You are not logged in.

#1 2004-03-20 18:27:38

ody
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2002-08-12
Posts: 212
Website

Fat32

Is/Has anyone else been having problems getting "mkdosfs -F 32 -s 32 /dev/hd?" to create a partition greate than 2gigs? Ive got a 40gig drive and even specifing the blockcount dos'nt work it just says it detects 2gigs... oh and it formats fine with ext2 so the drive is not capped.

Offline

#2 2004-03-22 00:51:05

yak8998
Member
Registered: 2004-03-01
Posts: 143

Re: Fat32

for the XP problem, I believe SP1 (SP4 for 2000) fixes that, along with the 127gb NTFS problem.

As for the linux FAT, I have never tried formatting a drive to FAT in linux, so I couldn't say


"Ignorance is bliss, for stupid people."
"open-source is [...] programming Darwinism."
Vaughan-Nichols

Offline

#3 2004-03-22 02:34:32

mcubednyc
Member
From: New York, NY USA
Registered: 2004-03-17
Posts: 120

Re: Fat32

pep wrote:

I don't know why, but XP doesn't recognizes more than 32gb FAT32 partitions >_<.

I have 40GB, 50GB, and 80GB FAT32 partitions all created with Partition Magic under WinXP.  XP has no problems with them (neither does Arch).


"No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream." - S. Jackson

Offline

#4 2004-07-15 15:50:39

dekernel
Member
From: Vassar, MI USA
Registered: 2004-03-22
Posts: 117

Re: Fat32

I would be curious as to what options you used with mkdosfs to make a filesystem that holds more than 2G?

I tried "mkdosfs -F 32 /dev/hdb1 with no luck?

Offline

#5 2004-07-15 16:47:41

marin_linuxer
Member
From: San Rafael, CA U.S.A.
Registered: 2003-09-03
Posts: 111
Website

Re: Fat32

OT:  does anyone know why 'rsync --modify-window=1' is sooo much slower on a FAT32 partition than regular rsync on native linux?

Thanx.


-- Linux!  Isn't it time?

Offline

#6 2004-07-17 10:34:30

RedShift
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-16
Posts: 230

Re: Fat32

*never* use Fat32 in conjuction with Windows, it's asking for troubles :-P. Stay away from windows 9x, it's evil. When using NT, always use NTFS, do it like your life depends on it.

For windows 2000 SP4 and windows xp you have to enable 48-bits LBA access in the registry.


:?

Offline

#7 2004-07-17 10:37:59

RedShift
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-16
Posts: 230

Offline

#8 2004-07-18 08:08:11

morphus
Member
From: Braunschweig
Registered: 2003-08-06
Posts: 145

Re: Fat32

*never* use Fat32 in conjuction with Windows, it's asking for troubles . Stay away from windows 9x, it's evil. When using NT, always use NTFS, do it like your life depends on it.

How can I access NTFS in linux?
Which partition type can be accessed in windows AND linux?

only fat32...without the need to buy anything in windows to use ext2/3-partitions.

Offline

#9 2004-07-18 09:51:37

mcubednyc
Member
From: New York, NY USA
Registered: 2004-03-17
Posts: 120

Re: Fat32

morphus wrote:

How can I access NTFS in linux?

You should have read access from Arch, yes?  I do.  If I need to edit a file in an NTFS partition, I copy it to my home directory first, and change the permissions.

morphus wrote:

Which partition type can be accessed in windows AND linux?

FAT32/vfat ... dunno other people's strategies, but me, I have one vfat partition for swapping data back & forth when I need to.  When booted into Arch, I can access all partitions on my hard drives (NTFS, vfat, ReiserFS, ext2).  When booted into Windows, I can access everything except my ReiserFS partitions (Arch / and /home).  I use explore2fs to access my ext2 partitions, where I keep media files:

http://uranus.it.swin.edu.au/~jn/linux/explore2fs.htm

(On a side note, I've now gone 6 days, 4 hours, and 1 minute since my last boot into Windows -- a new record for me, since I started with any Linux OS!)


"No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality; even larks and katydids are supposed, by some, to dream." - S. Jackson

Offline

#10 2004-07-18 10:14:56

RedShift
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-16
Posts: 230

Re: Fat32

mount -t ntfs :-)


:?

Offline

#11 2004-07-18 10:26:29

morphus
Member
From: Braunschweig
Registered: 2003-08-06
Posts: 145

Re: Fat32

I would have changed everything to ntfs but in linux you can only read from ntfs-partitions.

Ok there is a project who is using the ntfs-driver from windows, but I don't consider this as a stable solution...

I also have one big data partition in vfat, and one ntfs for windows and the standard two(swap and ext3) for arch. (70gb data, 5gb arch, 5gb win)

*never* use Fat32 in conjuction with Windows, it's asking for troubles

Just wanted to know why fat32 is asking for troubles? *smiletoRedShift*

Offline

#12 2004-07-18 10:31:29

RedShift
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-16
Posts: 230

Re: Fat32

Fat32 is a primitive filesystem. It doesn't have journaling, files only go till 4GB, doesn't have ACL's, etc...

While NTFS can handle unproper unmounts and chkdsk will fix *practically* everything, FAT32 will immidiatly have fragmenst flying around for nothing, scandisk doesn't really fix things, etc...

Maybe FAT32 is good for some purposes, it's not for running an OS on it.


:?

Offline

#13 2004-07-18 13:23:44

morphus
Member
From: Braunschweig
Registered: 2003-08-06
Posts: 145

Re: Fat32

Maybe FAT32 is good for some purposes, it's not for running an OS on it.

Yapp, that's true. Windows ==> ntfs, linux ==> ext3/reiserfs/anything except fat

But it is good for sharing data between windows and linux and other systems;
I have a firewire hard disk for use in linux, windows and mac and the only file system capable of this three os is fat...


But the 4gb border IS just annoying...

Offline

#14 2004-07-24 17:42:23

nordlicht
Member
From: Hamburg/Germany
Registered: 2003-07-23
Posts: 62

Re: Fat32

Hi,

has anybody solved the problem of ody with the 2GB limit? I have the same problem.
What options have I to set to get Fat32 filesystems larger than 2GB?
mkdosfs -F 32 /dev/XXX create only a 2 GB filesystem.
I tried partition type 0b and 0c. What exactly have I to do to get an filesystem on my 80 GB partition?

chris

Offline

#15 2004-07-25 04:03:23

morphus
Member
From: Braunschweig
Registered: 2003-08-06
Posts: 145

Re: Fat32

nordlicht: If you want to use fat32 I think you have also windows, suggesting again windows xp and in there you can partition fat32-harddrives up to 32 GB. If that's no enough you have to grab a win98 / winme bootdisk[1] and make a fat32-volume with their startdisks[2].

Interesting: windows xp can mount fat32-partitions up tu 2 TB, so do 98 and me, but xp, the newer one, can't handle to format them...


[1] www.bootdisk.com
[2] [url]http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;DE;314463[/Url]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB