You are not logged in.

#1 2024-03-21 00:42:26

Derp_maste5
Member
Registered: 2024-03-21
Posts: 3

Archiso will not load [SOLVED]

Arch iso fails with :

Error: verification requested but nobody cares:
/arch/boot/x86x64/vmlinuz-linux
Error: you need to load the kernel first.

I need to chroot using the arch iso however its deciding to fail, both on my primary setup, and my secondary pc. Ive tried using rufus and balena etcher to write the arch iso, no luck.
Im a arch brginner for about 5 months, im not exactly eqquiped to modifiy the arch iso that much, but i need both of my pcs fixed as their stuck in emergancy mode due to kernel being screwed, and i need the data on them.

Last edited by Derp_maste5 (2024-03-22 11:56:19)

Offline

#2 2024-03-21 02:56:54

mpan
Member
Registered: 2012-08-01
Posts: 1,222
Website

Re: Archiso will not load [SOLVED]

Hello, and welcome to Arch! :)

Message “verification requested but nobody cares” comes from GRUB, a part of GRUB’s verifiers framework, which provides file verification with multiple mechanisms.

Looking around, it seems people report issues, if SecureBoot is enabled. SecureBoot must be disabled in order for Live ISO to work. Check if this isn’t the case.


Sometimes I seem a bit harsh — don’t get offended too easily!

Offline

#3 2024-03-21 03:04:55

Derp_maste5
Member
Registered: 2024-03-21
Posts: 3

Re: Archiso will not load [SOLVED]

Secure boot is disabled, message doesnt appear with secure boot on. (My bios only has tpm on or off, not specifically secure boot)

Last edited by Derp_maste5 (2024-03-21 03:06:06)

Offline

#4 2024-03-21 06:37:39

mpan
Member
Registered: 2012-08-01
Posts: 1,222
Website

Re: Archiso will not load [SOLVED]

Unless the manufacturer used weird naming, TPM is not the same as Secure Boot. It would be unexpected to find the same naming issue on two different computers. And both have Arch already installed, as far as I understand, which suggests you disabled it in the past.

What laptop and — for PC — motherboard are those? The manufacturer and exact model. I’ll may not be able to help with configuring it, but perhaps somebody else will.


Sometimes I seem a bit harsh — don’t get offended too easily!

Offline

#5 2024-03-21 08:09:25

seth
Member
Registered: 2012-09-03
Posts: 52,589

Re: Archiso will not load [SOLVED]

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/USB_fl … sing_Rufus - or just use dd.

Balena Etcher has fallen out of grace and is't listed in the wiki anymore and afaiu should be used by nobody ever for no purpose. Ever.

Edit: though fwwi, it's still more likely secure boot

Last edited by seth (2024-03-21 08:15:44)

Offline

#6 2024-03-21 19:11:15

Derp_maste5
Member
Registered: 2024-03-21
Posts: 3

Re: Archiso will not load [SOLVED]

It was secure boot, just my bios is horrible and is really unintuitive, msi pro z790-p ddr4 wifi.

Offline

#7 2024-03-21 19:42:51

V1del
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2012-10-16
Posts: 21,965

Re: Archiso will not load [SOLVED]

MSI BIOS/UEFI bugs strike again. To preempt the next thread while I strongly hope they fixed this by now, if you want to opt for GRUB add the --removable flag to the install invocation to populate the fallback path because it's likely they won't retain custom entries.

In any case, please mark this thread as [SOLVED] by editing the title in your first post.

Offline

#8 2024-03-22 08:34:56

nl6720
The Evil Wiki Admin
Registered: 2016-07-02
Posts: 627

Re: Archiso will not load [SOLVED]

The fact that you even get any message from GRUB means that the Secure Boot implementation is broken. Launching the unsigned GRUB EFI binary should result in a security violation message from the UEFI instead.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB