You are not logged in.

#1 2020-03-26 16:41:57

pn
Member
Registered: 2020-01-28
Posts: 27

resolv.conf does not take effect

Whatever I type on `resolv.conf` I still can resolve domain name on `firefox`, so it seems to stay on the old configuration

I want it to listen on the local `dnscrypt` server, how to make effective `resolv.conf`?

Last edited by pn (2020-03-29 21:35:59)

Offline

#2 2020-03-26 16:50:41

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 5,220
Website

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

Are you in the United States?

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/fi … over-https

tl;dr: go to about:config and set network.trr.mode to "5" to disable DoH.

Offline

#3 2020-03-26 17:17:22

pn
Member
Registered: 2020-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

I'm not in the U.S.

Offline

#4 2020-03-26 17:19:10

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 14,052

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

cat /etc/nsswitch.conf
ps aux | grep resolved

Offline

#5 2020-03-26 17:29:41

pn
Member
Registered: 2020-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

```
# Name Service Switch configuration file.
# See nsswitch.conf(5) for details.

passwd: files mymachines systemd
group: files mymachines systemd
shadow: files

publickey: files

hosts: files mymachines mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] resolve [!UNAVAIL=return] dns mdns4 myhostname
networks: files

protocols: files
services: files
ethers: files
rpc: files

netgroup: files
```

```
46791  0.0  0.0   6292  2296 pts/2    S+   18:27   0:00 grep --colour=auto resolved
```

Offline

#6 2020-03-26 17:43:55

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,071

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

Is the issue limited just to firefox i.e. everything else uses the server configured in resolf.conf?
Please also use code tags for file contents,  commands and their outputs.

Last edited by loqs (2020-03-26 17:56:31)

Online

#7 2020-03-26 17:53:04

pn
Member
Registered: 2020-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

`dig` seems to stay up to date, but I don't know if he uses `dnscrypt` or not, just that he doesn't resolve if `resolv.conf` is not valid (`parse of /etc/resolv.conf failed`)

What is a code tag? What file contents are you talking about? What commands? I writed the outputs up here

Last edited by pn (2020-03-26 18:12:04)

Offline

#8 2020-03-26 18:02:52

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,071

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

See the bbcode it helps formats output as seth used in post #4.
With an empty resolve.conf does the host command fail to resolve hostnames?

Online

#9 2020-03-26 18:08:52

pn
Member
Registered: 2020-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

With an empty `resolv.conf` both `dig` and `host` can resolve hostnames

Last edited by pn (2020-03-26 18:14:11)

Offline

#10 2020-03-26 18:19:04

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,071

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

In firefox -> Preferences -> Network Settings is a proxy enabled or is DNS over HTTPS enabled?  If you create a new firefox profile can it still resolve hosts with an empty resolv.conf?

Online

#11 2020-03-26 18:21:49

pn
Member
Registered: 2020-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

System proxies are used and nothing is ticked

`firefox` still resolves queries with a fresh profile

Last edited by pn (2020-03-26 18:25:18)

Offline

#12 2020-03-26 18:24:15

loqs
Member
Registered: 2014-03-06
Posts: 10,071

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

If you disable system proxies is the result the same?
To start the firefox profile manager from the command line.

firefox -P

Online

#13 2020-03-26 18:26:16

pn
Member
Registered: 2020-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

With "no proxy" it's the same

`nmcli dev show | grep DNS` shows the old DNS configuration

Last edited by pn (2020-03-26 19:26:50)

Offline

#14 2020-03-29 21:04:26

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 14,052

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

What domains do you try to resolve? You've the mdns responder in nsswitch which will likely resolv all *.local domains.
Does "drill" resolve domains w/ an empty resolve.conf?

Offline

#15 2020-03-29 21:08:11

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 9,510
Website

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

Please change your topic title to something that actually describes the problem you have: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Co … ow_to_post

Incidentally, are you still running Manjaro?

Last edited by WorMzy (2020-03-29 21:09:07)


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#16 2020-03-29 21:36:07

pn
Member
Registered: 2020-01-28
Posts: 27

Re: resolv.conf does not take effect

No

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB