You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-17 21:13:44

Durden
Member
Registered: 2011-06-19
Posts: 260

Default disk layout

Any reason the installer uses 100MB for the /boot partition by default? Seems very odd and makes it impossible to have multiple kernels available.

Offline

#2 2021-07-17 21:21:20

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,656
Website

Re: Default disk layout

Seems very odd that you need an installer, now tell us what installer do you use so that this thread can most likely be binned

Ah this forum

Last edited by ugjka (2021-07-17 21:22:26)


Fix yo shit: journalctl -b -p warning
--- ugjka.net ---
"Learning the hard way is the only way for many."

Offline

#3 2021-07-18 10:57:08

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 1,223
Website

Re: Default disk layout

Durden wrote:

Any reason the installer uses 100MB for the /boot partition by default? Seems very odd and makes it impossible to have multiple kernels available.

Yes. It's a design decision by the author.
As with any other (unsupported) installer, by using such a thing, you agree to the settings the author(s) impose on you.
If you want a customized installation and not something that other people impose on you, don't use this (or any other) installer and install Arch the "classical" way.

Offline

#4 2021-08-04 12:25:51

Alad
Wiki Admin/IRC Op
From: Bagelstan
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 2,216
Website

Re: Default disk layout

Take the above with a grain of salt. The installer is supported like any other installation methods documented on the wiki (e.g. the installation guide, archboot, systemd-firstboot etc.), the "impose" argument is ridiculous to anyone who read the archinstall readme, and there's no reference this kind of thing is a "design decision". Best you open an issue on github instead.

Last edited by Alad (2021-08-04 12:26:20)


Mods are just community members who have the occasionally necessary option to move threads around and edit posts. -- Trilby

Offline

#5 2021-08-04 13:14:44

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 23,413

Re: Default disk layout

Obedience towards redmond tongue
(Ie. it likely just re-uses the partition scheme it finds and tha is likely the one put there  by windows)

Quick glance at the guided profile "example" it doesn't touch an existing partition scheme at all.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB