You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-23 17:22:42

pxeger
Member
Registered: 2020-08-26
Posts: 3

Has cgroups mounting changed recently?

I had some scripts which used the cgroups v1 filesystem to manage resource usage. They worked perfectly fine about a month ago, and I haven't changed them at all, but now they fail with

cgcreate: libcgroup initialization failed: Cgroup is not mounted

This is correct; only cgroup2 is listed in the output of mount(1), but I'm pretty sure cgroups v1 used to be mounted automatically. Has this behaviour changed in a recent kernel or systemd update? I don't need help getting it to work again - I'm perfectly capable of setting up the mount again - but I'm mystified as to why it changed because I can't find it in any changelog.

Offline

#2 2021-04-24 09:01:40

mpan
Member
Registered: 2012-08-01
Posts: 660
Website

Re: Has cgroups mounting changed recently?

It seems v1 is now not enabled and v2 was “the right way” for ages now.

The old libcgroup repository at SF still contains only version 0.41, which doesn’t support v2. However, the latest libcgroup does (tested with 0.42.2). There is also a libcgroup-git PKGBUILD in AUR.

As for trustworthness of that GH repo: Debian experimental uses 0.42.2, which was not released in the SF repo, and it may be found in other distros, including CRUX and Fedora.

Last edited by mpan (2021-04-24 09:04:32)


Sometimes I seem a bit harsh — don’t get offended too easily! PGP: 7C848198AE93D3BB

Offline

#3 2021-04-24 11:44:08

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 8,495

Re: Has cgroups mounting changed recently?

Online

#4 2021-04-24 15:30:09

pxeger
Member
Registered: 2020-08-26
Posts: 3

Re: Has cgroups mounting changed recently?

mpan wrote:

the latest libcgroup does (tested with 0.42.2)

Hmm, that's unexpected given the status of the issue for v2 support; I'll have to try my scripts on v0.42.2.

Thanks, that explains it!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB