You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-06 01:06:28

vrillusions
Member
Registered: 2004-04-28
Posts: 16
Website

wireless and wired using same device name

I'm lost here.  It's a netgear wg511.  I got the pcmcia-cs and compiled the wireless_tools package.  I can get it running but the wireless card is fighting with my nic for the same device name.  If I try to change it to eth1 it gives me errors about it not being ready.  I went though the config files and can't figure out where you tell the wireless to use a different device name.  Can't really copy and paste since I don't have a network connection when I have it setup like this.  But basically when I do ifconfig i get eth0 and lo.  eth0 is pointing to the built in nic according to the MAC address.  when I do iwconfig it shows lo and sit0 as no wireless extensions. and eth0 as the wireless interface.  Unfortunately at my current location I can't really check the wireless part of it, but the wired part isn't working, so the wireless must be overpowering it.  Anyway, is there a way to tell the wireless card to use eth1?  I've tried chaning my /etc/modprobe.conf (this is 2.6.7) with an alias for eth1 and that module and no luck.  right now I have the prism54 module in my /etc/rc.conf file so it loads it at startup and I switched it so that pcmcia is loaded after network

Offline

#2 2004-08-06 02:00:33

vrillusions
Member
Registered: 2004-04-28
Posts: 16
Website

Re: wireless and wired using same device name

Minor update after playing with it.  if I leave the card out until the computer is all up and running, and then plug it in, it will go to eth1, but then it says NOT READY! and it doesn't do anything.  so now I need to figure out what it does that.  again the modprobe.conf file is set to alias eth1 prism54  and dmesg  says that the prism54 driver identified the wireless card, so why would it say "NOT READY!"?

Offline

#3 2004-08-06 18:07:42

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: wireless and wired using same device name

check

 ifconfig -a 

(if you post the results here, i advise you to remove the HWaddr)

and

iwconfig 

The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#4 2004-09-01 13:35:45

vrillusions
Member
Registered: 2004-04-28
Posts: 16
Website

Re: wireless and wired using same device name

Heh, I didn't even know anyone replied to this, so much for getting the update from email.  Anyway, here we go.  This is being done with the wireless card in, ethernet is there since it's internal, but it's not plugged in.  Im connected to the internet via the wireless connection:

[user@hidden ~]$ ifconfig -a
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr (ADDRESS OF WIFI CARD)
          inet addr:192.168.1.17  Bcast:255.255.255.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::209:5bff:fec4:1ad/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:148 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:74 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:28489 (27.8 Kb)  TX bytes:54125 (52.8 Kb)
          Interrupt:11

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:200 (200.0 b)  TX bytes:200 (200.0 b)

sit0      Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr (A REALLY LONG ADDRESS, THIS IS BUILT IN MODEM)
          NOARP  MTU:1480  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

[user@hidden ~]$ iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

sit0      no wireless extensions.

eth0      IEEE 802.11b/g  ESSID:"hidden"
          Mode:Managed  Channel:10  Access Point: (MAC ADDR TO AP)
          Bit Rate:54Mb/s   Tx-Power=31 dBm   Sensitivity=20/200
          Retry min limit:8   RTS thr:2347 B   Fragment thr:2346 B
          Link Quality:215/0  Signal level:-41 dBm  Noise level:-92 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

[user@hidden ~]$      

Offline

#5 2004-09-01 14:14:22

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: wireless and wired using same device name

looks ok - should work

RX bytes:28489 (27.8 Kb)  TX bytes:54125 (52.8 Kb)

it also sends data

still a problem?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-09-01 23:17:46

Xentac
Forum Fellow
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2003-01-17
Posts: 1,797
Website

Re: wireless and wired using same device name

Just a note, sit0 is not your modem.  sit0 is an IPv6-over-IPv4 tunnel device.


I have discovered that all of mans unhappiness derives from only one source, not being able to sit quietly in a room
- Blaise Pascal

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB