You are not logged in.

#376 2020-01-06 01:12:16

vap0rtranz
Member
From: Chicago, USA, Earth, Sol
Registered: 2019-03-06
Posts: 6

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

Are you using a custom XferCommand in your pacman.conf? curl and the internal downloader both support file:/// urls, but e.g. wget does not.

Ah, yes I'm using wget.  My ISP is a crappy DSL with high TTLs and dropped packets, so I switched to wget after having issues syncing with pacman.

Reverting back to pacman's default XferCommand fixed this.  Ty!

Offline

#377 2020-01-15 08:41:56

hakunamatata
Member
Registered: 2016-03-31
Posts: 36

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

I am using aurutils since quite some time now. I have setup two local repositories, one for vcs packages and a "normal" one. Recently, I have noticed that when I run the sync command using the --rebuild flag it tries to install spotify and note (in both repositories):

$ aur sync -d aur -cu --rebuild *

==> Using [aur] repository
  -> note: (none) -> 1.3.22-1
  -> spotify: (none) -> 1:1.1.10.546-2
==> Retrieving package files
From https://aur.archlinux.org/spotify
 = [up to date]      master     -> origin/master
From https://aur.archlinux.org/note
 = [up to date]      master     -> origin/master
Press any key to continue or ctrl+d to abort
$ aur sync -d aur-vcs -cu --rebuild *

==> Using [aur-vcs] repository
  -> note: (none) -> 1.3.22-1
  -> spotify: (none) -> 1:1.1.10.546-2
==> Retrieving package files
From https://aur.archlinux.org/spotify
 = [up to date]      master     -> origin/master
From https://aur.archlinux.org/note
 = [up to date]      master     -> origin/master
Press any key to continue or ctrl+d to abort

I have had spotify installed at some point. But since then I have removed it from the system. Unfortunatelly, I don't remember how exactly I installed it at the time - it might be possible that I have used yay to install it but I don't remember.

If I list all the packages in the repositories, neither spotify nor note does appear:

$ aur repo -d aur --list
$ aur repo -d aur-vcs --list

And if I run pacman to list foreign packages, nothing is listed:

$ pacman -Qm

Any ideas, what might be the problem and how it can be resolved?

Last edited by hakunamatata (2020-01-15 10:11:40)

Offline

#378 2020-01-15 15:09:23

Alad
Wiki Admin/IRC Op/TU
From: Bagelstan
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 2,092
Website

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

Is spotify still in aur.db or aur-vcs.db? That's where aur-sync -u looks for updates.

Also, the * expands to whatever files are in the directory you run aur-sync from (usual shell behavior).


Mods are just community members who have the occasionally necessary option to move threads around and edit posts. -- Trilby
Honest Alad's Package Emporium—Now with added bugs! (Grand reopening: December 1st 2018)

Offline

#379 2020-01-15 19:13:52

hakunamatata
Member
Registered: 2016-03-31
Posts: 36

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

Alad wrote:

Is spotify still in aur.db or aur-vcs.db? That's where aur-sync -u looks for updates.

Could not find in these files.

Alad wrote:

Also, the * expands to whatever files are in the directory you run aur-sync from (usual shell behavior).

You're right. In fact I still had a file called 'spotify' in my home dir, where I ran the commands. Instead when I explicitly list the packages it works as expected, thank you very much.

Offline

#380 2020-01-20 16:00:33

Angel_LB
Member
From: /Canada/Quebec
Registered: 2007-02-03
Posts: 15

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

Hello,

I have a problem, and I am not sure where I fumbled!  No I don' think arch or aurutils are broken, I'm sure I did something silly..!

Every time I sync a package with "aur sync", I keep getting this error. :
==> ERROR: '/net/Vault/custompkgs/custom.db' does not have a valid database archive extension.

I rebuild my db multiple time, even changed path, looking online for hints on how to make a local repo and I can't figure out what I keep doing wrong.

 ~> aur repo
/net/Vault/custompkgs/custom.db

Should this command output the .db or .db.tar string ?  Both files exists, btw, along with .files and .files.tar

I've been adding packages manually for months using repo-add after each build, successfully, but I'd like to fix this configuration so I don't have to, like everyone else.

Thanks!

Offline

#381 2020-01-20 16:02:52

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3,529

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

repo-add requires you to operate on custom.db.tar, aurutils simply uses repo-add.


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#382 2020-01-20 20:45:19

Angel_LB
Member
From: /Canada/Quebec
Registered: 2007-02-03
Posts: 15

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

From what I understand, 'aur sync' uses 'repo-add' in the end, but is not passing the correct argument, hence the error message.  I am trying to figure out why. 
 
When I use 'aur repo', as posted earlier, I get a '..custom.db' output and I was wondering if it was right or if I should be expecting a '..custom.db.tar' instead, which is the full db archive extension I have. 
I figured aur sync must be using its aur repo sibling for such information. 
 
I am trying to narrow down where my problem is. 
I can't figure out if 'aur repo' is supposed to output a db or an archive db filename, which would point me somewhere in my research.

And thanks for the comment smile.

Offline

#383 2020-01-20 22:53:01

Alad
Wiki Admin/IRC Op/TU
From: Bagelstan
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 2,092
Website

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

aur-build resolves the symbolic link provided by aur-repo.

It was introduced here https://github.com/AladW/aurutils/commi … 76efeb8823 which is questionable, feel free to send a PR to revert the change.

Last edited by Alad (2020-01-20 22:53:16)


Mods are just community members who have the occasionally necessary option to move threads around and edit posts. -- Trilby
Honest Alad's Package Emporium—Now with added bugs! (Grand reopening: December 1st 2018)

Offline

#384 2020-02-02 18:08:39

Angel_LB
Member
From: /Canada/Quebec
Registered: 2007-02-03
Posts: 15

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

Hello Alad, and thanks for the reply.

Well, I don't know if this is good or not (sourced by aur-repo), but I would like to conform with what ever is expected.  Redoing my local repo is not an issue -- I'd like to know what I should do!

aur-repo does output a ".db" filename here, how can I make it output the full database archive filename ".db.tar" so aur-build is satisfied?

Thanks!

Offline

#385 2020-02-04 10:29:00

Alad
Wiki Admin/IRC Op/TU
From: Bagelstan
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 2,092
Website

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

readlink -e -- "$(aur repo)"

Last edited by Alad (2020-02-04 10:29:27)


Mods are just community members who have the occasionally necessary option to move threads around and edit posts. -- Trilby
Honest Alad's Package Emporium—Now with added bugs! (Grand reopening: December 1st 2018)

Offline

#386 2020-05-05 17:16:14

f33dm3bits
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 32

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

Hello Alad,

I came across your tool for managing aur packages by using a local repo. I setup my custom repo and added the packages according to the section "Pacman Configuration" in man aur. Under the section optional I added the CachDir and CleanMethod options:

[aur]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = file:///home/$USER/Downloads/aurpkgs
CacheDir = /var/cache/pacman/aurpkgs
CleanMethod = KeepCurrent

When I run a pacman -S packagename. I get the following warnings:

warning: config file /etc/pacman.conf, line 104: directive 'CacheDir' in section 'aur' not recognized.
warning: config file /etc/pacman.conf, line 105: directive 'CleanMethod' in section 'aur' not recognized.

When I check the man for pacman.conf the options do exist and I find this at the top of the man page:
Note: Each directive must be in CamelCase. If the case isn’t respected, the directive won’t be recognized. For example. noupgrade or NOUPGRADE will not work.

I literately copy/pasted the options so my casing for those options are correct.  Am I missing something or not understanding something correctly?

Although my CacheDir option isn't recognized by pacman, the built packages seem to have been added to the location I created
my custom repo: /home/$USER/Downloads/aurpkgs. I used aur sync pkgname to sync my packages to my custom repo.

Offline

#387 2020-05-05 18:30:05

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3,529

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

The problem seems self-evident, you're trying to list global options in a local scope and they aren't recognized at local scope.


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#388 2020-05-05 18:34:44

f33dm3bits
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 32

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

I seemed to have read passed an import part in the man aur:

[options]
         CacheDir = /var/cache/pacman/pkg
         CacheDir = /var/cache/pacman/custom
         CleanMethod = KeepCurrent

I missed the [options] section. I changed it to:

[aur]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = file:///home/$USER/Downloads/aurpkgs
[options]
CacheDir = /var/cache/pacman/aurpkgs
CleanMethod = KeepCurrent

That seems to have fixed it. So I guess that was a PEBKAC of mine. Did that address the global local scope problem?

Offline

#389 2020-05-05 18:37:04

eschwartz
Trusted User/Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2014-08-08
Posts: 3,529

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

Yes, that's precisely what I meant. smile

[options] is for global options, [reponame] scopes a setting to a specific repo.

Last edited by eschwartz (2020-05-05 18:37:56)


Managing AUR repos The Right Way -- aurpublish (now a standalone tool)

Offline

#390 2020-05-05 18:59:49

f33dm3bits
Member
Registered: 2020-04-22
Posts: 32

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

I guess it would be better then to  also keep the default pacman CacheDir defined?
So like this?

[options]
CacheDir = /var/cache/pacman/pkg
CacheDir = /var/cache/pacman/aurpkgs

*edit*

Seems I should be fine if I use either one since the man page of pacman.conf says they are done in the order they are listed.
So may as well use the default path only then.

Learned something new about pacman.conf in the process of trying to figure something out for aurutils smile

Last edited by f33dm3bits (2020-05-05 19:18:19)

Offline

#391 2020-05-21 15:29:59

luscinius
Member
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 12

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

Hi

I have started using aurutils recently. I really like the idea, and I am gradually rebuilding the packages I installed with yay. Need help with the following:

1. Some packages fail to build in a clean chroot. For examples, environment-modules-tcl needs procps-ng (ps binary) to build. In such cases should I submit a comment on the AUR page for the package specifying that? Am I right that the clean chroot is created using makrchroot command from devtools package (what set of packages is installed?), and all packages are expected to build using this environment?

2. Is there a way to use the chroot in a location other than /var/lib/aurbuild/x86_64/ by default (not passing the -D option). I know that it is possible to create an alias/bash function/wrapper script. The question is whether there is some config option to alter the default location.

Thanks for any help.

Offline

#392 2020-05-21 15:41:36

Trilby
Inspector Parrot
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 23,922
Website

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

luscinius wrote:

1. Some packages fail to build in a clean chroot.

Those are packaging bugs, report them to the AUR maintainers.

luscinius wrote:

For examples, environment-modules-tcl needs procps-ng (ps binary) to build. In such cases should I submit a comment on the AUR page for the package specifying that?

Assuming you mean env-modules-tcl, there are several other problems with that PKGBUILD.  Yes, report them to the maintainer.  Though it seems the dependency issue was reported to them a few months ago and they've not yet fixed it.


"UNIX is simple and coherent..." - Dennis Ritchie, "GNU's Not UNIX" -  Richard Stallman

Offline

#393 2020-05-22 09:24:50

Alad
Wiki Admin/IRC Op/TU
From: Bagelstan
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 2,092
Website

Re: aurutils - helper tools for the aur

2. Is there a way to use the chroot in a location other than /var/lib/aurbuild/x86_64/ by default (not passing the -D option). I know that it is possible to create an alias/bash function/wrapper script. The question is whether there is some config option to alter the default location.

No. The design allows you to add configuration systems of arbitrary complexity by yourself. For example, you could override `/usr/bin/aur` in `/usr/local/bin/aur` and make it read a file like `aurutils.ini`:

[build]
chroot
noconfirm
directory=/var/lib/your/face/x9000

[sync]
ignore=mongodb

/usr/local/bin/aur

# /usr/bin/aur until line 28

opts=()
case $1 in
  # bundle sync and build options, fall through to specific sync options
  build|sync) while IFS='=' read -r key val; do if [[ $val ]]; then opts+=("$key" "$val"); else opts+=("$key"); fi; done < <(pacini --section=build aurutils.ini) ;;&
  sync) while IFS='=' read -r key val; do if [[ $val ]]; then opts+=("$key" "$val"); else opts+=("$key"); fi; done < <(pacini --section=sync aurutils.ini) ;;
  pkglist) # similar for other aur commands. care should be taken with tools used by other commands, such as aur-fetch and aur-depends
esac

if type -P "aur-$1" >/dev/null; then
    exec "aur-$1" "${opts[@]}" "${@:2}"
else
    printf >&2 '%s: %q is not an aur command\n' "$argv0" "$1"
    exit 1
fi

Since I don't use such a configuration system it doesn't make sense for me to add it by default.

That said, there's environment variables for source files and local repositories, i.e. AURDEST, AUR_DBROOT and AUR_REPO. I guess aur-chroot could support a similar variable for the chroot directory.

edit: toyed some more with the idea, see https://gist.github.com/AladW/83ab3f1e5 … 447363f86a

Last edited by Alad (2020-05-22 16:15:21)


Mods are just community members who have the occasionally necessary option to move threads around and edit posts. -- Trilby
Honest Alad's Package Emporium—Now with added bugs! (Grand reopening: December 1st 2018)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB