You are not logged in.

#51 2022-02-18 05:38:54

RounakDutta
Member
From: West Bengal, India
Registered: 2022-02-11
Posts: 129
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

seth wrote:

I'm pretty sure this is a routing issue of your ISP - malice or ineptitude.
Seems not the first time and the pattern is similar:
https://community.cloudflare.com/t/rout … india/5417

Edit: also https://www.reddit.com/r/IndianGaming/c … ering_and/

So what should I do ?

seth wrote:

See whether you can tracepath 1.1.1.1

 
[rounak@archpc ~]$ tracepath 1.1.1.1
 1?: [LOCALHOST]                      pmtu 1500
 1:  _gateway                                              1.146ms asymm 35 
 1:  _gateway                                              1.078ms asymm 35 
 2:  no reply
 3:  node-150-107-176-65.alliancebroadband.in             44.396ms 
 4:  192.168.199.130                                      35.568ms 
 5:  no reply
 6:  no reply
 7:  no reply
 8:  no reply
 9:  no reply
10:  no reply
11:  no reply
12:  no reply
^C
[rounak@archpc ~]$ 

I am a baller shot caller
I am a arch linux installer
Your proprietary operating system
I wouldn't buy for a dollar

Offline

#52 2022-02-18 07:19:57

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,931

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

It does seem like your ISP is pulling some shenanigans here, but otoh some earlier tests showed that you could curl the page when explicitly using a different DNS - those might have been temporary flukes, though.

Configure the router DNS servers as 8.8.8.8 and 9.9.9.9, reboot, check /etc/resolv.conf to reflect that setting and try to "curl -v chrisx.xyz" (using the system DNS but avoiding your browser for the moment, in case it has a local DNS setting - something you want to inspect anyway. Chromium and Firefox both alloow such configuration)

Offline

#53 2022-03-12 17:01:34

RounakDutta
Member
From: West Bengal, India
Registered: 2022-02-11
Posts: 129
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

seth wrote:

It does seem like your ISP is pulling some shenanigans here, but otoh some earlier tests showed that you could curl the page when explicitly using a different DNS - those might have been temporary flukes, though.

Configure the router DNS servers as 8.8.8.8 and 9.9.9.9, reboot, check /etc/resolv.conf to reflect that setting and try to "curl -v chrisx.xyz" (using the system DNS but avoiding your browser for the moment, in case it has a local DNS setting - something you want to inspect anyway. Chromium and Firefox both alloow such configuration)

Still same I dual booted arch linux with windows. I can ping the ip address 104.21.28.45 in windows but I cannot ping the ip address 104.21.28.45 in linux.

C:\Users\Rounak Dutta>ping 104.21.28.45

Pinging 104.21.28.45 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 14.141.123.226: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 14.141.123.226: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 14.141.123.226: TTL expired in transit.
Reply from 14.141.123.226: TTL expired in transit.

Ping statistics for 104.21.28.45:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),

But doesn't work on linux.

Last edited by RounakDutta (2022-03-12 17:01:54)


I am a baller shot caller
I am a arch linux installer
Your proprietary operating system
I wouldn't buy for a dollar

Offline

#54 2022-03-12 17:17:03

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,931

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

I can ping the ip address 104.21.28.45 in windows

Reply from 14.141.123.226: TTL expired in transit.

No, you *obviously* cannot?
Windows pretty much confirms the tracepath situation as "TTL expired in transit" is a typical symptom of circular routing.

Offline

#55 2022-04-01 17:08:44

RounakDutta
Member
From: West Bengal, India
Registered: 2022-02-11
Posts: 129
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

seth wrote:

I can ping the ip address 104.21.28.45 in windows

Reply from 14.141.123.226: TTL expired in transit.

No, you *obviously* cannot?
Windows pretty much confirms the tracepath situation as "TTL expired in transit" is a typical symptom of circular routing.

Edit It got fixed actually I didn't set the system time correctly - https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/System … ronization there were many options so I choosed systemd-timesyncd https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/systemd-timesyncd
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=275280

Marking the post as solved


I am a baller shot caller
I am a arch linux installer
Your proprietary operating system
I wouldn't buy for a dollar

Offline

#56 2022-04-02 11:34:02

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 10,158

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

Very glad you figured it out.

I was so sure the error was somewhere in the connections your provider had with the rest of the global internet I never even considered to check time synchronization .


Disliking systemd intensely, but not satisfied with alternatives so focusing on taming systemd.
Did you use the guided installer ? If yes, I can't help you.

(A works at time B)  && (time C > time B ) ≠  (A works at time C)

Offline

#57 2022-04-02 12:48:01

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,931

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

Given the tracepath and the windows situation, I'm gonna say the provider *has* (or "had") those issues - regardless of the time being off.
The only other explanation would include the system time being likewise off on windows and the ISP doing some really stupid nonsense because of that.

Also accroding to https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 7#p2029217

               Local time: Fri 2022-04-01 17:45:57 IST
           Universal time: Fri 2022-04-01 12:15:57 UTC
                 RTC time: Fri 2022-04-01 12:15:57
                Time zone: Asia/Kolkata (IST, +0530)
System clock synchronized: no
              NTP service: inactive
          RTC in local TZ: no

shows that there's no ntp service, BUT: the time aligns to the timestamp of the post, so his system time at this point was at least not vastly off.

I don't buy the explanation in #55 and call https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/coincidence

Offline

#58 2022-04-07 10:44:01

RounakDutta
Member
From: West Bengal, India
Registered: 2022-02-11
Posts: 129
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

seth wrote:

Given the tracepath and the windows situation, I'm gonna say the provider *has* (or "had") those issues - regardless of the time being off.
The only other explanation would include the system time being likewise off on windows and the ISP doing some really stupid nonsense because of that.

Also accroding to https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 7#p2029217

               Local time: Fri 2022-04-01 17:45:57 IST
           Universal time: Fri 2022-04-01 12:15:57 UTC
                 RTC time: Fri 2022-04-01 12:15:57
                Time zone: Asia/Kolkata (IST, +0530)
System clock synchronized: no
              NTP service: inactive
          RTC in local TZ: no

shows that there's no ntp service, BUT: the time aligns to the timestamp of the post, so his system time at this point was at least not vastly off.

I don't buy the explanation in #55 and call https://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/coincidence

Actually I set the ntp to true and then in
"/etc/systemd/timesyncd.conf" I did this -

 #  This file is part of systemd.
#
#  systemd is free software; you can redistribute it and/or modify it under the
#  terms of the GNU Lesser General Public License as published by the Free
#  Software Foundation; either version 2.1 of the License, or (at your option)
#  any later version.
#
# Entries in this file show the compile time defaults. Local configuration
# should be created by either modifying this file, or by creating "drop-ins" in
# the timesyncd.conf.d/ subdirectory. The latter is generally recommended.
# Defaults can be restored by simply deleting this file and all drop-ins.
#
# See timesyncd.conf(5) for details.

[Time]
NTP=0.in.pool.ntp.org 1.in.pool.ntp.org 2.in.pool.ntp.org 3.in.pool.ntp.org
#FallbackNTP=0.arch.pool.ntp.org 1.arch.pool.ntp.org 2.arch.pool.ntp.org 3.arch.pool.ntp.org
#RootDistanceMaxSec=5
#PollIntervalMinSec=32
#PollIntervalMaxSec=2048
#SaveIntervalSec=60
[rounak@archissexy ~]$ 

and now it WORKS !!!! Finally !!!!

 [rounak@archissexy ~]$ ping chrisx.xyz
PING chrisx.xyz (104.21.28.45) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 104.21.28.45 (104.21.28.45): icmp_seq=1 ttl=53 time=103 ms
64 bytes from 104.21.28.45 (104.21.28.45): icmp_seq=2 ttl=53 time=102 ms
64 bytes from 104.21.28.45 (104.21.28.45): icmp_seq=3 ttl=53 time=102 ms
^C
--- chrisx.xyz ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 3 received, 0% packet loss, time 2002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 101.906/102.466/103.248/0.569 ms

Actually I asked someone in r/archlinux and he told me to set my time correctly for tls to work and it immediately got struck in my mind that I forgot to enable clock synchronization.
http://0x0.st/obpO.png smile

Last edited by RounakDutta (2022-04-07 10:47:37)


I am a baller shot caller
I am a arch linux installer
Your proprietary operating system
I wouldn't buy for a dollar

Offline

#59 2022-04-07 11:44:53

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 29,931

Re: [SOLVED] Websites not working on arch

Again: your time was initially correct.
And no matter how retarded your ISPs routing is, it *cannot* depend on whether you're syncing NTP.
At best ("worst". again: would be completely retarded) they could base that on your system time and that, to re-interate, was by all accounts not wrong when you made the initial post.

Finally:

he told me to set my time correctly for tls to work

While ssl/tls are highly system time sensitive, ICMP ("ping") is not.

This is a coincidence.
Prepare for your ISP to fuck up any moment again, notably since they have a record on this.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB