You are not logged in.

#1 2021-03-23 21:24:18

lndspk
Member
Registered: 2021-03-23
Posts: 8

Ethernet not working after install.

I installed Arch using the latest build on a USB yesterday and everything worked fine. My install seemed to get internet just fine, but as soon as I reboot into the installed system, ethernet does not work.

I have installed Arch several times on different machines but never this PC in particular. I use the official Arch installation guide wiki to do everything, and nothing I did strayed away from the guide.

I had installed NetworkManager, and then after booting into the actual system, I had started and enabled the "NetworkManager.service" using systemctl.

The system previously had Windows 10 installed onto it, and it never had any network issues there at all.

My PC recognizes the ethernet because executing the command:

lspci | grep Ethernet

results in a single result popping up:

07:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 0c)

Pinging anything results in a "Temporary failure in name resolution" error, and trying to do anything in pacman gives a bunch of errors relating to retrieving files from the internet.

I have discovered that when I plug my phone into a USB port and enable Network tethering from my phone, my Arch recognizes and uses it perfectly fine.

Any help at all would be very well appreciated smile

Offline

#2 2021-03-23 22:29:50

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 8,422

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

Did you install linux-firmware?

Offline

#3 2021-03-23 23:00:51

lndspk
Member
Registered: 2021-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

Scimmia wrote:

Did you install linux-firmware?

Yep, just did a check again and its installed. Reinstalled it even and still no luck.

Offline

#4 2021-03-23 23:19:56

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 19,799

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

https://archlinux.org/packages/community/x86_64/r8168/

ip a; ip r
find /etc/systemd -type l -exec test -f {} \; -print | awk -F'/' '{ printf ("%-40s | %s\n", $(NF-0), $(NF-1)) }' | sort -f

Offline

#5 2021-03-23 23:56:35

lndspk
Member
Registered: 2021-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

seth wrote:

https://archlinux.org/packages/community/x86_64/r8168/

ip a; ip r
find /etc/systemd -type l -exec test -f {} \; -print | awk -F'/' '{ printf ("%-40s | %s\n", $(NF-0), $(NF-1)) }' | sort -f

I installed the r8168 package and then did the two commands you sent.

ip a; ip r

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
 link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
 inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
  valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
 inet6 ::1/128 scope host
  valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp7s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
 link/ether b4:2e:99:4b:4e:76 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

find /etc/systemd -type l -exec test -f {} \; -print | awk -F'/' '{ printf ("%-40s | %s\n", $(NF-0), $(NF-1)) }' | sort -f

dbus-org.freedesktop.nm-dispatcher.service | system
dirmngr.socket | sockets.target.wants
getty@tty1.service | getty.target wants
gpg-agent-browser.socket | sockets.target.wants
gpg-agent-extra.socket | sockets.target.wants
gpg-agent-ssh.socket | sockets.target.wants
gpg-agent.socket | sockets.target.wants
NetworkManager-wait-online.service | network-online.target.wants
NetworkManager.service | multi-user.target.wants
p11-kit-server.socket | sockets.target.wants
remote-fs.target | multi-user target.wants

sorry for possibly bad formatting, on mobile sad

Last edited by lndspk (2021-03-23 23:57:15)

Offline

#6 2021-03-24 07:13:46

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 19,799

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

sorry for possibly bad formatting, on mobile

I have discovered that when I plug my phone into a USB port and enable Network tethering from my phone, my Arch recognizes and uses it perfectly fine.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tethering

The ethernet is up and has a carrier, but no lease (hence no route either)
There's only one NIC controlling service (that's "good")

Assuming that the installation of r8168 and a reboot (to get it being used) doesn't help, we'll need a system journal.
You'll have to use the tethered uplink or usb-walk it to a system w/ an uplink. It's a shit-ton of text.

sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

Offline

#7 2021-03-24 14:33:44

lndspk
Member
Registered: 2021-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

seth wrote:

sorry for possibly bad formatting, on mobile

I have discovered that when I plug my phone into a USB port and enable Network tethering from my phone, my Arch recognizes and uses it perfectly fine.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tethering

The ethernet is up and has a carrier, but no lease (hence no route either)
There's only one NIC controlling service (that's "good")

Assuming that the installation of r8168 and a reboot (to get it being used) doesn't help, we'll need a system journal.
You'll have to use the tethered uplink or usb-walk it to a system w/ an uplink. It's a shit-ton of text.

sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

Will update with the results when I get home.

Offline

#8 2021-03-24 19:47:19

lndspk
Member
Registered: 2021-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

seth wrote:

sorry for possibly bad formatting, on mobile

I have discovered that when I plug my phone into a USB port and enable Network tethering from my phone, my Arch recognizes and uses it perfectly fine.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tethering

The ethernet is up and has a carrier, but no lease (hence no route either)
There's only one NIC controlling service (that's "good")

Assuming that the installation of r8168 and a reboot (to get it being used) doesn't help, we'll need a system journal.
You'll have to use the tethered uplink or usb-walk it to a system w/ an uplink. It's a shit-ton of text.

sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io
sudo journalctl -b | curl -F 'f:1=<-' ix.io

http://ix.io/2TYM

Offline

#9 2021-03-24 20:43:51

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 19,799

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

The realtek device doesn't show up in that journal at all.
However, it's the lts kernel so please confirm that you actually installed https://archlinux.org/packages/communit … r8168-lts/ and please also post the "ip a" output again.


The system previously had Windows 10 installed onto it

Sanity check: windows still installed? (in case, please see 3rd link in my signature…)

Offline

#10 2021-03-24 21:14:10

lndspk
Member
Registered: 2021-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

seth wrote:

The realtek device doesn't show up in that journal at all.
However, it's the lts kernel so please confirm that you actually installed https://archlinux.org/packages/communit … r8168-lts/ and please also post the "ip a" output again.


The system previously had Windows 10 installed onto it

Sanity check: windows still installed? (in case, please see 3rd link in my signature…)

Oh. Forgot I had lts. Sorry. Installed the driver, and rebooted. The system still is not getting any internet from the ethernet, but on xfce4, the network shows as a loading icon now instead of flat out no connection.

Also, I do not have windows currently installed. smile

Here is the output of ip a

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: enp7s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether b4:2e:99:4b:4e:76 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: enp2s0f0u2: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether d6:bb:08:45:7d:e5 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.41.64/24 brd 192.168.41.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute enp2s0f0u2
       valid_lft 3558sec preferred_lft 3558sec
    inet6 fe80::1722:7137:af0b:a385/64 scope link noprefixroute 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

Offline

#11 2021-03-24 21:45:27

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 19,799

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

The NIC certainly shows up (again and again no lease), please post an updated system journal.

Offline

#12 2021-03-24 21:52:10

lndspk
Member
Registered: 2021-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

seth wrote:

The NIC certainly shows up (again and again no lease), please post an updated system journal.

new system journal

http://ix.io/2TZG

Offline

#13 2021-03-24 21:59:56

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 19,799

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

The NIC is found and configured by NM, but the dhcp request times out.
1. Try a different dhcp client, https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … HCP_client
2. Your CRNG is very late, https://wiki.debian.org/BoottimeEntropyStarvation & https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ra … generation

Offline

#14 2021-03-24 23:30:10

lndspk
Member
Registered: 2021-03-23
Posts: 8

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

seth wrote:

The NIC is found and configured by NM, but the dhcp request times out.
1. Try a different dhcp client, https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … HCP_client
2. Your CRNG is very late, https://wiki.debian.org/BoottimeEntropyStarvation & https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ra … generation

1. I installed the dhcp and the dhclient packages, then made "/etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/dhcp-client.conf" and put

 [main]
dhcp=dhclient 

then I did systemctl restart NetworkManager, and it did nothing. I rebooted the system as well to no result.

2. How would I go about updating such a thing? Never thought I would have problems with a random number generator.

Offline

#15 2021-03-25 07:04:43

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 19,799

Re: Ethernet not working after install.

1. There's a stray blank in the  posted dhcp-client.conf
2. Follow the wiki, in doubt install and enable haveged
3. Can you inspect the router logs? As to why dhcp doesn't respond? Maybe there's a stale lease (was the NIC linked to that router when windows was still installed)?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB