You are not logged in.

#1 2004-08-07 17:44:46

Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 155

Problems Setting up NFS


I've been having problems setting up NFS on a LAN at home.  I've read through all the Arch NFS-related threads and looked at (and tried some of) the suggestions, but without success.

What I'm trying to do is set up an NFS share on a wireless laptop to copy one user's files from the laptop to a wired workstation.  The laptop is running Libranet 2.8.1. The workstation is running Arch Linux with the most up-to-date (as of today) software, including NFS.

I have the portmap, nfslock, and nfsd daemons running via rc.conf, set to run in that order.

I've re-installed nfs-utils and set up hosts.deny as follows:

# /etc/hosts.deny


# End of file

and hosts.allow as follows:
# /etc/hosts.allow


# End of file

In other words, I want to allow access on the machine to anything running locally or on the LAN.

I have the shared directories successfully exported from the laptop (, but I have not been able to mount the exported directories on the workstation (

The mount command I'm using at the workstation:

mount -t nfs -o rsize=8192,wsize=8192 /exports

There is an /exports directory on both machines at root with root permissions. There is an /etc/exports file on the NFS server machine that gives asynchronous read/write permissions to for the /exports directory.

I receive the following message:

mount: RPC: Program not registered

This appears to be a hosts.allow/hosts.deny type problem, but I can't figure out what I need to do to make RPC work properly.

Some additional information, just in case it's helpful:

This is the result if running rpcinfo:

   program vers proto   port
    100000    2   tcp    111  portmapper
    100000    2   udp    111  portmapper
    100024    1   udp  32790  status
    100024    1   tcp  32835  status
    100003    2   udp   2049  nfs
    100003    3   udp   2049  nfs
    100003    4   udp   2049  nfs
    100003    2   tcp   2049  nfs
    100003    3   tcp   2049  nfs
    100003    4   tcp   2049  nfs
    100021    1   udp  32801  nlockmgr
    100021    3   udp  32801  nlockmgr
    100021    4   udp  32801  nlockmgr
    100021    1   tcp  32849  nlockmgr
    100021    3   tcp  32849  nlockmgr
    100021    4   tcp  32849  nlockmgr
    100005    3   udp    623  mountd
    100005    3   tcp    626  mountd

Running ps shows that the following processes are running:


Thanks for any help here!




#2 2004-08-07 23:44:01

From: Queen's U, Kingston, Canada
Registered: 2004-05-02
Posts: 285

Re: Problems Setting up NFS

have a look at the NFS Howto. It shows the reason for this sort of error message.
It means the client does not detect nfs running on the server - try 'rpcinfo -p' on the server and 'rpcinfo -p name, or IP of the server' on the client machine.

I'm about to get nfs working on my lan too, so I've been reading up on the howto for the past two weeks lol Good luck.


#3 2004-08-08 05:54:02

Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 155

Re: Problems Setting up NFS

Hi ravster.

Thanks for the suggestions. I had read the Arch NFS HowTo and did as you suggested get rcpinfo for the server machine. The Libranet NFS server is configured rather different since the NFS daemons are built into the default kernel.

Since I needed to complete the transfer immediately, I gave up for now trying to set up NFS and used netcat (!) instead to transfer the files from the Libranet laptop to the Arch workstation. The laptop will be converted to Arch Linux soon so I think I'll be able to clear things up soon.  I haven't had any problems setting up NFS with homogeneous (i.e., all Arch or all Libranet) computer combinations.

Thanks again.



#4 2004-08-09 08:36:35

From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Problems Setting up NFS

As far as I remeber the error you have is due to the fact you are not running portmap on the client.


#5 2004-08-17 16:05:27

Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 155

Re: Problems Setting up NFS

Hi ravster and Bobonov.

I had no problems whatsoever setting up NFS among a set of Arch Linux machines on my LAN. (It appears that the original problem with the Libranet (Debian) NFS server was because it was not set up properly.)




Board footer

Powered by FluxBB