You are not logged in.

#1 2022-02-27 09:36:07

marko154
Member
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 12

NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

Hello,
I have set up Nvidia proprietary driver to work with Wayland as described in Arch wikis. From GDM I can now run Gnome either in Xorg or Wayland mode, both work great (HW accel et al). The difference is when I output 3840x2160 signal via HDMI, Wayland only works at 30Hz, but Xorg works at 60Hz. At 1920x1080 both work at 60Hz. I've tried with GBM enabled (setting env vars as per wiki) and without. Wayland somehow incorrectly assumes the limit with 4k is 30Hz. Is there a way to fix this, maybe force the 60Hz mode? Thanks.

Offline

#2 2022-02-27 10:01:03

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 45,384

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

Does it help if you pass a video mode w/ reduced blanking to the kernel?
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/torva … modedb.rst

Online

#3 2022-02-28 12:01:42

marko154
Member
Registered: 2013-08-13
Posts: 12

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

I tried booting with kernel parameter

video=HDMI-A-1:3840x2160R@60

but it doesn't seem to help.

Offline

#4 2023-06-22 10:44:17

NGStaph
Member
Registered: 2021-04-11
Posts: 28

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

Hope this isn't necrobumping but I'm still facing this issue. Is this primarily a cable limitation? Given that i could use 4k@60Hz on  X11/ Windows, is this an EDID issue? If it is... is there any way i could extract the edid from gnome xorg and use that on wayland?

Offline

#5 2023-06-22 11:08:09

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 45,384

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

The thread seems to have dropped off my tab list…

The EDID is provided by the monitor.
Please post an xorg log, the output of "xrandr --verbose" and

for output in /sys/class/drm/card*/edid; do echo $output; edid-decode < $output; echo "========================"; done

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/edid-decode-git

Online

#6 2023-06-23 09:10:03

NGStaph
Member
Registered: 2021-04-11
Posts: 28

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

Offline

#7 2023-06-23 13:31:23

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 45,384

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

The randr output only lists 30Hz modes so it doesn't look like you can use 60Hz on X11?

  Established Timings I & II:
    DMT 0x04:   640x480    59.940476 Hz   4:3     31.469 kHz     25.175000 MHz
    DMT 0x09:   800x600    60.316541 Hz   4:3     37.879 kHz     40.000000 MHz
    DMT 0x10:  1024x768    60.003840 Hz   4:3     48.363 kHz     65.000000 MHz
  Standard Timings:
    DMT 0x23:  1280x1024   60.019740 Hz   5:4     63.981 kHz    108.000000 MHz
    DMT 0x53:  1600x900    60.000000 Hz  16:9     60.000 kHz    108.000000 MHz (RB)
    DMT 0x15:  1152x864    75.000000 Hz   4:3     67.500 kHz    108.000000 MHz
    DMT 0x3a:  1680x1050   59.954250 Hz  16:10    65.290 kHz    146.250000 MHz
  Detailed Timing Descriptors:
    DTD 1:  3840x2160   30.000000 Hz  16:9     67.500 kHz    297.000000 MHz (1218 mm x 685 mm)
                 Hfront  176 Hsync  88 Hback  296 Hpol P
                 Vfront    8 Vsync  10 Vback   72 Vpol P
    DTD 2:  1920x1080   60.000000 Hz  16:9     67.500 kHz    148.500000 MHz (1218 mm x 685 mm)
                 Hfront   88 Hsync  44 Hback  148 Hpol P
                 Vfront    4 Vsync   5 Vback   36 Vpol P
    Display Product Name: 'SONY TV  *00'

There's

  YCbCr 4:2:0 Video Data Block:
    VIC  96:  3840x2160   50.000000 Hz  16:9    112.500 kHz    594.000000 MHz
    VIC  97:  3840x2160   60.000000 Hz  16:9    135.000 kHz    594.000000 MHz
    VIC 101:  4096x2160   50.000000 Hz 256:135  112.500 kHz    594.000000 MHz
    VIC 102:  4096x2160   60.000000 Hz 256:135  135.000 kHz    594.000000 MHz

But only

  Supports YCbCr 4:4:4
  Supports YCbCr 4:2:2
[   136.530] (II) NVIDIA(0): Setting mode "HDMI-0:4096x2160"
[   137.019] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): SONY TV  *00 (DFP-0): connected
[   137.019] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): SONY TV  *00 (DFP-0): Internal TMDS
[   137.019] (--) NVIDIA(GPU-0): SONY TV  *00 (DFP-0): 600.0 MHz maximum pixel clock

But the Tv only supports

    Display Range Limits:
      Monitor ranges (GTF): 23-62 Hz V, 14-70 kHz H, max dotclock 300 MHz

what's not enough for 4k/60Hz

How and which 60Hz modeline did you run on Windows/X11 and how did you determine that?
Did you use a different cable (just in case the Tv tries to be extra smart and adapts the EDID)?
What exact model is the Tv (what does its manual say about supported resolutions)?

Online

#8 2023-06-24 01:40:29

NGStaph
Member
Registered: 2021-04-11
Posts: 28

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

I'm think i can use 4:2:0 on x11.
If i install envycontrol and switch to nvidia on xorg..

https://0x0.st/HQcn.txt
https://0x0.st/HQcd.txt

also nvidia-settings shows:
https://ibb.co/d2W9k5k
https://ibb.co/qJ7M8Bp

is this a Nvidia+Wayland limitation ?
I haven't changed the cable although i don't think this is a hdmi 2/2.1 cable either way and the TV is a Bravia 4k UR3

btw i do not see most of the options listed for my TV (KD-55A8H):

Video signal support

HDMI™ signal: 4096 x 2160p (24, 50, 60 Hz), 3840 x 2160p (24, 25, 30, 50, 60 Hz), 1080p (30, 50, 60, 100, 120 Hz), 1080/24p, 1080i (50, 60 Hz), 720p (30, 50, 60 Hz), 720/24p, 576p, 480p

Last edited by NGStaph (2023-06-24 06:00:26)

Offline

#9 2023-06-24 07:08:01

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 45,384

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

If i install envycontrol and switch to nvidia on xorg..

So this is a hybrid system and only works if you run the server on the nvidia GPU - kinda very relevant info you omitted there roll

You'll have to run the gnome wayland session on the nvidia GPU as well; ideally disable the IGP in the BIOS.
If that's not an option

/usr/lib/udev/rules.d/61-mutter.rules

ENV{DEVNAME}=="/dev/dri/card1", TAG+="mutter-device-preferred-primary"

Online

#10 2023-06-24 16:28:53

NGStaph
Member
Registered: 2021-04-11
Posts: 28

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

My bad. Problem is I've tried both switching off the iGPU and setting the dGPu as primary, neither of which have worked.
I've failed to find a way to set the default modeline on wayland and gnome-settings does not show 60Hz as an option.
Nvidia + wayland remains stuck at 30Hz. Using boot parameters did not work either.

Last edited by NGStaph (2023-06-24 16:32:09)

Offline

#11 2023-08-13 10:46:52

NGStaph
Member
Registered: 2021-04-11
Posts: 28

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

Still cannot get it to work:


edid-decode

xrandr --verbose

Offline

#12 2023-08-13 12:41:08

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 45,384

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

The more relevant data at this point would be the system journal and maybe "eglinfo -B"

Online

#13 2023-08-14 08:43:41

NGStaph
Member
Registered: 2021-04-11
Posts: 28

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

How should i filter the journalctl output in this case? Also...
eglinfo -B

Last edited by NGStaph (2023-08-14 10:13:19)

Offline

#14 2023-08-14 14:40:07

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 45,384

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

So you're running wayland  on the nvidia GPU - do weston and/or eg. sway behave the same?

What if you specify the desired mode at the bootloader?

video=HDMI-1:3840x2160@60

https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/fb/modedb.rst
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Kernel_parameters

Online

#15 2023-09-06 04:24:07

NGStaph
Member
Registered: 2021-04-11
Posts: 28

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

The boot parameter might be ignored. External display still runs at 30Hz (as reported be glxgears and gnome settings).
However I can make the display run at 60 Hz in Hyprland using the config file, which promptly stops working on rebooting.

Last edited by NGStaph (2023-09-06 05:14:49)

Offline

#16 2023-09-12 12:59:50

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 45,384

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

which promptly stops working on rebooting

So when you force Hyprland to use 60Hz you're just not getting any signal?

Online

#17 2023-09-15 13:16:59

NGStaph
Member
Registered: 2021-04-11
Posts: 28

Re: NVIDIA Wayland Gnome 4k only 30Hz

if i connect the display after starting a hyprland session the display runs @60Hz (as specified in the config file). Rebooting whilst connected to display results in a black screen at boot.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB