You are not logged in.

#1 2004-07-13 06:00:44

GGO
Member
From: Kona, Hawaii
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 48
Website

Syntax error with pacman.conf

alright, I am having problems configuring pacman to work with a squid proxy server on my machine. i used export http_proxy="http://gwennevre:3128" and export ftp_proxy="http://gwennevre:3128" but i couldn't get it to work. so i do some research, and i decide that i need to upgrade my version of pacman. i download the source for pacman 2.8 and compile it. i then run it, but get errors. i do some more searching and i come up with uncommenting the xfercommand line, but now when i run pacman, i get a syntax error pointing to the xfercommand line. anyone have any suggestions. i would like to get this working, but if i cant i can get to a routed connection in about 2 weeks. id rather not wait that long. i like arch otherwise, but i think i jumped into it too fast and i refuse to go back to windows.

Offline

#2 2004-07-13 09:21:00

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,746

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

Can you post error form pacman ???

Did you check server settings in pacman.conf ??

HTH

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#3 2004-07-13 09:39:21

GGO
Member
From: Kona, Hawaii
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

it says syntax: error: line 26

and the error goes away when i comment XferCommand again, but i get other errors stemming from not being able to reach the ftp servers due to not having the xfercommand parameters. . .

Offline

#4 2004-07-13 09:50:44

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,746

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

XferCommand = /usr/bin/wget --passive-ftp -c -nv -O %o %u

I assume you have wget installed ???

HTH

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#5 2004-07-13 10:12:58

GGO
Member
From: Kona, Hawaii
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

yes, i have wget installed, and i can grab pages with it.

Offline

#6 2004-07-13 10:14:44

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,746

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

All I can say is you have set up new server settings in pacman.conf?

ie /os/i686/current ???

HTH

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

#7 2004-07-13 10:26:31

GGO
Member
From: Kona, Hawaii
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

im not sure what you mean. is there any documentation that i can find on the net for pacman? it would be much appreciated. im thinking that the reason that the xfercommand line in pacman isnt working because i dled it and compiled it. arch seems to have something against this wink

Offline

#8 2004-07-13 10:30:54

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,746

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf


Mr Green

Offline

#9 2004-07-13 12:21:59

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

I would suggest you to download the package and manually install it.
Basically package are tar.gz  of the install tree, so just decompress it in a dir and manualy copy the file in their location.
I suspet that the error is due to a non updated pacman.
If you do
pacman -V
which version give you?

Offline

#10 2004-07-13 15:12:38

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

well i know nothing about proxies but perhaps the options passed for the transfer line do not work with a/your proxy? have you looked into that at all pacman may just be passing you errors that are related to your tranfer options.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#11 2004-07-14 09:17:46

GGO
Member
From: Kona, Hawaii
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 48
Website

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

Ok, I spoke too soon about no,t beine to get to a routed connection. I'm over at a frinds house and I just updated everythng. Feels good, i've been struggling with this for awhile. I still can't get X to work though, it's starting to make me mad. I'll make a new topic, or bump my old one.

Offline

#12 2004-07-14 09:23:34

Mr Green
Forum Fellow
From: U.K.
Registered: 2003-12-21
Posts: 5,746

Re: Syntax error with pacman.conf

well X.... if you are talking about Xfree config they try

pacman -S hwd

that will create a basic one for you...

you should then hopefully be able to startx

then you can load up Desktop

HTH

Mr Green


Mr Green

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB