You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-29 12:39:21

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Raid1 here I come

Ok I have backed up my main drive...

Want to go raid1 can I do it without reinstalling Arch?

Wiki seems to use cfdisk to create partitions already have them on main drive ?

Will I need to set up mirror drive using cfdisk or will mdadm create them?

TIA

MrG


Mr Green

Offline

#2 2006-10-29 17:16:14

thomas23
Member
From: Canada, Montreal
Registered: 2005-06-11
Posts: 40

Re: Raid1 here I come

Hi,

Good thing to have made a backup  smile !

Here is a howto a bit more detailled on raid stuff : http://tldp.org/HOWTO/Software-RAID-HOWTO.html

This documents also explains how to transform an ordinary disk into a raid array with the data still on it.

But a quick search in the wiki with the raid keyword hae give up some interesting stuff...

Update to raid
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Con … em_to_RAID

Install raid from scratch (just in case...)
http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ins … AID_or_LVM

Hope this can help ! Good luck

Offline

#3 2006-10-29 17:46:22

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Raid1 here I come

Yeah the wiki stuff may do the trick...

In RAID1 will I notice any access speed increase?


Mr Green

Offline

#4 2006-10-29 18:41:17

thomas23
Member
From: Canada, Montreal
Registered: 2005-06-11
Posts: 40

Re: Raid1 here I come

Yes, the thing is that in raid 1, when reading data, disks work in a asynchronous way. So they work togheter and each of them get a different set of data. Reading is fast with raid 1. In the other hand, writing is as fast as the slowest of your drives.

I personaly love raid 5. Its speed in writing is between raid 0 and 1, in reading it is faster than raid 1, since you have to have 3 disks for raid 5 to work... Raid 1 with 4 disks will probably read faster. And about safety of data, as good as a raid 1 with 2 disks.

Offline

#5 2006-10-29 19:03:08

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Raid1 here I come

Dude I got two 250gb sata drives. ...

I'm going to play with a disc image on a loop device first ..... play around with it

Do not want to use grub shoulds work with lilo

Yeah Raid1 will be fine for now

May need to resize /home to take add /media

You using LVM as per wiki?


Mr Green

Offline

#6 2006-10-29 19:23:31

thomas23
Member
From: Canada, Montreal
Registered: 2005-06-11
Posts: 40

Re: Raid1 here I come

Nope, never used LVM at all...

Offline

#7 2006-10-29 19:28:08

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Raid1 here I come

 cat /proc/mdstat 
Personalities : [raid1] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] 
unused devices: <none>

Nothing yet.... soon lol


Mr Green

Offline

#8 2006-11-04 07:36:11

osigen
Member
From: cynic tub
Registered: 2005-06-18
Posts: 36
Website

Re: Raid1 here I come

Too hard to RAID , isn't it? :-)

By the way tpowa recent iso (5 Oct 06)  and wiki instructions about RAID and LVM are outdated and incompatible.


"What we cannot speak about we must pass over in silence" L. Wittgenstein

Offline

#9 2006-11-04 07:43:08

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Raid1 here I come

thinking about trying out hardware raid instead

If you want to try out raid without messing up system then set up a couple of loopdevices first ....

As always backup backup backup first!!!!


Mr Green

Offline

#10 2006-11-04 09:18:26

osigen
Member
From: cynic tub
Registered: 2005-06-18
Posts: 36
Website

Re: Raid1 here I come

In my case Hardware RAID is unsupported :-(
Intel ICH8R chipset (Intel Matrix Storage) has NO interesting for Linux.

Anyone should stop buying Intel Matrix Storage motherboards. I will do :-)


"What we cannot speak about we must pass over in silence" L. Wittgenstein

Offline

#11 2006-11-04 09:33:51

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Raid1 here I come

well you can buy cards cheap enough....


Mr Green

Offline

#12 2006-11-19 13:27:03

osigen
Member
From: cynic tub
Registered: 2005-06-18
Posts: 36
Website

Re: Raid1 here I come

I just finished my new RAID5 system :-)
You may find useful my Serial ATA2 and software RAID performance comparison


"What we cannot speak about we must pass over in silence" L. Wittgenstein

Offline

#13 2006-11-19 13:51:39

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Raid1 here I come

Wow!   8)

I was thinking more of raid1 for my setup [two drives!]

Software Raid... would be interested in how you set it up

/me feels a wiki page coming on...

As a side note was there any reason why you did not use Hardware Raid on mobo ?


Mr Green

Offline

#14 2006-11-19 14:20:56

osigen
Member
From: cynic tub
Registered: 2005-06-18
Posts: 36
Website

Re: Raid1 here I come

All you need are here:
Archlinux base or current from tpowa recent iso

Follow the instructions :
Installing with Software RAID or LVM

If you have troubles with grub read this: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=26484

If your kernel hungs read this
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=27061


"What we cannot speak about we must pass over in silence" L. Wittgenstein

Offline

#15 2006-11-19 14:30:15

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,745

Re: Raid1 here I come

Cool thanks very much .... good luck with your system

Its Cool its runs on Arch ;-)


Mr Green

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB