You are not logged in.

#1 2004-05-26 15:58:17

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Dialup tool

I'm tired of upgrading kde every time it comes out just so I can use kppp. Can anybody recommend a dialup access utility that works?

It just has to work, doesn't have to be fancy. I kept getting kicked off with wvdial, but maybe I should try to get that working...  I'll post my problems if nobody has a good suggestion for something that works. Any way I could export my kppp settings into another tool; kppp is the only thing that ever actually worked for me. :-/ (well... I did have wvdial working on LFS long time ago)

Dusty

Offline

#2 2004-05-26 16:03:46

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Offline

#3 2004-05-26 18:10:46

robot5x
Member
Registered: 2004-01-26
Posts: 266

Re: Dialup tool

I used to use wvdial when I was on dialup - I think it's great, and worth persevering with...
but that's just my opinion.

Offline

#4 2004-05-27 23:30:26

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

I've got wvdial up and running, it doesn't seem to have crashed yet... last time it would run for a few minutes and then break. I'll be posting again if it doesn't work... but now I can pacman -R kde. smile

Only, no more kdm or konsole... guess a console console login is fine... maybe try aterm for a terminal, or stick with xterm...

Dusty

Offline

#5 2004-05-27 23:36:45

galen
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2003-07-02
Posts: 135
Website

Re: Dialup tool

yawmppp is the best IMO
I've tried them all

PS usage yawmppp -thin


Off to using Peanut and Slackware, no hard feelings but I need my CD to burn, PDA and scanner to connect and arch won't do it.

[img]http://www.flightsimhq.org/images/war-is-bushit_s.jpg[/img]

Offline

#6 2004-05-28 03:53:34

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Ok, here's the issues:

wvdial connects just fine, but doesn't seem to hold the connection very well; it drops it at random and all too frustratingly frequently...  That happened occasionally with kppp, but not nearly so often.

I have no idea where to look for logs or anything about what is actually causing the problem. Suggestions?

Edit: This really messes up downloads! :-D

here's an error message:

--> Connect time 20.5 minutes.
--> Disconnecting at Thu May 27 22:0                                                 5:39 2004
--> The PPP daemon has died: A modem                                                  hung up the phone (exit code = 16)
--> man pppd explains pppd error cod                                                 es in more detail.
--> Try again and look into /var/log                                                 /messages and the wvdial and pppd ma                                                 n pages for more information.
--> Auto Reconnect will be attempted                                                  in 5 seconds
--> Initializing modem.


I am, of course in the process of checking /var/log/messages...

Edit 2: /var/log/messages is empty, but dmesg:
...
PPP Deflate Compression module registered
spurious 8259A interrupt: IRQ7.
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error
PPP: VJ decompression error

I am, of course, searching google for this error... smile

Edit 3:
I'm trying running with -vj uncommented in /etc/ppp/options... so far so good...  I'll be back cursing (starting a brand new message even) if there are further problems.

Dusty

Offline

#7 2004-05-28 15:06:28

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Last night I ended up having so much trouble with wvdial I couldn't get on. Today I've been on for 20 minutes and no problems yet. I think -vj is commented out again though... what the hell am I supposed to look up to figure out the cause of this issue? sad

Edit: After 20 minutes, it crashed, just as I had started a pacman -Sy. I restarted, and before pacman -Sy completed, it crashed again. Something about pacman or ftp might be causing the problems. It also happens on pacman -Su, sometimes, but not apparently as often.

This never happened with kppp, so the problem must be in my options somewhere, not with pacman, but I have no idea what kind of problem to look for or where. I'm not terribly familiar with the point to point protocol...

Dusty

Offline

#8 2004-05-28 15:18:11

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Offline

#9 2004-05-28 15:29:34

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Thanks for the link.

Also, I read in the man page for pppd that error code 16 means "The link was terminated by the modem hanging up."

That's what happens, is there a modem command I can send to cut down on that happening so often?

BTW, my wvdial.conf:


[Dialer Defaults]
Modem = /dev/ttyS4
Baud = 115200
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = ATM0
ISDN = 0
Modem Type = Analog Modem

I don't know what the Init2 commands do, wvdialconf configured that, perhaps the problem lies there? Wish I hadn't axed kde already, I could have seen what command kppp sends. *slaps self*

Thanks,

Dusty

Offline

#10 2004-05-28 15:31:44

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Dusty wrote:

Thanks for the link.

Also, I read in the man page for pppd that error code 16 means "The link was terminated by the modem hanging up."

That's what happens, is there a modem command I can send to cut down on that happening so often?

Thanks,

Dusty

ATMODEMDONTHANGUPYOUSCALAWAG?


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#11 2004-05-28 15:45:15

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Damn it Xentac, I was hoping that seeing a reply to this post coming from you I'd finally get some knowledgeable help! :-D

Dusty

Offline

#12 2004-05-28 16:33:21

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Now I feel obligated to help tongue

Google tells me this:

http://www.techsupportforum.com/compute … 150-1.html

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions … 0/2/100525 <--- a thread talking about pap secrets

Nothing that really looks promising...

How about enabling debug in /etc/ppp/options and then posting the log output?


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

#13 2004-05-28 16:48:07

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

debug is enabled, but the oldest entries in /var/log/debug are from January. :-$

Also, why is /var/log/messages empty anyway?

Hmmm... seems perhaps syslog isn't running. Would I just add syslog to my list of daemons in rc.conf?

I meant to make you feel obligated to help... hehehehe

Dusty

Offline

#14 2004-05-28 17:03:35

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Dialup tool

I have posted on linuxquestions for you .... don't laugh someone might be able to help....

emmm get ADSL .... you know it makes sense  smile


Mr Green

Offline

#15 2004-05-28 17:15:39

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

ADSL, satellite, cable, wireless, etc, nothing available here.

Got syslog running, here's some stuff from /var/log/messages:

May 28 09:53:52 localhost pppd[1051]: pppd 2.4.2 started by dusty, uid 1000 
May 28 09:53:52 localhost pppd[1051]: Using interface ppp0 
May 28 09:58:39 localhost pppd[1051]: Connection terminated. <30>May 28 09:58:39 pppd[1051]: Connect time 4.8 minutes.
May 28 09:58:39 localhost pppd[1051]: Sent 19164 bytes, received 133555 bytes. 
May 28 10:37:11 localhost pppd[7439]: pppd 2.4.2 started by dusty, uid 1000 
May 28 10:37:11 localhost pppd[7439]: Using interface ppp0 
May 28 11:07:16 localhost pppd[7607]: pppd 2.4.2 started by dusty, uid 1000
May 28 11:07:16 localhost pppd[7607]: Using interface ppp0
May 28 11:07:16 localhost pppd[7607]: Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/tts/4
May 28 11:07:19 localhost pppd[7607]: Deflate (15) compression enabled
May 28 11:07:19 localhost pppd[7607]: local  IP address 142.165.111.194
May 28 11:07:19 localhost pppd[7607]: remote IP address 142.165.70.236
May 28 11:07:19 localhost pppd[7607]: primary   DNS address 142.165.21.5
May 28 11:07:19 localhost pppd[7607]: secondary DNS address 142.165.200.5
May 28 11:08:29 localhost pppd[7607]: Modem hangup
May 28 11:08:29 localhost pppd[7607]: Connection terminated.

Not very helpful... the modem is hanging up... wonder why.

and here's ppp from /var/log/debug:

May 28 11:09:04 localhost pppd[7618]: pppd 2.4.2 started by dusty, uid 1000
May 28 11:09:04 localhost pppd[7618]: using channel 15
May 28 11:09:04 localhost pppd[7618]: Using interface ppp0
May 28 11:09:04 localhost pppd[7618]: Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/tts/4
May 28 11:09:04 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x1 <asyncmap 0x0> <magic 0xcbffb871>]
May 28 11:09:04 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [LCP ConfNak id=0x1 <asyncmap 0xffffffff>]
May 28 11:09:04 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [LCP ConfReq id=0x2 <magic 0xcbffb871>]
May 28 11:09:04 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [LCP ConfAck id=0x2 <magic 0xcbffb871>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [LCP ConfReq id=0x2 <mru 1500> <asyncmap 0xffffffff> <magic 0xe2f48fc0> <pcomp> <accomp> <mrru 1500> <endpoint [null]>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [LCP ConfRej id=0x2 <pcomp> <accomp> <mrru 1500>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [LCP ConfReq id=0x3 <mru 1500> <asyncmap 0xffffffff> <magic 0xe2f48fc0>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [LCP ConfAck id=0x3 <mru 1500> <asyncmap 0xffffffff> <magic 0xe2f48fc0>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [LCP EchoReq id=0x0 magic=0xcbffb871]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [CCP ConfReq id=0x1 <deflate 15> <deflate(old#) 15> <bsd v1 15>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x1 <addr 0.0.0.0> <ms-dns1 0.0.0.0> <ms-dns3 0.0.0.0>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [IPCP ConfReq id=0x4 <compress VJ 0f 01> <addr 142.165.70.236>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [IPCP ConfRej id=0x4 <compress VJ 0f 01>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [LCP EchoRep id=0x0 magic=0xe2f48fc0]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [CCP ConfAck id=0x1 <deflate 15>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [CCP ConfReq id=0x5 <deflate 15>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [CCP ConfAck id=0x5 <deflate 15>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: Deflate (15) compression enabled
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [IPCP ConfNak id=0x1 <addr 142.165.111.100> <ms-dns1 142.165.21.5> <ms-dns3 142.165.200.5>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [IPCP ConfReq id=0x2 <addr 142.165.111.100> <ms-dns1 142.165.21.5> <ms-dns3 142.165.200.5>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [IPCP ConfReq id=0x6 <addr 142.165.70.236>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: sent [IPCP ConfAck id=0x6 <addr 142.165.70.236>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: rcvd [IPCP ConfAck id=0x2 <addr 142.165.111.100> <ms-dns1 142.165.21.5> <ms-dns3 142.165.200.5>]
May 28 11:09:07 localhost pppd[7618]: Cannot determine ethernet address for proxy ARP

Which mostly means absolutely nothing to me, but that last ethernet address for proxy ARP line really has me mystified, it seems to be causing the problem too.

More info:
I can easily force the line to disconnect by running pacman -Sy. Before its 100% on current it crashes (made it to extra once...) I don't know if that's because there's a lot of data on the line, so it just makes the error happen more often, or if its sending a particular packet that is breaking...

pacman -Su also causes problems, but not as frequently. gonna be hard to keep my system up to date if I can't Sy!

Dusty

Offline

#16 2004-05-28 17:16:47

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,750

Re: Dialup tool

emm too much info overload... will get back to you  8)


Mr Green

Offline

#17 2004-05-28 17:22:41

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Dialup tool

I never liked wvdial.
I dialup this way:

less /etc/ppp/options

lock
modem
debug
/dev/ttyS0
115200
defaultroute
noipdefault
user UR_USER_NAME_HERE
connect 'chat -t60 "" ATZ OK ATX3 OK ATDTxxxxxxx CONNECT'

my ISP uses PAP (of course if you have CHAP then chap-secrets)
so
less /etc/ppp/pap-secrets

# Secrets for authentication using PAP
# client        server  secret                  IP addresses
"USERNAME"        *       "PASSWORD"

don't remove the " "


now you're ready to connect. of course you can change what you pass in ATZ ATX3 etc.. when you're ready do:
pppd /dev/ttyS0 or pppd /dev/modem if modem points correclty ;P
now you're in. don't forget to disconnect when you want. just do
killall -9 pppd

this rocks. even if X crashes you're still connected
Hope this helps,
zeppelin

ps. yawmppp is good galen would you want to make a pkg for AL?
ps2. if you're a GTK2 lover, then you may want to know that gppp is back. Because I'm in the same position as you are (having KDE only for KPPP) {of course I added IgnorePkg = kde*}, but still I want to get rid of KDE, I contacted the guy that does gppp [http://www.rcub.bg.ac.yu/~bruce/gppp/]. I really like the volume accounting that kppp does and spits out the money I'm gonna pay. GPPP won't have this, the source in the site doesn't compile, I have the correct source, this guy won't work on gppp under the exams are over. Maybe then we can get it to work with kppp account system (read the accounting rules at least)

Offline

#18 2004-05-28 18:17:04

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

zeppelin wrote:

I never liked wvdial.
I dialup this way:

Tried your method and I'm almost through a pacman -Sy for the first time in two days... so the prob was maybe with wvdial, or maybe its just cause I copied your ppp options file...

Seems to be working, thanks. One question though, how do you know when ppp is connected? pppd exits immediately...

ps. yawmppp is good galen would you want to make a pkg for AL?

If there is a package, I'd try it... I might try it anyway. :-D

ps2. if you're a GTK2 lover, then you may want to know that gppp is back....

I don't use the volume accounting, all I want is a dialer. I have GTK installed, so a GTK dialer would be good. A script is good too though.

Actually, With the info you gave, I'm almost perfect, just if I can know when its connected (ie: I have the annoying sound turned off with ATM0, so never know when connected)

Dusty

Offline

#19 2004-05-28 18:52:14

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Have a look here:
http://www.google.com/search?q=pppd+Can … art=0&sa=N

I tried to scan the entries but I couldn't find anything which sounded like a solution for you.
Good luck.

IceRAM

P.S. somebody fixed the problem by "fixed it by changing the ip address to the same subnet".

Offline

#20 2004-05-28 20:38:03

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Dusty wrote:

Tried your method and I'm almost through a pacman -Sy for the first time in two days... so the prob was maybe with wvdial, or maybe its just cause I copied your ppp options file...

wvdial is not the best you can find outthere. wvdial doesn't connect my isdn "modem" for example.

so it works for you ok?
I didn't understand quite well what your problem is. You turned off the sound of your modem, and you don't know if and when you're online?
I have a modem-lights in Gnome to see the traffic [cause sometimes I forget to discconnect]
but I believe it's also easy to do ps -A | grep pppd
and sometimes even better to do sth like this:

tail -f /var/log/messages {that tail -f thing is back from the good days of SlackWare tongue}
Have fun

EDIT: I know seem to have understand what you mean. pppd doesn't exit [even with kppp it doesn't!]. pppd just stops giving output to stdout. Well you can wait for some seconds before 'ping www.archlinux.org' tongue to see if you're online. then if you want to disconnect 'killall -9 pppd' and then wait for 5 secs or sth like it, ping www.archlinux.org again. it would be unreachable.
it seems that you have an internal modem. but you don't need KDE* anymore.

Offline

#21 2004-05-28 21:17:33

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

basically, yeah, I call the pppd /dev/ttyS4, then I wait for an undetermined amount of time and run some command (ping is good) to see if its connected. Maybe I could write a script that did it for me...

Dusty

Offline

#22 2004-05-29 00:00:30

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Dialup tool

well back in my 56k days I had to wait for a normal handshake about 15-20 seconds. if you don't get connected pppd will say it to you. so "sit back and relax, because Windows just got better" [this message is shown everytime I used to format and re-install windows because eg: "modem didn't work properly" tongue]
OMG! such stuff happen when I haven't seen a BlueScreenOfDeath for about 4 months..

well I never said I know bash scripting but:

#!/bin/bash
pppd /dev/ttyS4
sleep 15
ping www.google.com
sleep 5
killall -9 ping

WARNING: didn't try it tongue

Offline

#23 2004-05-29 00:34:24

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Dialup tool

Yeah, I'll probably get a feel for how long it takes. I set it up with an alias to sudo... I'm really happy now, no more kde... missed kdm for a while, but that white on black login screen (console) suits my personality to a T.

Thanks so very much, I've wanted to be able to call pppd directly for a long time, but never bothered to look up how to do it...

Dusty

Offline

#24 2004-05-29 09:45:48

zeppelin
Member
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2004-03-05
Posts: 807
Website

Re: Dialup tool

there is also gdm
have fun w/out KDE

Offline

#25 2004-05-30 04:49:33

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB