You are not logged in.

#1 2007-10-30 18:47:39

Eviltelm
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 23

[SOLVED] read only file system :(

Hi smile
I have installed arch with the core iso...
I didn't install grub because i already had it from ubuntu, so I manually added arch's entry to menu.lst in ubuntu...
The thing is, arch starts ok, but it is loaded in read only, and as so I can't do a thing in it tongue
Can anybody help? wink
Thanks

title  Arch Linux - Don't Panic
root   (hd0,3)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda4 ro
initrd /boot/kernel26.img

Last edited by Eviltelm (2007-11-02 14:08:43)

Offline

#2 2007-10-30 19:11:36

peart
Member
From: Kanuckistan
Registered: 2003-07-28
Posts: 510

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

I once got a read-only install, but not because of grub.  The "ro" in your grub looks fine to me.  The mistake I made was actually in /etc/fstab.  I accidentally put the word default instead of defaults, and that little typo made my root partition read-only.

Offline

#3 2007-10-30 19:16:14

Eviltelm
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

my fstab is clean i think, i still haven't configured it but still will check it just to make shure smile
thanks

Offline

#4 2007-10-30 19:56:43

lilsirecho
Veteran
Registered: 2003-10-24
Posts: 5,000

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

The install of archlinux is always ro.  After the install is complete, it is made rw.


Sign of the times: Navajo blanket..made in China
Hard work does not kill people but why risk it: Charlie Mccarthy
A man is not complete until he is married..then..he is finished.
When ALL is lost, what can be found? Even bytes get lonely for a little bit!     X-ray confirms Iam spineless!

Offline

#5 2007-11-01 01:25:16

Eviltelm
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

*bump*

Offline

#6 2007-11-01 14:48:39

Eviltelm
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

Hi, it's fixed smile
i thought fstab was clean, and it was really clean lol, no '/' mounted there, so / was in read only, it's ok now. smile
now another question tongue
in fstab there is no swap to mount, should i add it like i have it in ubuntu or is it done automatically?
thanks

Offline

#7 2007-11-01 17:08:25

ganja_guru
Member
Registered: 2005-02-14
Posts: 464

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

The swap and / entries should have been there by default, and I'm not sure why its missing in your installation.

/dev/sdXY swap swap defaults 0 0

is what you should be adding for swap.

Offline

#8 2007-11-01 17:27:44

Eviltelm
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

Thanks, i already used the line in my ubuntu's fstab smile
I can't use network sad
the modprobe ipw3945 and then
ipw3945d

ERROR: Could not find Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection

if I add the module ipw3945 to module and ipw3945d to daemon in rc.conf it will just hang for a few seconds at start and gives that same error!
if i use the wlan0 like this:
wlan0="dhcp"
wlan_wlan0="wlan0 essid "TiagoNet" key 4625E92CE3"
WLAN_INTERFACE=(wlan0)
INTERFACES=(lo eth0 wlan0)

it will say wlan0, timeout after a few seconds too, nad dhcpd wlan0 does the same....
Thanks

Offline

#9 2007-11-01 17:37:24

peart
Member
From: Kanuckistan
Registered: 2003-07-28
Posts: 510

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

Hello,

You should probably start a new thread for a new problem.

Can you do "iwconfig" and "ifconfig", to see if you have a wlan0 interface.  It seems to me that ipw3945 uses names like ethX (eth1 in my case), as opposed to wlanX.

I don't think that finding the right interface name will not solve your problem, though.  It seems to be more upstream, if the module is complaining.  Perhaps showing the output of "lspci -vv | grep -i network" would help.

[marc@~] lspci -vv | grep -i network
03:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection (rev 02)
[marc@~]

Ciao

Offline

#10 2007-11-01 17:45:19

Eviltelm
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

Ok, thanks, i will start a new thread later then smile
Yes, i have already done iwconfig, i have wlan0 as a wireless interface and my lspci | grep 3945 seems to be fine!
cumpzz

EDIT: btw, dmesg | grep 3945, seems to detect channels properly with iwl3945 driver but not with ipw3945

Last edited by Eviltelm (2007-11-01 17:46:39)

Offline

#11 2007-11-01 18:45:10

Eviltelm
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

yay big_smile fixed, iwl driver was messing it up, so removed it, and now i get eth0 in iwconfig and it works smile
however in ifconfig i also have eth0 as ethernet, can i change things so eth1 for instance can be wireless and eth0 ethernet??
Thanks all tongue

Offline

#12 2007-11-02 03:23:10

peart
Member
From: Kanuckistan
Registered: 2003-07-28
Posts: 510

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

Hello again,

The eth0 you see in ifconfig is the same eth0 you see in iwconfig.  I get the same thing on my comp: ifconfig says "Ethernet" beside the interface name, but it is definitely wireless.

My wired connection, eth0, only shows up if the module is loaded (quite rarely).  You should make sure your module is loaded, and the interface (I guess it would be eth1) is listed in the INTERFACES array in /etc/rc.conf.

Later,
me

Offline

#13 2007-11-02 14:08:14

Eviltelm
Member
Registered: 2007-10-30
Posts: 23

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

Ok, thanks, i'll try that then smile
If u can help again http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … 32#p295232...
Thanks wink

Offline

#14 2008-04-07 03:25:52

steve0
Member
Registered: 2008-04-07
Posts: 3
Website

Re: [SOLVED] read only file system :(

*bump*:lol: produces

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB