You are not logged in.

#26 2005-12-15 18:17:45

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Looks like it's something in the script itself... I really don't know where to start with this... I'll take a glance at the script and see if I can find anything blatant...


I do, however, have to laugh at this error message:

bread failed, dev=loop0, iso_blknum=16, block=32

OMG 'bread' failed! How will I make my sandwich??!!

Offline

#27 2005-12-15 18:25:11

shadowhand
Member
From: MN, USA
Registered: 2004-02-19
Posts: 1,142
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

phrakture wrote:

OMG 'bread' failed! How will I make my sandwich??!!

Priceless! lol

Looks like there is some issue with the loop mounting.


·¬»· i am shadowhand, powered by webfaction

Offline

#28 2005-12-15 18:27:33

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

phrakture wrote:

Looks like it's something in the script itself... I really don't know where to start with this... I'll take a glance at the script and see if I can find anything blatant...

Umm, actually, I may be wrong - the script just mounts it, nothing fancy.  However, I'd venture a guess that you have a custom kernel, am I correct?

Two things seem odd - the "limit=3" with regards to loop0 and the bread failure.  Did you compile in iso9660 support in your kernel?

Offline

#29 2005-12-15 18:50:32

nbcjr
Member
From: BRAZIL!
Registered: 2004-12-04
Posts: 79

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

phrakture wrote:
phrakture wrote:

Looks like it's something in the script itself... I really don't know where to start with this... I'll take a glance at the script and see if I can find anything blatant...

Umm, actually, I may be wrong - the script just mounts it, nothing fancy.  However, I'd venture a guess that you have a custom kernel, am I correct?

Two things seem odd - the "limit=3" with regards to loop0 and the bread failure.  Did you compile in iso9660 support in your kernel?

nope, stock testing kernel here...

Offline

#30 2005-12-15 18:56:07

nbcjr
Member
From: BRAZIL!
Registered: 2004-12-04
Posts: 79

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

from mount man:

The command is `mount [-t fstype] something somewhere'.

from the script:

mount $isoFile $tmp_isoDir -t iso9660

i don't know why is that (obviously has nothing to do, as the script works with everyone

Offline

#31 2005-12-23 08:04:11

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

There really isn't anything special to the script as for the mounting. Can you mount the iso by hand, doesn't that give the same error?

Offline

#32 2006-01-04 07:46:17

uberGeek
Member
From: Near Chicago
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 65

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

# ./update_archISO-03.sh /mnt/store/iso/arch-0.7-base.iso ./update_archISO-03.config
:: Copy files from ISO                                                   [BUSY] mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0,
       missing codepage or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

                                                                         [FAIL] 
error in the mounting, copying and unmounting process
# dmesg | tail
    speed:           1000
    autonegotiation: yes
    duplex mode:     full
    flowctrl:        symmetric
    role:            slave
    irq moderation:  disabled
    scatter-gather:  enabled
attempt to access beyond end of device
loop0: rw=0, want=66, limit=2
isofs_fill_super: bread failed, dev=loop0, iso_blknum=16, block=32
# mount -o loop -t iso9660 /mnt/store/iso/arch-0.7-base.iso /mnt/iso
# ls /mnt/iso
addons  arch  isolinux

carb $ now; uname -a; uptime
Sun 03Jul11 14:54:25 CDT -0500
Linux carb 2.6.17-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jul 7 09:15:53 CEST 2006 i686 Pentium III (Coppermine) GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
14:54:25 up 1463 days,  9:24,  1 user,  load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00

Offline

#33 2006-01-05 06:54:46

uberGeek
Member
From: Near Chicago
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 65

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Ok, I know why the iso mount fails, the script parameters are swapped, at least in the version I downloaded on 04JAN06.

The script has:

configFile=$1
isoFile=$2

where it should be:

configFile=$2
isoFile=$1

The other option, of course, would be to swap the parameters in:

echo "usage: update_archISO.sh /path/to/iso /path/to/configfile"

Next step, hack out the SCSI kernel references, as these crash the script also, and are not needed anymore.


carb $ now; uname -a; uptime
Sun 03Jul11 14:54:25 CDT -0500
Linux carb 2.6.17-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jul 7 09:15:53 CEST 2006 i686 Pentium III (Coppermine) GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
14:54:25 up 1463 days,  9:24,  1 user,  load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00

Offline

#34 2006-01-06 18:36:16

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,175

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

uberGeek wrote:

Ok, I know why the iso mount fails, the script parameters are swapped, at least in the version I downloaded on 04JAN06.

[...]

That is pretty stupid of me; I'll see if that still is the case and fix it

Next step, hack out the SCSI kernel references, as these crash the script also, and are not needed anymore.

Yep, I'll work on that; I also need to check if the script still works when using 0.7.1

Offline

#35 2006-01-06 19:34:33

uberGeek
Member
From: Near Chicago
Registered: 2004-01-07
Posts: 65

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

It's a neat idea, and I think of value, however, it will require ongoing maintenance due to the changing nature of Arch (which is good, as it's always improving).  I was  going to work on it some, but with the release of 0.7.1, I lost my motivation smile

Keep up the good work, I'll try and audit/test/help if I get some time.

I would have a use for it, as others would, I think.  As I setup systems for friends, and it would save time if I could start at the current state of Arch, vs. a quickly outdated snapshot.

Have a good weekend!


carb $ now; uname -a; uptime
Sun 03Jul11 14:54:25 CDT -0500
Linux carb 2.6.17-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jul 7 09:15:53 CEST 2006 i686 Pentium III (Coppermine) GenuineIntel GNU/Linux
14:54:25 up 1463 days,  9:24,  1 user,  load average: 1.00, 1.00, 1.00

Offline

#36 2006-04-02 18:32:31

soloport
Member
Registered: 2005-03-01
Posts: 442

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Spider.007 wrote:
uberGeek wrote:

Ok, I know why the iso mount fails, the script parameters are swapped, at least in the version I downloaded on 04JAN06.
[...]

That is pretty stupid of me; I'll see if that still is the case and fix it

Could you re-post?  I just downloaded the script and found the same bug (i.e. the script hasn't been fixed in reference to the previously posted link).

BTW, this script is a huge life saver.  Thanks!

Do you continue to work on it?  Hoping so...

Offline

#37 2006-04-03 18:04:14

soloport
Member
Registered: 2005-03-01
Posts: 442

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Have changed the original (update_archISO-03.sh) script quite a bit (mostly bug fixes and work-arounds).  One major change was to use a perl script in lieu of gensync (as gensync has 'special' issues that I didn't want to work around).

Have also written a script that builds an update_archISO.config file, so one can easily keep it current.

Any interest?

Offline

#38 2006-04-03 20:41:32

stavrosg
Member
From: Rhodes, Greece
Registered: 2005-05-01
Posts: 330
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

You can always post it here/ somewhere and put the link here, so people searching for it can stumble upon it. wink

Offline

#39 2006-04-13 11:23:56

Kin
Member
From: Oberfranken / Europe
Registered: 2004-01-23
Posts: 137

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Hi,

we have one ( family ) computer with a DVD burner installed. It only has Windows onboard. The second one is dual boot notebook with a DVD-ROM drive installed. So I usually download and burn everything on the Windows computer and then go to my notebook. For big downloads I use our universities connection smile


So, what I want is the possiblity to create a bootable DVD iso with all packages on it within Windows.

So, basically:

- download "current" directory
- download "extra" directory
- download the 0.7.1 boot iso
- unpack the iso in one directory
- add the "extra" and "current" directory
- create a bootable dvd iso image.


But, how to do  this ?

Offline

#40 2006-04-13 14:05:02

postlogic
Member
Registered: 2005-02-24
Posts: 410
Website

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Kin wrote:

Hi,

we have one ( family ) computer with a DVD burner installed. It only has Windows onboard. The second one is dual boot notebook with a DVD-ROM drive installed. So I usually download and burn everything on the Windows computer and then go to my notebook. For big downloads I use our universities connection smile


So, what I want is the possiblity to create a bootable DVD iso with all packages on it within Windows.

So, basically:

- download "current" directory
- download "extra" directory
- download the 0.7.1 boot iso
- unpack the iso in one directory
- add the "extra" and "current" directory
- create a bootable dvd iso image.


But, how to do  this ?

Why not just download all the packages you need, put them on a DVD and add whatever you need through pacman -A?

What you're looking for is an entire program.

Offline

#41 2006-10-23 22:31:58

ndlarsen
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2005-11-02
Posts: 157

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Just wondering if there's an update comming as I get this output with the base 0.7.2 iso:

./update_archISO.sh: line 13: syntax error near unexpected token `)'
./update_archISO.sh: line 13: ` "base")'

Cheers.


I made it long
as I lacked the time to make it short...

Offline

#42 2006-10-24 00:39:29

soloport
Member
Registered: 2005-03-01
Posts: 442

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

The road to hell, they say, is paved with good intentions.  Once upon a time I really wanted the script to work, and then some.  (In fact I think it no longer resembles the original, due to so many hacks.)

Wanted it to:
* Pull packages from  latest repo (local mirror)
* Pull packages from custom repo (local builds of emacs, loop-AES, etc.)
* Incorporate a "keyboardless install" -- like quickinst, but even more automatic
* Build ISO image
* USB Flash drive image, too

Why?
* It takes hours to build an Arch box using current ISO image / by hand way
* Was building lots of boxes every month
* Each box needed the custom packages -- but the same ones

In the end, just created an image and dd'd it onto each box.  Another approach would be to FTP install from custom repository, etc.

However, methinks these are still worthy goals.  One of these days...  sad

Offline

#43 2006-10-24 04:56:47

gradgrind
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-10-06
Posts: 921

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Wanted it to:
* Pull packages from latest repo (local mirror)
* Pull packages from custom repo (local builds of emacs, loop-AES, etc.)
* Incorporate a "keyboardless install" -- like quickinst, but even more automatic
* Build ISO image
* USB Flash drive image, too

Why?
* It takes hours to build an Arch box using current ISO image / by hand way
* Was building lots of boxes every month
* Each box needed the custom packages -- but the same ones

larch does most of this, or could be easily adapted to do it.

Offline

#44 2006-10-30 15:25:20

jinn
Member
From: Gothenburg
Registered: 2005-12-10
Posts: 506

Re: update_archISO.sh - update archlinux_base.iso to current

Is there any updates on this? why not create a pkgbuild and add to repo?

if anyone has tried this script recently and got it working, let me know.. I tried it ran into some problems, fixed some and got stuck on others..


The ultimate Archlinux release name: "I am your father"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB