You are not logged in.

#26 2021-10-12 07:23:48

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 24,036

Re: Ethernet with my docking station stopped working

* Check whether the gateway responds to pings while using the working direct cable connection (maybe it's configured to ignore icmp requests, which is dumb but happens)
* Monitor "dmesg -w" for errors of your following actions
* Stop wifi and stop ethernet before connecting the dock (so you dont have a route and the NIC is down in "ip a" (the value inside the "<>") also netctl-auto, ifplug, anything network management.
* Connect the dock and start the ethernet profile.
* Check "ip a; ip r" on whether you've a lease and a route.
* Ping the gateway

Either lease and route are stale, or the router is confused about your lease (you had one, don't properly deregister and get a second one but the router maintains your first one) or your NIC is filtered.

Offline

#27 2021-10-19 13:18:56

ruffy
Member
Registered: 2017-06-10
Posts: 48

Re: Ethernet with my docking station stopped working

seth wrote:

* Check whether the gateway responds to pings while using the working direct cable connection (maybe it's configured to ignore icmp requests, which is dumb but happens)
* Monitor "dmesg -w" for errors of your following actions
* Stop wifi and stop ethernet before connecting the dock (so you dont have a route and the NIC is down in "ip a" (the value inside the "<>") also netctl-auto, ifplug, anything network management.
* Connect the dock and start the ethernet profile.
* Check "ip a; ip r" on whether you've a lease and a route.
* Ping the gateway

Either lease and route are stale, or the router is confused about your lease (you had one, don't properly deregister and get a second one but the router maintains your first one) or your NIC is filtered.

* I can ping the gateway like that.
* no errors occured below
* I stopped everything.
* connected dock and started my ethernet profile
* I have an IP and gateway
* I cannot ping the gateway => 100% package loss

Last edited by ruffy (2021-10-19 13:19:15)

Offline

#28 2021-10-19 14:02:37

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 24,036

Re: Ethernet with my docking station stopped working

This goes a bit towards using dhclient, but you could configure dhcpcd to use the clientid instead of the duid in /etc/dhcpcd.conf - though you do get a lease and are just ghosted afterwards …
(We're obviously grasping straws at this point)

Offline

#29 2021-10-19 14:37:33

ruffy
Member
Registered: 2017-06-10
Posts: 48

Re: Ethernet with my docking station stopped working

I removed dhcpcd and installed dhclient, but it does not work...

Offline

#30 2021-10-19 14:43:19

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 24,036

Re: Ethernet with my docking station stopped working

Doen't work isn't an error message, but the suggestion was actually to set dhcpcd to use the clientid.

At some point you'll have to talk to your IT - providing you a lease but not responding afterwards sounds a lot like a filter gone awry.

Offline

#31 2021-10-20 06:26:17

ruffy
Member
Registered: 2017-06-10
Posts: 48

Re: Ethernet with my docking station stopped working

Okay I have to figure out how to do that and will talk again to our IT.
Thank you!

EDIT:
The IT checked the filter settings and from their point everything works fine.

Last edited by ruffy (2021-10-20 07:09:39)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB