You are not logged in.

#26 2006-08-25 19:25:10

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: No GUI

imo u have to read ALL wiki entries starting with the how-to's before posting in the forums.all the info u need to get started is there.


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#27 2006-09-19 16:58:34

davidwillis
Member
Registered: 2006-09-19
Posts: 49

Re: No GUI

I am setting mine up right now, but am confused.  The Wiki says:

hwd

hwd is a tool written by users in the Arch Linux community. It's basically a hardware detection tool that has multiple uses, one of which is setting up an X server. Fortunately, hwd is much more streamlined than xorgconf and doesn't require any input at all.

First, you need to install it:

pacman -S hwd

But here you say not to use that?  So how do I use MOD_AUTOLOAD instead?

Sorry, I couldn't find it in the Wiki.

Offline

#28 2006-09-19 22:13:07

pressh
Developer/TU
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2005-08-14
Posts: 1,719

Re: No GUI

Udev is now used for module loading:

/etc/rc.conf:
MOD_AUTOLOAD="yes"
will activate autoloading modules during boot process
+ autoloading of modules after boot
(aka cold/hotplugging)

MOD_BLACKLIST=(moduleA moduleB) and MODULES=(!moduleA !moduleB) is the same now!
Udev will not load the module for you if autoloading is activated!

/etc/modprobe.conf:
Please remove the OSS compatibility modules from
else your soundcard may fail to load!

Offline

#29 2006-09-19 22:59:27

davidwillis
Member
Registered: 2006-09-19
Posts: 49

Re: No GUI

ok, thanks.  I already had that.  I have tried so many things trying to get this to work that I can't even remember what I have done.

this is the video card I have:  ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility 7000

I have installed the ATI drivers, that I found instructions for on a Wiki page (but now I can't find where that was).  I tried configureing the xorg.conf with xorgconfig, but that didn't work, so I used aticonfig, but it still does not work. 

When I run startx, it gives me:
.
.
.
(EE) No devices detected.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

Is this a problem with the xorg.conf file?  I have looked over it, but can't see what is wrong.

Edit:  One other thing, Xorg -configure gives me a fatal server error:  caught signal 11. server aborting

Thanks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB