You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-01 19:01:05

gearhead
Member
Registered: 2018-03-24
Posts: 48

[Solved] Wireguard - no traffic

I have a wireguard server running on an RPI at home. When I set it up on the Pi, I generated some *.conf files to be able to use it. Imported these *.conf files in my android phone and my Win10 computer and can connect without issue, so 'it works'. When I try to set it up in Arch, I get a connection, but no traffic. Why can I not see my LAN at home? Previously used OpenVPN and PPTP and was always able to make a connection and browse my LAN.

I have tried wg-quick  I am going out of town this w/e and want to be able to have access to my LAN while away. I am trying this on a VM at work to see how this works. Once it is 'functional', I will put this config on my laptop that I will bring with me.

archvm:~$ sudo wg-quick up work
[#] ip link add work type wireguard
[#] wg setconf work /dev/fd/63
[#] ip -4 address add 10.6.0.2/24 dev work
[#] ip link set mtu 1420 up dev work
[#] resolvconf -a work -m 0 -x
[#] ip -6 route add ::/1 dev work
[#] ip -6 route add 8000::/1 dev work
[#] ip -4 route add 128.0.0.0/1 dev work
[#] ip -4 route add 0.0.0.0/1 dev work

so it looks like it sets it up, but when I ping 10.6.0.1 I get no response and when I ping any of the 192.168.x.x devices on my LAN, I get no response. This has to be something simple but I cannot see it.

My config:

cat /etc/wireguard/work.conf
[Interface]
PrivateKey = {Key}
Address = 10.6.0.2/24
DNS = 10.6.0.1

[Peer]
PublicKey = {Key}
PresharedKey = {Key}
AllowedIPs = 0.0.0.0/1, 128.0.0.0/1, ::/1, 8000::/1
Endpoint = MyIP:Port

I tried importing this config into NetworkManager GUI and I can get a little further as I can ping the server at 10.6.0.1 but still cannot ping anything else on my LAN. I want to make it work with wg-quick as I cannot build the NM plugin for current Arch due to some missing packages.

I am testing this in a VM. 

Gearhead

Last edited by gearhead (2021-07-02 16:05:14)

Offline

#2 2021-07-01 22:48:34

gearhead
Member
Registered: 2018-03-24
Posts: 48

Re: [Solved] Wireguard - no traffic

D'oh. I figured it out. I had to change the 'Allowed IPs" to be 192.168.2.0/24 and now I can connect

Offline

#3 2021-07-02 15:11:04

cmm11
Member
Registered: 2018-02-18
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved] Wireguard - no traffic

Remember to edit the topic to include [Solved] at the start by clicking the edit button of your first post.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB