You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-16 23:31:30

freakyc
Member
Registered: 2004-03-28
Posts: 89

Incorrect Times For Packages

I updated pacman last night and then did a pacman -Syu and sat there watching it (yes, I was bored) and noticed on the larger packages that were going to take over 4 minutes, that the time seemed to be rolling back around to 00:00:00.  The time it took to download that is shown after it has finished downloading showed incorrectly if it was over 4 minutes too.

I did see a time where it did actually show the 4 at some points as the time changed.  But the majority of the time if it was going over 4 minutes, it was rolling back over to zero.  A particularly large package, I noticed that as the times changed, that even though it should've been showing 8 minutes, it was only getting up to 4 minutes and rolling back to zero every time.

Sorry if this is a known bug.  I couldn't find it in the forum or on BugTracker.  And if anymore info is needed (hardware specs, etc), let me know.

Offline

#2 2004-05-17 08:50:47

mctavish
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-03-22
Posts: 48

Re: Incorrect Times For Packages

That field always looks like a random number generator to me! I figured either a) it was the same for everyone and nobody ever bothered to mention it doesn't work right, or b) something to do with the fact I'm on dialup.

Offline

#3 2004-05-17 15:16:14

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: Incorrect Times For Packages

Yep, same thing happens to me using cable.
I fixed this by using wget (which shows the time ok) to download the files - check /etc/pacman.conf and uncomment a line around there... I don't remember exactly what's in it, except that it mentions wget.

Offline

#4 2004-05-17 18:17:16

yak8998
Member
Registered: 2004-03-01
Posts: 143

Re: Incorrect Times For Packages

thats really strange, one explanation could be excessively fluctuating download speeds. Mine jumps around a little like most downloads, nothing strange like that.

(For instance if your connection is very burst-prone, I could see it doing that easily and frequently)


"Ignorance is bliss, for stupid people."
"open-source is [...] programming Darwinism."
Vaughan-Nichols

Offline

#5 2004-05-17 20:30:51

kakabaratruskia
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2003-08-24
Posts: 596

Re: Incorrect Times For Packages

Mine is fine...


And where were all the sportsmen who always pulled you though?
They're all resting down in Cornwall
writing up their memoirs for a paper-back edition
of the Boy Scout Manual.

Offline

#6 2004-05-18 00:56:56

freakyc
Member
Registered: 2004-03-28
Posts: 89

Re: Incorrect Times For Packages

yak8998 wrote:

thats really strange, one explanation could be excessively fluctuating download speeds. Mine jumps around a little like most downloads, nothing strange like that.

(For instance if your connection is very burst-prone, I could see it doing that easily and frequently)

I know what you mean.  But that definetly isn't what it was doing.  I was watching the speeds, and the time value was certainly off for the speed it was going.  Not to mention, one of the finished values was like 8 seconds for a package that was just over twice the size of a package that took a bit over 2 minutes.  And the shown average speed was like 1KB/sec different between the two.

It's really not a big deal, although I imagine it would be nice to fix it  Especially since pacman is one of the main draws to Arch and is one of the first things a new user will try out.  Then again, they likely won't be watching the time and speed bouncing around like I was  tongue

Offline

#7 2004-05-18 08:03:15

mctavish
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2004-03-22
Posts: 48

Re: Incorrect Times For Packages

wget works, thankyou IceRAM.

Offline

#8 2004-05-18 12:11:12

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: Incorrect Times For Packages

mctavish wrote:

wget works, thankyou IceRAM.

Note: This is *not* a fix, it's a workaround.

I liked the previous behavior more. I wanted to make wget show only the progress bar (like pacman does by default), but I couldn't do it using params...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB