You are not logged in.

#51 2004-08-21 15:35:03

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

KDE has been built with --disable-debug... tongue

plus we strip pkg's anyway, so it makes no diff really.

KDE pkg's are final now, just about to release, so hope you're all happy... smile


#Lou

Offline

#52 2004-08-21 15:54:54

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: kde 3.3

hi
got a problem with kio_smb after upgrading to samba 3.0.6
try smb:// in konqueror if it works in your build
else kdebase has to be rebuilt
bye toby

Offline

#53 2004-08-21 21:31:24

Matt3030
Member
From: Victoria, BC
Registered: 2004-08-13
Posts: 12

Re: kde 3.3

Cool, thanks cmf! Can't wait..

For the last couple days I've been thinking about running a completely qt environment.. now that kopete has msn file transfer I can use that, and apparently konqueror just gets better and better..

Offline

#54 2004-08-22 05:33:44

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: kde 3.3

rebuilt kdebase
has no effect perhaps kdelibs has to be rebuilt too
i try this later

Offline

#55 2004-08-22 07:44:13

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: kde 3.3

found this in kdebase config.log:
configure:47901: result: yes
configure:47936: checking for libsmbclient.h
configure:47943: result: yes
configure:47972: checking for smbc_new_context in -lsmbclient
configure:48002: gcc -o conftest -ansi -W -Wall -Wchar-subscripts -Wshadow -Wpointer-arith -Wmissing-prototypes -Wwrite-strings -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D_BSD_SOURCE -DNDEBUG -O2  -march=i686 -O2 -pipe -Wformat-security -Wmissing-format-attribute -D_GNU_SOURCE  -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT  -D_REENTRANT -D_FILE_OFFSET_BITS=64  -L/usr/X11R6/lib -L/opt/qt/lib -L/opt/kde/lib  conftest.c -lsmbclient   >&5
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lsmbclient
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
configure:48008: $? = 1
configure: failed program was:
EDIT: with samba 3.0.5 all is fine i try to rebuild samba 3.0.6

EDIT2: doesn't help samba 3.0.6 is bad

Offline

#56 2004-08-22 13:50:04

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

KDE 3.3 is out the door.....

Happy it's done, sorry it's a tad late this cycle, but i wanted to test properly and make sure deps and bugs were minimal.

Expect a kdebase upgrade in a few days as a security advisory will be released on monday releating to konqueror and cookies...

multiple KDM session support is now in on VC 8,9 & 10.
so start new session is there.

kde i18n should follow, just need to script the build for that shit. can't be doing with making 40+ pkg's manually...

erm.. seems it.

Thanks for patience and enjoy.

#Lou

Offline

#57 2004-08-22 14:54:38

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: kde 3.3

great job

kio_smb is broken with samba 3.0.6
that means no smb:// browsing in konqueror available
printer detection works

if you need it stay with 3.0.5 and add samba to IgnorePkg in rc.conf
unitl it's fixed

@ Lou
shall i post a bug report ?

EDIT: smb:// is wrong
smb:/ is for smb browsing (that doesn't work)

Offline

#58 2004-08-22 14:56:18

Xpop
Member
Registered: 2004-03-16
Posts: 18

Re: kde 3.3

cmf wrote:

KDE 3.3 is out the door.....
#Lou

I can see it on the frontpage archlinux.org, kde 3.3 is on  the server i update from ftp://ftp.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distrib … a/os/i686/
But I only get 3.2.X when i do like this.

pacman -Suy
pacman -S kde 

It might be the wrong place to ask whats wrong  wink

Offline

#59 2004-08-22 14:57:31

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: kde 3.3

wait until your servers are synced
need some time till the packages are mirrored

Offline

#60 2004-08-22 15:01:02

Xpop
Member
Registered: 2004-03-16
Posts: 18

Re: kde 3.3

I can wait, but I dont understand whats wrong..:shock:

Cause kde3.3 is on the server I update from, both current and extra. So I should get 3.3 know  roll

Offline

#61 2004-08-22 15:03:51

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: kde 3.3

then download the packages and install them with
pacman -U tunepimp...
pacman -U arts....
pacman -U kde*.pkg.tar.gz
that's all
i guess the database file hasn't been updated --> no new packages on the server

Offline

#62 2004-08-22 15:12:25

Xpop
Member
Registered: 2004-03-16
Posts: 18

Re: kde 3.3

tpowa wrote:

then download the packages and install them with
pacman -U tunepimp...
pacman -U arts....
pacman -U kde*.pkg.tar.gz
that's all
i guess the database file hasn't been updated --> no new packages on the server

thanks, so the file is on the server, but some pacman related file on the server hasnt been updated " extra.db.tar.gz ".If understand u correct ?

I can easily wait for it, I always try every new KDE release, but I always skip it ..Dont know why !

Offline

#63 2004-08-22 15:15:05

tpowa
Developer
From: Lauingen , Germany
Registered: 2004-04-05
Posts: 2,260

Re: kde 3.3

look at extra.db.tar.gz if it's older then the other files from kde
pacman don't know about them
you can install them without a problem your database will be updated sooner or later

Offline

#64 2004-08-22 15:16:26

Xpop
Member
Registered: 2004-03-16
Posts: 18

Re: kde 3.3

Thanks, It makes sence know  big_smile

Offline

#65 2004-08-22 15:18:06

maor
Member
Registered: 2004-04-12
Posts: 29

Re: kde 3.3

why is kdelibs require lesstif ?
as far as i know it was requirement of kdebase (for plugins), but it has been drop out.

Offline

#66 2004-08-22 19:58:16

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: kde 3.3

what happened to kde 3.3.0 pkgs?
they appear on the db to be updated, but if i -Suy and have already the newest wine and samba, but not any kde pkg --- very strange

are you sure, you tagged them correctly?


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#67 2004-08-22 20:33:20

punkrockguy318
Member
From: New Jersey
Registered: 2004-02-15
Posts: 706
Website

Re: kde 3.3

extra-db wasn't running earlier, a package was missing.  everything is good now.


If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but have not love, I am nothing.   1 Corinthians 13:2

Offline

#68 2004-08-22 21:10:30

oz
Member
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 67

Re: kde 3.3

kdevelop appers to be broken after updating to KDE3.3.  I guess this is to be expected since it's a separate package?

The "current" version (3.0) crashes when exiting (possibly other problems as I haven't checked it out fully).  I assume at some point this version will be updated to 3.1 to go with the KDE3.3 release?

The "unstable"-devel version (3.1?) won't even start up without crashing.  I'm not sure why this is because isn't this the same version in KDE3.3?

I'm currently building the version from the KDE3.3 sources so I hope that works.

Offline

#69 2004-08-22 22:17:40

jbNet
Member
From: Klamath Falls, OR, USA
Registered: 2004-08-12
Posts: 34

Re: kde 3.3

I can verify that KDevelop crashes on exit, and that the smb kio slave is broken w/ the latest samba. Also spellchecking doesn't seem to work correctly yet, maybe I am doing something wrong. It's working in konqueror as I type this, but in kopete it doesn't seem to do anything, and I can't find any relevant settings in kopete. Also if I change my spellchecking client to aspell it doesn't effect kedit, haven't tested it with other things, maybe kedit doesn't use kspell... bah anyway spelling seems very broken in KDE.

Any thoughts?

~Jake B

Offline

#70 2004-08-23 01:14:43

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

well i'm v pissed, but i went to a club and no anserws there....

kio smb:/ (// for external hmm for locval...)
problem with samba 3.0.6...

issus with KDE... tagged ok, should be up sooner or later...

kdevelop... wiatr on maintainer...

lovr you...

#lou

Offline

#71 2004-08-23 02:27:23

oz
Member
Registered: 2004-05-20
Posts: 67

Re: kde 3.3

After building KDevelop from the KDE3.3 source it seems to work (and looks pretty nice).  If someone wants a binary package let me know.

http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?t=6353

Offline

#72 2004-08-23 14:13:17

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: kde 3.3

finally, i managed to get kde - kdevelop is under compile

thanx for maintaining kde, Lou, great job! (i know, how much cpu-time and bandwidth this needs ;-) )


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#73 2004-08-23 16:18:55

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

i can compile KDE in 9 hours (all pkg's) and i usually script it so it does it while i sleep....

Bandwidth is annoying though.... but it has to get done wink

i tryed my hardest to make this my best KDE release yet, and it feels like it is, only issue atm is samba, but i'll be recompiling kdebase and sorting that soon (when kdebase get's it's patch for konqy)

Offline

#74 2004-08-23 16:19:39

cmf
Member
Registered: 2003-10-18
Posts: 86

Re: kde 3.3

`actually, kde 3.3 isn't affected... big_smile looks ike samba has broken KDE then... bitch

Offline

#75 2004-08-23 19:51:52

topito
Member
From: Catalonia
Registered: 2004-03-25
Posts: 118
Website

Re: kde 3.3

mmm, kmail eats a lot of cpu sometimes (10-20%), that's so strange cos if I use kmail trough kontact is different, maybe is the imap protocol or the kolivas patches... anyone notice that?

$ uname -a
Linux andromeda 2.6.8.1-ck3 #1 Sat Aug 21 21:02:31 CEST 2004 i686 unknown unknown GNU/Linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB