You are not logged in.

#1 2006-09-07 06:48:42

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

hello everyone.

I have a wireless connection with a wmp54g pci card using rt2500 drivers & WPA and static IP.

After reading the wiki and searching through the forums, I am still scratching my head as to what exactly I should write in /etc/rc.conf.

In my ubuntu installation, I have the following configuration that allows me to use my card automatically from boot:

in /etc/network/interfaces:

This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# This is a list of hotpluggable network interfaces.
# They will be activated automatically by the hotplug subsystem.
mapping hotplug
        script grep
        map eth0

iface ra0 inet static
address 192.168.1.49
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1
pre-up iwconfig ra0 essid abcdefg
pre-up iwconfig ra0 mode managed
pre-up iwpriv ra0 set Channel=3
pre-up iwpriv ra0 set AuthMode=WPAPSK
pre-up iwpriv ra0 set EncrypType=AES
pre-up iwpriv ra0 set WPAPSK="123456789"
pre-up iwpriv ra0 set TxRate=0


auto ra0

for /etc/resolv.conf:

search hsd1.il.comcast.net.
nameserver 68.87.72.130
nameserver 68.87.77.130

So, I guess my question is how do I translate those configurations into /etc/rc.conf for arch?

Besides wireless_tools and the rt2500 cvs package, what other packages should I install?

thanks!

Offline

#2 2006-09-07 10:45:53

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

In /etc/conf.d/wireless:

wlan_ra0="ra0 mode managed essid abcdefg channel 3 key 123456789
WLAN_INTERFACES=(ra0)

In /etc/rc.conf:

lo="lo 127.0.0.1"
ra0="ra0 192.168.1.49 netmask 255.255.255.0"
gateway="default gw 192.168.1.1"
INTERFACES=(lo ra0)
ROUTES=(gateway)

That should do it (if I've remembered the variable names correctly).  As for /etc/resolv.conf, just copy it over line for line.

EDIT: and make sure "network" is listed in DAEMONS in /etc/rc.conf


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#3 2006-09-07 15:04:46

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

I think you need someting with wpa_supplicant... I've never actually configured wpa so I'm not sure (this is on my TODO list) - I like having my connection open for people to use

Offline

#4 2006-09-08 03:30:23

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

thanks for the responses. wireless is still not working, but I think I am close.

okay, so I edited the files as suggested. with /etc/conf.d/wireless, I put

wlan_ra0="ra0 mode managed essid abcdefg channel 3 key 123456789
WLAN_INTERFACES=(ra0)

but upon reboot, I get a message about invalid argument when loading the network. I changed "key 1234" to "key s:1234" and did not receive the same error.  not sure if the "s:" is proper or not.

I also included the proper entries into /etc/rc.conf and the other file for dns entries.

modprobe and modinfo show the driver is installed and using iwlist ra0 scan I can detect wireless networks.

I am going to try turning off all encryption on my router and see if I can connect. fingers crossed.

Offline

#5 2006-09-08 07:40:06

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

You could try having it as "key restricted 1234..", that might help.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#6 2006-09-08 18:39:30

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

key restricted 1234 gives me an error upon reboot. it says

error: unrecognized wireless request "1234"

the wpa key is correct, so that's not the problem. the only time I havent received this error is when I use key s:1234 but even with that I have no internet connection...

hmmm...

Offline

#7 2006-09-08 19:09:43

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

Sorry, I'm outta ideas sad  If anything springs to mind I'll get back to you.  Good luck smile


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#8 2006-09-08 20:01:35

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

thanks. I appreciate your help so far...I am determined to get this working.

so, I am going to try wpa_supplicant...I have it installed.

following the guide from the wiki found here http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ndi … supplicant

configuration for /etc/network_profiles:

DESCRIPTION="Wireless Profile"

INTERFACE=wlan0
HOSTNAME=myhostname
DOMAINNAME=mydomainname

IFOPTS="10.1.1.4 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.1.1.255"
GATEWAY=10.1.1.1

DOMAIN=mydomainname
DNS1=10.1.1.1

ESSID=WLAN
IWOPTS="mode managed essid $ESSID"

WIFI_INTERFACE=wlan0

WIFI_WAIT=5

USEWPA="yes"
WPAOPTS="-D wext"      # legacy: wpa-supplicant older than v1.12 need "-D ndiswrapper" instead

IFOPTS would be my static IP address, correct? and should I change ESSID=WLAN to ESSID=MYESSID? and should I change $ESSID to MYESSID?

Offline

#9 2006-09-08 20:11:04

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

bionnaki wrote:

IFOPTS would be my static IP address, correct? and should I change ESSID=WLAN to ESSID=MYESSID? and should I change $ESSID to MYESSID?

Yes, IFOPTS is your static IP.  Set ESSID=MYESSID.  $ESSID is replaced with "MYESSID" when you run this, it is how the script accesses variables, so $ESSID and ESSID are the same.  When you want to set a variable, you do VARIABLE=value, when you want to read a value you use $VARIABLE, which is interpretted as "value".  Does that make sense?  Sorry, I'm not very good at explaining stuff.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#10 2006-09-11 15:37:43

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

yes, that makes sense.

still no luck, however, it appears others have gotten wpa & rt2500 to work using iwpriv. apparently, wpa_supplicant is not needed.

can you comment on this thread?

thanks!

Offline

#11 2006-09-12 01:31:24

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

I am starting to think this is not going to work and might have to delete arch.

I tried to install the rt2x00 beta drivers (which support wpa_supplicant), but they would not compile. so I went back to the rt2500 cvs drivers which install just fine. I still cannot figure out how to get wpa working.

I have since changed my router configuration to a dhcp setup (rather than a static IP) so as to simplify things, but still nothing to seems to work.

if anyone has any suggestions on how to get wpa working with rt2500, please please help out.

otherwise, the only option I have left is to plug the computer up to a wired ethernet connection, setup that interface, install a kdebase, install RaConfig, and have that gui-tool setup wpa for me (not sure if it would succesful or not). Of course,  I'd rather not do that...and would rather configure wpa via a commandline and not have to install a bunch of kde stuff. That is not why I want to use arch  wink

Offline

#12 2006-09-13 16:20:03

Haiyadragon
Member
Registered: 2006-03-21
Posts: 56

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

I'm having the same problem. I didn't think it would be this impossible. Linux in general really sucks with wireless. Even the part that is open and standard (the non-driver part). You need to be a kaioshin-like guru person to figure this out.

And nobody uses wpa? I'd have thought more people would be using it.

edit.

Oh, I got it to work with wpa_supplicant.

Cleaned out the config file to:

update_config=1

ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant

ctrl_interface_group=0

eapol_version=1

ap_scan=1

fast_reauth=1

network={
        ssid="configuredssid"
        proto=WPA
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=TKIP
        group=TKIP
        psk="configuredpsk"
}

Run "wpa_supplicant -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -i wlan0" and keep it running somewhere. Then you can bring up wlan0 just like eth0.

Offline

#13 2006-09-13 21:02:24

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

what driver are you using?

Offline

#14 2006-09-14 02:30:37

Haiyadragon
Member
Registered: 2006-03-21
Posts: 56

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

bionnaki wrote:

what driver are you using?

ndiswrapper. Guess I got lucky that it supports my device and WPA.

Offline

#15 2006-09-14 23:43:40

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

so, ndiswrapper + windows rt2500 ralink driver? how is that? I've heard bad things about ndiswrapper, mainly about connectivity...is it working good?

Offline

#16 2006-09-14 23:52:39

Haiyadragon
Member
Registered: 2006-03-21
Posts: 56

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

No, I only replied to getting the wireless to run with WPA. I have Siemens Gigaset USB Adapter 108 so it's not really compareable. Sorry for responding to the driver thing, you were obviously asking the OP.

Offline

#17 2006-09-15 07:20:24

bionnaki
Member
Registered: 2006-09-05
Posts: 289

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

oh...its cool  smile

Offline

#18 2006-09-25 10:21:53

Haiyadragon
Member
Registered: 2006-03-21
Posts: 56

Re: help with /etc/rc.conf & wireless

Ok, internet works but some really weird things are going on. The router doesn't detect this pc as wireless and for some reason reports a different ip then this pc actually gets. According to ifconfig wlan0 has 192.168.2.102 but the router says 192.168.2.3 (the ip it should have). I can't access other computers on the network and other computers cant access this one. I also can't access the router itself. This seems a bug with the router but it does work correctly in Windows.

Any ideas on this?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB