You are not logged in.

#1 2004-06-03 00:48:59

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

realtek rtl 8029(as), cant find modul, maybe 8139too , too?

Hi (sorry for my incorrectly english)
after long time using suse linux 7.3 pro i decided to use arch linux :-)
but i wasn able to config everything for lan...
i finally managed to install arch 0.6 with kernell 2.6.x from iso
i never configured something without wizard :-) so i rather ask befor i do something

i have to put the line:
alias eth0 8139too
somewhere in the /etc/modprobe.conf

and add "8139too" into MODULES() in /etc/rc.conf

and then run smething with modprobe 8139too in bash???

if 8139too is right for my realtek rtl 8029(as)

greetings matto


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

#2 2004-06-03 02:39:39

mdirolf
Member
From: Princeton, NJ
Registered: 2004-05-21
Posts: 69

Re: realtek rtl 8029(as), cant find modul, maybe 8139too , too?

first search google to find out which module you need to load for your card.  Or if you can install hwd from the boot cd then use that to find which module (im not sure if its 8139too or not)  Then your right from then on except you never need to run modprobe 8139too from bash, this is done on startup if you edit your config files.  Following these steps is how i got my network adapter set up a couple weeks ago.  And the english is pretty good!

Offline

#3 2004-06-03 04:07:12

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,176
Website

Re: realtek rtl 8029(as), cant find modul, maybe 8139too , too?

The module for RealTek RTL-8029 is "ne2k-pci".

Offline

#4 2004-06-03 06:39:47

dpb
Member
From: Cyperspace?
Registered: 2004-04-11
Posts: 231

Re: realtek rtl 8029(as), cant find modul, maybe 8139too , too?

Add "ne2k-pci" into rc.conf. Don't put it in modprobe.conf. It doesn't need both. After that it should work after a reboot.

Offline

#5 2004-06-03 09:25:15

matto
Member
From: Münster/germany
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 88
Website

Re: realtek rtl 8029(as), cant find modul, maybe 8139too , too?

thank you very much! i will try this right now :-)
####
it works!! thank you!!


// DAMNiAM //

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB