You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-17 21:13:44

Durden
Member
Registered: 2011-06-19
Posts: 260

Default disk layout

Any reason the installer uses 100MB for the /boot partition by default? Seems very odd and makes it impossible to have multiple kernels available.

Offline

#2 2021-07-18 10:57:08

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 1,311
Website

Re: Default disk layout

Durden wrote:

Any reason the installer uses 100MB for the /boot partition by default? Seems very odd and makes it impossible to have multiple kernels available.

Yes. It's a design decision by the author.
As with any other (unsupported) installer, by using such a thing, you agree to the settings the author(s) impose on you.
If you want a customized installation and not something that other people impose on you, don't use this (or any other) installer and install Arch the "classical" way.

Offline

#3 2021-08-04 12:25:51

Alad
Wiki Admin/IRC Op
From: Bagelstan
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 2,252
Website

Re: Default disk layout

Take the above with a grain of salt. The installer is supported like any other installation methods documented on the wiki (e.g. the installation guide, archboot, systemd-firstboot etc.), the "impose" argument is ridiculous to anyone who read the archinstall readme, and there's no reference this kind of thing is a "design decision". Best you open an issue on github instead.

Last edited by Alad (2021-08-04 12:26:20)


Mods are just community members who have the occasionally necessary option to move threads around and edit posts. -- Trilby

Offline

#4 2021-08-04 13:14:44

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 26,521

Re: Default disk layout

Obedience towards redmond tongue
(Ie. it likely just re-uses the partition scheme it finds and tha is likely the one put there  by windows)

Quick glance at the guided profile "example" it doesn't touch an existing partition scheme at all.

Offline

#5 2021-12-19 00:07:26

HalosGhost
Forum Moderator
From: Twin Cities, MN
Registered: 2012-06-22
Posts: 1,949
Website

Re: Default disk layout

A post was split from this thread to keep conversation civil and on-topic.

All the best,

-HG

Offline

#6 2021-12-19 02:07:39

Dieter@be
Forum Fellow
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-11-05
Posts: 1,988
Website

Re: Default disk layout

on my system:

drwxr-xr-x  6 root root 1.0K Dec 18 10:06 grub # 12.5 MB
-rw-------  1 root root  36M Dec 18 10:14 initramfs-linux-fallback.img
-rw-------  1 root root  13M Dec 18 10:14 initramfs-linux.img
-rw-r--r--  1 root root 4.6M Jun  8  2021 intel-ucode.img
-rw-r--r--  1 root root  10M Dec 18 10:14 vmlinuz-linux

2 initramfs is plenty, and still plenty of space for multiple kernels until you reach 100MB. or am i missing something?

Last edited by Dieter@be (2021-12-19 02:09:17)


< Daenyth> and he works prolifically
4 8 15 16 23 42

Offline

#7 2021-12-19 12:31:58

schard
Member
From: Hannover
Registered: 2016-05-06
Posts: 1,311
Website

Re: Default disk layout

You're missing that I for example do not use compressed initramfs images, since the decompression actually takes longer than reading an uncompressed image from my NVMe SSD.

$ ls -lh /boot
insgesamt 74M
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4,0K 27. Jan 2020  EFI
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  59M 18. Dez 02:38 initramfs-linux-zen.img
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 4,6M  8. Jun 2021  intel-ucode.img
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root  11M 18. Dez 02:38 vmlinuz-linux-zen

Offline

#8 2021-12-21 01:22:49

Dieter@be
Forum Fellow
From: Belgium
Registered: 2006-11-05
Posts: 1,988
Website

Re: Default disk layout

Okay so it sounds like 100MB is enough for many/basic installations, but not enough for non-standard ones with multiple kernels. No default will ever be perfect for everyone.   Alad's suggestion seems to make sense, bring up on the bugtracker to see what the developers think.  Perhaps it should be easily configurable during installation, if it isn't currently. I haven't tried the installer myself.


< Daenyth> and he works prolifically
4 8 15 16 23 42

Offline

#9 2021-12-25 04:09:15

lpv
Member
Registered: 2021-12-23
Posts: 3

Re: Default disk layout

I just stumbled upon this right after doing a fresh install(also accidentally deleted my windows partition tongue thank god that was fresh too) with the default/suggested disk layout. My /boot was made 500MB. The most recent .iso (2021.12.01).

Offline

#10 2022-01-06 14:44:32

Torxed
Member
Registered: 2013-01-10
Posts: 175

Re: Default disk layout

Sorry for the lack of responses.
There is no design decision in terms of `/boot` other than when we create it. Which is now default to 500MB as Ipv mentions.
The only time we can't facilitate this is when Windows is the one that creates the boot sector, which it does by creating a ~100MB small partition.
100MB will work, if you use vanilla `linux` kernel and can live without a `-fallback` initramfs. But it will spit out a warning every time you regenerate a initramfs.

We don't dare to implement magic functions to resize this limitation, but instead we've implemented a warning stating that the user has to resize the partition manually first.
Until there's a safe tool that can reliably resize the partition without consequences, this is the best we can do for now. Hope that's ok.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB