You are not logged in.

#51 2008-01-13 03:49:57

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Offline

#52 2008-01-13 19:45:32

quad3d@work
Member
From: Austin, TX
Registered: 2006-12-29
Posts: 81
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

crouse wrote:

quad3d@work just blew by me....... lol....... I need about 10 PS3's or something smile

I added couple blade servers with 4 core Xeons.. smile

Offline

#53 2008-01-17 04:21:46

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Team Arch just moved up another spot !!!!
Now 241 of 98174

Offline

#54 2008-01-19 04:47:32

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

237 of 98594

Offline

#55 2008-01-19 05:17:34

underpenguin
Member
Registered: 2007-02-01
Posts: 116

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I'll add a few cpus shortly

Offline

#56 2008-01-19 05:31:25

Sigi
Member
From: Thurgau, Switzerland
Registered: 2005-09-22
Posts: 1,121

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Nice!

edit: Only 7 more overtakes till Microsoft lol

Last edited by Sigi (2008-01-19 05:33:59)


Dammit, haven't been here in a while. Still rocking Arch. smile

Offline

#57 2008-01-19 17:09:43

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

underpenguin wrote:

I'll add a few cpus shortly

Then we'll have an uberPenguin and an underpenquin folding for Arch.

Sigi wrote:

Nice!

edit: Only 7 more overtakes till Microsoft lol

Never thought I'd see the day when Arch Linux would overtake Microsoft!  lol

Pudge

Offline

#58 2008-01-19 20:06:03

underpenguin
Member
Registered: 2007-02-01
Posts: 116

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Pudge wrote:
underpenguin wrote:

I'll add a few cpus shortly

Then we'll have an uberPenguin and an underpenquin folding for Arch.

And a Cypenguin and even purplepenguins.


It really is pretty amazing how quickly we are gaining on the other teams. Perty exciting.

In fact, it looks like at this rate we could hit 100.

Last edited by underpenguin (2008-01-19 20:11:30)

Offline

#59 2008-01-19 21:12:16

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I'm reinstalling several computers here soon, I'll consider putting arch on them with the software asked for. I don't think they'll get us to top 100 on their own, but they'll do their best ^^


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#60 2008-01-19 21:24:37

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

X/ax wrote:

I'm reinstalling several computers here soon, I'll consider putting arch on them with the software asked for. I don't think they'll get us to top 100 on their own, but they'll do their best ^^

Every little bit helps wink

Offline

#61 2008-01-20 03:47:53

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

X/ax wrote:

I'm reinstalling several computers here soon, I'll consider putting arch on them with the software asked for. I don't think they'll get us to top 100 on their own, but they'll do their best ^^

You don't have to be running Arch Linux to fold for the Arch Linux Team.  I have two Windows XP boxes that are folding for Team Arch Linux.  You can fold for any team you want, or fold for no team at all.  If you don't put in a team number, your results go to a team named Default.  One user for Default named PS3 has over 464 Million points.

Several people can fold under the same user name.  If we wanted to, me, Crouse, quad3d@work, and Finkregh could all fold for Arch Linux (team 45032) under the name Arch_Users and all our points would be combined under that one user name and team number.  Which explains how user PS3 on team Default has 464 Million points.  I'm sure a LOT of people are folding using that name and team number.  Who knows, maybe when you install the PS3 folding client, it may use the defaults of PS3 as a user name and team number 0 (Default) for a team number.  If you look at the Donor Statistics you will see that the number one donor is PS3 and the number two donor is anonymous, both of which fold for team Default (team 0).  That's why it is important when you start folding to see if your chosen user name is already in use or not.

If you look at user Pudge's points, you will see that Pudge has points from 5 different teams.  I originally folded for Team Sudhian.  Then I got fed up with the Sudhian forums and started folding for Arch Linux instead.  While I was still folding for Sudhian, someone other than me at Procooling started folding with the name Pudge.  Somehow they found out that I was already using the name Pudge roll and they switched to another user name.  Plus two other people who somehow really screwed up are listed.  So points are sorted by both user name and team numbers.  So when you go to here you are only looking at Pudge's points that were accumulated for team Arch Linux. 

Sorry for the long post.  Most of you probably already know this, but hopefully someone will find it useful or at least interesting.

Pudge

Offline

#62 2008-01-20 08:55:19

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Ah, I will run arch anyway. Maybe I'll even consider running openmosix locally. I wanted that a while ago. I've got 3 idle pc's, of which are 2 properly suited for this job (the other one is lacking hard drives, due to some friends having them for the moment). I'll try and cluster them locally, I was always interested in that.


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#63 2008-01-20 16:27:27

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

X/ax wrote:

Ah, I will run arch anyway. Maybe I'll even consider running openmosix locally. I wanted that a while ago. I've got 3 idle pc's, of which are 2 properly suited for this job (the other one is lacking hard drives, due to some friends having them for the moment). I'll try and cluster them locally, I was always interested in that.

That will be an interesting project.  Keep us informed if you do this.

Pudge

Offline

#64 2008-01-21 00:39:48

Pick2
Member
From: Illinois
Registered: 2006-05-16
Posts: 55

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

@  X/ax:
here is a link to some diskless folding farm links:
http://reilly.homeip.net/folding/
HTH


Just Folded Space From Arrakis

Offline

#65 2008-01-21 01:00:26

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Now that's interesting, all I need is a cd and the core elements. I'm definatelly going to be able to use a third computer than. (If I ever get my lazy butt to install those. >.>)

//edit
Butt is with two t's... ^^

Last edited by X/ax (2008-01-21 15:15:48)


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#66 2008-01-21 03:12:50

Pudge
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2006-01-23
Posts: 298

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Here  is another link to building a diskless folding farm.  It would be interesting to see someone come up with a version of Arch just for this purpose.  One might also check out FaunOS for a USB stick solution for a folding setup.  Here is a picture of one of my OLD folding computers.  It has everything necessary for folding.  I just temporarily hook up a DVD drive to load Arch, then you don't need the optical drive anymore.  Notice the toggle switch on the left that replaces the power button on the case.  Micro ATX boards with integrated graphics are cheap and work really well for a dedicated folding machine.

Xterra.jpg

With FaunOS you could eliminate the hard drive in the fancy hard drive cage roll with a USB memory stick on the back of the Mother Board.  I then put four of these on some shelves in the Utility room and use a 4 port PS2 KVM switch so I only need one monitor, one keyboard, and one mouse.  The stripped down computer on a board, and the KVM cut down on equipment costs and provides decent cooling.  EMF hasn't been a problem for me.  It doesn't affect the TVs, or Stereo, or other computers.

foldingfarm.JPG

To cut down of costs, most of the PSUs and Hard Drives seen here were bought used from a Surplus Computer store.   Of course, once everything is set up, you can eliminate the monitor, keyboard, and mouse and administer all dedicated folders using SSH from your main computer.

Just some ideas.

Pudge

Last edited by Pudge (2008-01-21 03:20:55)

Offline

#67 2008-01-21 15:13:29

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Ok, I decided to raise my lazy but, and started installing arch on one of my elder computers. It's specs are not super, but more will come if experience with this was good.
At later stage, I even intend to start messing about with the openmosix kernel.
I'll keep you guys updated to this install.

//edit
Base install is (long) finished.
ssh deamon is installed too. (To ensure some safety, no external access is allowed thanks to my router, and my box only accepts login attempts from the local network)
I'm going to start installing F@H

//edit2
Seems that everything is ok.
Setup currently includes the ssh as previous, the F@H binaries, and apache2 (Directly forwarded to /opt/fah, so that I didn't need to start messing with symlinks).
The server is named "ori", because I'm this huge stargate fan... >.>
Anyhow, ori is only reachable locally, but here's my personal stats page: http://vspx27.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/main … mnum=45032
I think I'm in the running ^^

//edit3
The server is running for quite some time now. However, the website doesn't seem to realize it, can I have done something wrong?? Or does it take so long before they realize it?
Also, in my local thats, the progress continues to be 0%. I don't really know if I did something wrong.
Some explanation here please (thanks)

Last edited by X/ax (2008-01-21 18:08:51)


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#68 2008-01-21 18:16:52

byte
Member
From: Düsseldorf (DE)
Registered: 2006-05-01
Posts: 2,045

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

You need to finish at least one work unit before seeing any stats.


1000

Offline

#69 2008-01-21 18:27:35

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Current Work Unit
-----------------
Name: p3624_Seq27_Amber03_Extended
Download time: January 21 16:27:38
Due time: April 26 16:27:38
Progress: 0%  [__________]

It's been like that for about 3 hours...


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#70 2008-01-21 18:51:30

big_gie
Member
Registered: 2005-01-19
Posts: 637

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

It takes me about a day to complete 1 work unit (or stats being updated) on a quad core...

Offline

#71 2008-01-21 19:02:55

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

big_gie wrote:

It takes me about a day to complete 1 work unit (or stats being updated) on a quad core...

In that case, I rest my case... It's a p3 computer ^^
Anyhow, just to make sure. Is there any command to see the current cpu usage?? That way I will be able to see if it is working after all.

//edit
Nvm, I found what I was looking for. And the percentage just went one up ^^
I've done 1% in about 4 hours... Which is quite long for just 1%, but I don't really care, this is testing.
I'm going to do some "research" in installing openmosix soon. Maybe I can announce a new box tomorrow ^^

Last edited by X/ax (2008-01-21 19:12:44)


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#72 2008-01-21 19:41:16

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 903
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

current cpu usage.......

open a term window and type top

you will see your F@H client/s at the very top of the page if there running.......

[13:38:11 crouse]$ top
top - 13:40:55 up 3 days,  2:34,  1 user,  load average: 3.08, 3.19, 3.19
Tasks: 118 total,   5 running, 113 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s):  0.8%us,  0.2%sy, 98.7%ni,  0.0%id,  0.0%wa,  0.2%hi,  0.2%si,  0.0%st
Mem:    515540k total,   508528k used,     7012k free,    11264k buffers
Swap:   262576k total,    11400k used,   251176k free,   189440k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND
 7020 crouse    39  19 26936  16m 1348 R   99  3.3   4340:02 FahCore_81.exe
 9291 crouse    39  19 26952  16m 1324 R   95  3.2   3311:40 FahCore_81.exe
15257 crouse    20   0  206m  99m  20m S    2 19.8  20:16.87 firefox-bin
 6446 root      20   0  109m  39m 5168 S    2  7.8  20:39.25 X
18222 crouse    20   0  5172 1404 1128 S    1  0.3   0:01.36 wget
 6520 root      20   0  3248 1196 1064 S    0  0.2   0:00.53 hald-addon-inpu
 7004 crouse    20   0 35032 1088  808 S    0  0.2   0:29.74 FAH504-Linux.ex
15187 crouse    20   0 38652  15m  10m S    0  3.1   0:35.10 kicker
15811 crouse    20   0  219m  31m 9068 S    0  6.3   0:29.96 java
15932 crouse    20   0 38712  15m  10m R    0  3.2   0:10.58 konsole
18227 crouse    20   0  2088 1040  792 R    0  0.2   0:00.03 top
    1 root      20   0  1612  544  476 S    0  0.1   0:04.46 init
    2 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kthreadd

Offline

#73 2008-01-21 22:11:23

dyscoria
Member
Registered: 2008-01-10
Posts: 1,007

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

OK people, joining in the folding fun soon and further both world science and Arch Linux in one fell swoop. Only one CPU to add into the mix though...

Just a question: If I leave my desktop on the whole time (through the night, nonstop for an indefinate time) doing all this intense CPU work, isn't it bad for the hardware in some way?

Last edited by Jamie (2008-01-21 22:12:00)


flack 2.0.6: menu-driven BASH script to easily tag FLAC files (AUR)
knock-once 1.2: BASH script to easily create/send one-time sequences for knockd (forum/AUR)

Offline

#74 2008-01-21 22:58:48

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

This is my laptop (core 2 duo) bumping in:

top - 23:56:11 up  2:29,  0 users,  load average: 1.25, 0.46, 0.21
Tasks:  94 total,   6 running,  88 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
Cpu(s):  4.0%us,  0.8%sy, 50.0%ni, 45.0%id,  0.0%wa,  0.0%hi,  0.2%si,  0.0%st
Mem:   2074064k total,   907448k used,  1166616k free,    34604k buffers
Swap:   530136k total,        0k used,   530136k free,   437464k cached

  PID USER      PR  NI  VIRT  RES  SHR S %CPU %MEM    TIME+  COMMAND                                                          
 9145 root      39  19 23472  14m 1172 R  100  0.7   1:07.70 FahCore_81.exe                                                   
 7481 root      20   0  890m  66m 4976 R    6  3.3   9:21.89 X                                                                
 7587 cpf       20   0  202m  93m  22m R    3  4.6   6:25.53 firefox-bin                                                      
 7694 cpf       20   0 34920  13m 8640 R    2  0.7   0:01.35 Terminal                                                         
 7521 cpf       20   0 31164  10m 6824 S    1  0.5   2:39.98 xfwm4                                                            
 7546 cpf       20   0 67032  17m 5572 R    1  0.9   2:03.77 xmms                                                             
 7525 cpf       20   0 32636  10m 7788 S    0  0.5   0:31.22 xfce4-panel                                                      
 7707 cpf       20   0  584m 126m  15m S    0  6.2   0:53.25 java                                                             
    1 root      20   0  1612  544  476 S    0  0.0   0:01.01 init                                                             
    2 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kthreadd                                                         
    3 root      RT  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 migration/0                                                      
    4 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.67 ksoftirqd/0                                                      
    5 root      RT  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 watchdog/0                                                       
    6 root      RT  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 migration/1                                                      
    7 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.35 ksoftirqd/1                                                      
    8 root      RT  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 watchdog/1                                                       
    9 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.10 events/0                                                         
   10 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.10 events/1                                                         
   11 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 khelper                                                          
   47 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kblockd/0                                                        
   48 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kblockd/1                                                        
   51 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.03 kacpid                                                           
   52 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kacpi_notify                                                     
  222 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kseriod                                                          
  260 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 pdflush                                                          
  261 root      20   0     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.11 pdflush                                                          
  262 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 kswapd0                                                          
  315 root      15  -5     0    0    0 S    0  0.0   0:00.00 aio/0

And I barely know it's running... Long live dual cores!! ^^


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#75 2008-01-22 01:45:36

sjb933
Member
Registered: 2007-01-18
Posts: 113

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Jamie wrote:

OK people, joining in the folding fun soon and further both world science and Arch Linux in one fell swoop. Only one CPU to add into the mix though...

Just a question: If I leave my desktop on the whole time (through the night, nonstop for an indefinate time) doing all this intense CPU work, isn't it bad for the hardware in some way?

As long as things are keeping cool, which is usually the case unless your overclocking, then no -- it's fine.  Might hurt your power bill a bit though wink

Shane

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB