scaling seems to control/report core states
WiFi works
Laptop runs cool and quiet
3D Games perform very well (I have a few windows OpenGL games that run in Wine), > 200 FPS @ 1080p.
SD card reader worked (need that for install!)
USB works


The bad/annoying:
Had to disable DNSSEC (why, I don't know...same settings work fine over ethernet LAN...but I get random DNS errors over wifi otherwise)
Keyboard brightness and airplane mode Fn+ keys don't work.  Everything I tried indicates they are not generating ACPI events.
A screenful of ACPI errors in journalctl at boot
Machine hangs on suspend and won't resume; AMD GPU seems to be the culprit (ring buffer errors)
Laptop lid switch does not generate any ACPI events
Microphone seems to be picking up sound, BUT, it also has a low-frequency spiking happening (e.g. 2-4Hz) non-stop, making it unusable.
Accelerometer(s) not working (apparently, AMD drivers are due any day)
Table/tent mode (no events, doesn't do anything)



Unknown/Untested:
Fingerprint sensor
Bluetooth (status indicates it should work, haven't tried to pair)
USB-C port
Battery life
HDMI port


Overall, off to a really good start for a laptop that's only been on the market 3 months or so!

Offline

#2164 2019-11-03 15:33:18

equ
Member
Registered: 2017-04-06
Posts: 13

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo IdeaPad 320-15IKB for ~three years, all fine


And the early userspace dawns...

Offline

#2165 2019-11-04 19:13:37

tschertel
Member
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Running on a 81JM Lenovo ideapad 330S-14IKB
CPU: Intel i5-8250U (8) @ 3.400GHz
GPU: Intel UHD Graphics 620

Offline

#2166 2019-11-06 08:29:12

CiriousJoker
Member
Registered: 2019-11-06
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

It runs on the Acer Spin 13, but currently has issues:

- On linux-lts (4.19.81-1), closing the lid (suspend/hibernate) either shuts down the laptop (if on battery) or causes the fans to spin at 100% during the sleep (when on AC)
- On linux (5.3.8), "systemctl suspend -i" doesn't work, it immediately wakes up again
- Touchscreen only works with Stylus, not with the finger

These issues are also present with Gallium OS. They have a compatibility list, this one should be checked for up to date info on these issues.

Offline

#2167 2019-11-30 06:12:22

lastweakness
Member
Registered: 2019-11-09
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

BreadyX wrote:

Asus VivoBook X505ZA with Ryzen 2500U. Touchpad and function keys didn't collaborate (a classic) but after a bit of playing around with acpi_osi it works perfectly. Everything else worked out of the box.

I have the same laptop, an X505ZA with Ryzen 5 2500U, 8GB RAM and 1TB HDD. Both touchpad and function keys work out of the box for me. I haven't had such an issue... Maybe it has been fixed? Or am I misunderstanding what you mean? Also, do you have AMD-Vi working? Everything else works out of the box for me. I also have the occasional core lockup issue that happens in Ryzen devices.

Last edited by lastweakness (2019-11-30 09:24:23)

Offline

#2168 2019-12-08 04:31:31

fenics
Member
Registered: 2019-12-07
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

S340-15API Laptop (ideapad) 81NC006FRK

OS: Arch Linux x86_64 
Host: 81NC Lenovo IdeaPad S340-15API 
Kernel: 5.4.2-arch1-1 
Resolution: 1920x1080 
WM: i3 
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3500U with Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx (8) @ 2.100GHz 
GPU: AMD ATI 04:00.0 Picasso 
Memory: 2393MiB / 5947MiB 

Everything works!
Only small problem with suspend regime and amdgpu drivers work.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB