You are not logged in.

#76 2006-07-28 20:41:04

drg006
Member
Registered: 2005-01-09
Posts: 19

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Satellite P30

Everything works great except the card reader (I haven't tried the modem or TV-out)

Offline

#77 2006-08-02 15:01:17

Blayder
Member
Registered: 2006-07-29
Posts: 43

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus A6R

And i'm only learning arch big_smile and lotš of things aren't working for me now, like wireless, cardreader, Fn keys, but everything is just great big_smile

Offline

#78 2006-08-03 23:15:55

kastor
Member
From: Mendoza - Argentina
Registered: 2006-06-18
Posts: 59
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP NX6125 Sempron 2800+

no problem here.

Offline

#79 2006-08-04 13:45:27

PavelZh
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2006-08-04
Posts: 31

Re: Laptops which run Arch

RoverBook Voyager B400L (Clevo M350)

Everything work, except suspend/hibernate and some Fn+ key combinations (e.g., Fn+Volume Up/Down). Battery state show properly. The system temperature is higher, than under Windows OS.

Offline

#80 2006-08-04 19:27:12

usr
Member
Registered: 2006-07-26
Posts: 20

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Cy23
Celeron 1GHz, 384MB RAM
S3 Prosavage DDR graphics and a  Linksys Wireless PCMCIA card.
Everything works perfectly but the wireless card needed ndiswrapper.  Hibernate doesn't work but I don't think that it worked on XP either.  Suspend is fine though.
Arch is the first distro I tried on it so I am quite pleased.


Do you ever get that "Oops" feeling?

Offline

#81 2006-09-07 05:25:18

ToastedToad
Member
From: Sequim, WA
Registered: 2006-03-08
Posts: 79

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Runs great on my Compaq v5000 so far. Have no wireless to test yet.

Offline

#82 2006-09-07 08:24:50

chrismortimore
Member
From: Edinburgh, UK
Registered: 2006-07-15
Posts: 655

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Inspiron 8600.  Everything works (including suspend to ram and suspend to disc) out of the box, with the exception of the modem.  The modem works fine with the slmodem driver.


Desktop: AMD Athlon64 3800+ Venice Core, 2GB PC3200, 2x160GB Maxtor DiamondMax 10, 2x320GB WD Caviar RE, Nvidia 6600GT 256MB
Laptop: Intel Pentium M, 512MB PC2700, 60GB IBM TravelStar, Nvidia 5200Go 64MB

Offline

#83 2006-12-17 13:46:16

timtux
Member
From: Gävle, Sweden
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 178
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire 1362WLC worked pretty good for me, until i dropped cola into it ;D


http://timtux.net/ - my personal blog about almost everything

Offline

#84 2006-12-17 13:57:56

Damnshock
Member
From: Barcelona
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 414

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba M30-801 is working perfectly here.

PD: the SD reader does not work because of Texas Instruments sad


My blog: blog.marcdeop.com
Jabber ID: damnshock@jabber.org

Offline

#85 2006-12-17 15:20:03

QuimaxW
Member
From: Waukesha, WI
Registered: 2006-12-03
Posts: 218

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Sony VGN-FS742/W

Intel 915G chipset, 1280x800, IPW2200, Fn keys still don't work and I havn't tried the MS reader.

Suse 10.1 worked flawlessly, 10.2 I'm stuck on the FN keys, but I'm still working on Arch.

Offline

#86 2006-12-17 15:46:09

jordi
Member
Registered: 2006-12-16
Posts: 103
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

IBM Thinkpad T43

Everything I need works, except hibernation (fglrx causes a freeze)

Offline

#87 2006-12-18 03:58:56

viniosity
Member
From: New York, NY
Registered: 2005-01-22
Posts: 378
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Works on the Thinkpad X41 too.

Offline

#88 2006-12-18 04:02:08

Snarkout
Member
Registered: 2005-11-13
Posts: 542

Re: Laptops which run Arch

jordi wrote:

IBM Thinkpad T43

Everything I need works, except hibernation (fglrx causes a freeze)

If you don't mind using the "radeon" driver hibernate/suspend work fairly well.  I had a strange problem where every now and then instead of hibernating my box would just sort of die and the screen became sort of a blurry, cloudy mass of floating colors.  Kind of trippy but equally irritating.  I imagine it was a module I was failing to remove.


Unthinking respect for authority is the greatest enemy of truth.
-Albert Einstein

Offline

#89 2006-12-29 21:12:49

krejzihors
Member
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 7

Re: Laptops which run Arch

IBM/Lenovo R60e

everything works (dri, wlan, bluetooth) great, only have a problem when returning from sleep the video doesn't come up. any thoughts on that? has someone got this working?


There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Offline

#90 2006-12-29 21:16:04

fk
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2006-04-29
Posts: 524

Re: Laptops which run Arch

krejzihors wrote:

IBM/Lenovo R60e

everything works (dri, wlan, bluetooth) great, only have a problem when returning from sleep the video doesn't come up. any thoughts on that? has someone got this working?

Try to add

acpi_sleep=s3_bios

as kernel option in lilo.conf/menu.lst

I have had the same problem with my X60s


Have you tried to turn it off and on again?

Offline

#91 2006-12-29 21:24:13

krejzihors
Member
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 7

Re: Laptops which run Arch

fk wrote:

Try to add

acpi_sleep=s3_bios

as kernel option in lilo.conf/menu.lst

I have had the same problem with my X60s

thnx for the quick tip, will try that and post the results.


There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Offline

#92 2006-12-29 21:38:58

krejzihors
Member
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 7

Re: Laptops which run Arch

fk thnx a bunch!
worked like a charm.
now i can say that my "baby" is now 100% loving Arch! (and i am too)  wink


There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.

Offline

#93 2006-12-29 22:43:09

Acid7711
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 300
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I just got this laptop for free the other day and got it up and running Arch no problem! I did however, run into problems with the .8 alpha release, but that's probably why it's alpha. I had to use my 0.7. Not a problem with a rolling release, just a tiny bit more downloading. No complaints here.

Averatec 3150p using a Linksys  WPC54G version 3 pcmcia card. Working perfect! smile

Offline

#94 2006-12-31 10:42:34

billy
Member
From: Slovenia
Registered: 2006-09-13
Posts: 164

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I have a Dell Inspiron 6400 and it's working great! Install went fine with no problems (except that it was long install because of dealing with new things like LVM and setting X and other stuff on my own, which I wasn't used to tongue ). I haven't run into any troble and everything is working ok, but it's true that I didn't tried all of the functions of my laptop (SD/MMC card reader, Firewire and VGA-output). The community here is great and it helped me to configure everything that I didn't know how to. ARCH FTW! big_smile
Even Archie works on my laptop while most of other live-cds don't (except for Knoppix).

There is just one thing I hate about my laptop, that I don't have a Nvidia graphics card 'cause it has so better linux support  sad .

Offline

#95 2007-01-03 16:57:52

mr.MikyMaus
Member
From: +3600 UT
Registered: 2006-03-31
Posts: 275

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus A3FC works fine:

-based on Intel IHC7 chipset, proc. T2050 (Core Duo, 1.6GHz)
-graphics i945GM works with acceleration, using Xorg's i810 driver
-915resolution to get 1400x1050
-Wi-Fi works with ipw3945
-1394 works out-of-the-box (DV and networking tested)
-Realtek 8139, works
-card reader (Ricoh R5C822) works with mmc_block module, tested with SD/MMC, not with MS.
-sound (ACL660) works with some limitations (no master volume, but generally works, will probably be improved)
-USB webcam Bison something does NOT work (yet?)
-all fn+[] buttons and all "bonus" buttons send acpi events, therefore they can be configured to whatever you want (I have volume keys configure to, surprisingly, volume control:-) ), all diodes, except of power, can be set externally. asus_acpi kernel module required for all acpi events, except LCD backlight.
-display output switching not tested
-frequency control works, probably (worked in SUSE 10.1). Not tested. Looks like either processor does some energy optimization itself or some frequency scaling works out of the box. I did not configure anything and can get more than 4 hours from battery on low usage, almost 4 hours at normal usage. Never got under 3 hours.

There might be some minor catches, so anybody let me know, if you need help wink

-miky


What happened to Arch's KISS? systemd sure is stupid but I must have missed the simple part ...

... and who is general Failure and why is he reading my harddisk?

Offline

#96 2007-01-03 18:47:30

Acid7711
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 300
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

billy wrote:

except that it was long install

I love the Arch install. Like 10 mins and I'm done with the base install.  An hour later and I'm done and ready.  That's an awesome install for me big_smile   Coming from Gentoo, an old short install would have been 2/3 days and a long being longer than that hah,

Offline

#97 2007-01-03 22:50:53

IDK
Member
From: San Francisco, CA
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 25

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba M35X-S161 I have everything working except the modem.  I haven't used one in years so I don't see the point when my wireless works with madwifi.  The next step is to get my Cingular 3G card up and running.


Linux box: Toshiba Pentium M 512RAM 80HD
Gaming: Sager AMD X2 2GRAM 120G RAID 7800GTX
Firewall: Old 700mhz running PFSense
PDA: Sharp Zaurus 5500 OPIE

Offline

#98 2007-02-28 05:56:24

syme
Member
Registered: 2007-02-27
Posts: 21

Re: Laptops which run Arch

inspiron e1505 or 6400 non-usa
core duo 1.6 works with SMP support by default
intel media accelerator 950 works fine with the i810 driver, max res 1280x800
dell wireless 1390 802.11b/g mini card works fine with ndiswrapper and windows driver from dell.com
the media keys on the front can be easily used under gnome and KDE, and even on other WMs with lineak(and some tweaks)
i AM having some trouble waking it up when i shut it, but i'm sure its just a configuration issue, not hardware
intel-HDA sound works fine default with alsa, not sure about esd or oss
synaptics touchpad also works out of the box

i have not tested the media card reader, the 1394 port, the expresscard slot or the modem(which is the only piece of hardware that i assume will not work at all)


Don't fight it, it's gonna happen.

Offline

#99 2007-02-28 06:12:22

Acid7711
Member
From: Chicago, IL
Registered: 2006-08-18
Posts: 300
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Some pos Acer. Thing performs like a champ even under gnome/kde.  I don't use it often, but yeah.  Honestly, I've yet to fail to get linux to load on any computer be it laptop or desktop that I've tried so far. I got it to load perfectly on my gf's HP too, and my old IBM thinkpad pos.

Maybe I have good luck with it or something cuzz it seems like some people go through hell. *shrugs*

Last edited by Acid7711 (2007-02-28 06:13:36)

Offline

#100 2007-02-28 07:38:00

[vEX]
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2006-11-23
Posts: 450

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Tecra 8100 (P3 600MHz, 128MB RAM (the other slot on the mobo died!), 12GB HDD).
Bought used and still workingish, battery lasts 5 minutes tops from a full charge so it's more of a stationary then a laptop. :-P


PC: Antec P182B | Asus P8Z77-V PRO | Intel i5 3570k | 16GB DDR3 | GeForce 450GTS | 4TB HDD | Pioneer BDR-207D | Asus Xonar DX | Altec Lansing CS21 | Eizo EV2736W-BK | Arch Linux x86_64
HTPC: Antec NSK2480 | ASUS M3A78-EM (AMD 780G) | AMD Athlon X3 425 | 8GB DDR2 | GeForce G210 | 2TB HDD | Arch Linux x86_64
Server: Raspberry Pi (model B) | 512MB RAM | 750GB HDD | Arch Linux ARM

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB