You are not logged in.

#51 2008-09-04 22:30:12

chori
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 145

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

eWoud wrote:

* Temperature monitoring, fan, FSB, ...: eeepc-linux 0.3, found here: http://code.google.com/p/eeepc-linux/is … %20Summary with some modifications to get it to compile (see http://code.google.com/p/eeepc-linux/is … 20Summary). I confirm that running on low-voltage reduces battery life, and has no side effects (yet?). Setting the FSB does not work however. Anyone?

Perhaps try going back to eeepc-linux-0.2 + i2c_i801.  Looking at the open issues for eeepc-linux,  version 0.3 appears to be a bit dodgy?

I assume you mean low voltage increases battery life?

Last edited by chori (2008-09-05 02:18:41)

Offline

#52 2008-09-04 23:43:01

eWoud
Member
Registered: 2005-07-06
Posts: 39

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Robertek wrote:

To eWoud:

Does wifi turn on/off working for you? (echo 0 > /proc/acpi/asus/wlan or /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/wlan)
If I turn wifi off and on it doesnt initialize correctly. (Nevere worked for me)

Same problem here.

Xorg work ok for me, w/o xorg.conf.

FSB works in my kernel ok, I have tested from 50 - 110  (and have set to change on battery to 70 and on AC to 110)
I suggest to change FSB with smaler steps (I use 15:  100 -> 85 -> 70)
I use low voltage all the time.

I think it's a problem with eeepc-linux (or the version I use). When I boot up, /proc/eee/fsb reads as "0 0 0".

@chori

Yes I meant increase battery life of course smile But now I'm not so sure anymore.

version 0.2 always gives me a segmentation fault (i2c_i801 is loaded). 0.3 is the only version I have gotten to do something.

Last edited by eWoud (2008-09-04 23:59:17)


tea is overrated

Offline

#53 2008-09-05 02:56:22

chori
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 145

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

eWoud wrote:
Robertek wrote:

To eWoud:

Does wifi turn on/off working for you? (echo 0 > /proc/acpi/asus/wlan or /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/wlan)
If I turn wifi off and on it doesnt initialize correctly. (Never worked for me)

Same problem here.

I'm not in front of my 901 right now, so I can't see the contents of wlan.sh.  Is the pciehp module being unloaded/loaded?  It seems like that made the difference over in Ubuntu land:

http://www.eeebuntu.org/forum/viewtopic … b0986fa577

Offline

#54 2008-09-05 07:54:25

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

You need initrd to do udev stuff, because kernel even with compiled in support for usb doesnt recognize usb partitions.  Because internal ssd are not usb but ide so they works, but usb wont.

you need in HOOKS:  base udev  and maybe usb, than it should work.

And you can compile the initrd in another kernel, because this stuff is not kernel related. (I use initrd that I prepare when I start using Arch on EEE, just plain with some hooks)

Offline

#55 2008-09-05 07:57:07

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

For me WIFI doesnt swich on/off even with pciehp

Offline

#56 2008-09-05 08:14:54

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

AGRRRH:: I have missed the pciehp_debug=1 option. With that it works superb:)


So to make it work ok add this line to modprobe.conf

options pciehp pciehp_force=1 pciehp_debug=1

Than you can enable wlan switching in acpi config (uncomment the commands in /etc/acpi/events/wlan....) and edit /etc/acpi/wlan.sh to your needs.

Last edited by Robertek (2008-09-05 08:34:44)

Offline

#57 2008-09-05 11:58:05

eWoud
Member
Registered: 2005-07-06
Posts: 39

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Wifi toggling still doesn't work for me.

There's a problem with the initialization of pcihp:

Sep  5 13:18:29 raul pciehp: pci_hp_register failed with error -17
Sep  5 13:18:29 raul pciehp: Failed to register slot because of name collision. Try 'pciehp_slot_with_bus' module option.
Sep  5 13:18:29 raul pciehp: pciehp: slot initialization failed

Using pciehp_slot_with_bus=0 or =1 doesn't get me much further, as I usually run into this error:

Sep  5 13:22:24 raul pciehp: Device 0000:03:00.0 already exists at 3:0, cannot hot-add
Sep  5 13:22:24 raul pciehp: Cannot add device 0x3:0
Sep  5 13:22:27 raul pciehp: Device 0000:01:00.0 already exists at 1:0, cannot hot-add
Sep  5 13:22:27 raul pciehp: Cannot add device 0x1:0

tea is overrated

Offline

#58 2008-09-05 13:19:48

chori
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 145

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Robertek wrote:

You need initrd to do udev stuff, because kernel even with compiled in support for usb doesnt recognize usb partitions.  Because internal ssd are not usb but ide so they works, but usb wont.

you need in HOOKS:  base udev  and maybe usb, than it should work.

And you can compile the initrd in another kernel, because this stuff is not kernel related. (I use initrd that I prepare when I start using Arch on EEE, just plain with some hooks)

Thanks, that's the conclusion I came to also yesterday evening.  I'm using the stock kernel26.img for initrd now.

I'm glad that you got your wifi toggle working.  Are you using asusosd, too?

Offline

#59 2008-09-05 13:44:19

chori
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 145

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

@eWoud:

What version of the kernel are you running?  It appears you've stumbled on a pciehp bug that will be fixed in 2.6.27: 

http://linux.derkeiler.com/Mailing-List … 09427.html

Also, it's strange that you get segmentation faults with eeepc-linux-0.2.  I'm wondering if you're missing some key pieces or configurations in your kernel.  At this point, I'd recommend getting ighea's or Robertek's kernel, and starting again -- or at least getting their kernel sources, and looking at how it's been tweaked.  No sense in reinventing the wheel, unless, of course, you like inventing wheels.  smile

Edit:  What version of the firmware are you running?  Looks like there have been some recent BIOS/firmware updates for the 1000 in the past few weeks.  Updating the firmware may fix the pciehp problem.

Last edited by chori (2008-09-05 13:56:49)

Offline

#60 2008-09-05 13:49:16

inf
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-18
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Maybe we should make a wiki entry just for the 901/1000(H) EEEs.

It would much clearer to read and configure these new eee's

Offline

#61 2008-09-05 14:04:19

chori
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 145

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

inf wrote:

Maybe we should make a wiki entry just for the 901/1000(H) EEEs.

It would much clearer to read and configure these new eee's

I was just thinking that.  I'm new to the ArchLinux community, so I don't know what the procedure or etiquette is for creating a new wiki page.  I imagine the page should hang off the "Arch Linux on the EEE PC" wiki page.

Last edited by chori (2008-09-06 03:24:42)

Offline

#62 2008-09-05 16:02:32

eWoud
Member
Registered: 2005-07-06
Posts: 39

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

chori wrote:

@eWoud:

What version of the kernel are you running?  It appears you've stumbled on a pciehp bug that will be fixed in 2.6.27: 

http://linux.derkeiler.com/Mailing-List … 09427.html

2.6.26-ARCH, so I guess I'll wait for .27 smile

chori wrote:

Also, it's strange that you get segmentation faults with eeepc-linux-0.2.  I'm wondering if you're missing some key pieces or configurations in your kernel.  At this point, I'd recommend getting ighea's or Robertek's kernel, and starting again -- or at least getting their kernel sources, and looking at how it's been tweaked.  No sense in reinventing the wheel, unless, of course, you like inventing wheels.  smile

Apparently the driver is unable to get a reference through i2c_get_adapter(...), which is part of i2c_core.
I might try a custom kernel later.

chori wrote:

Edit:  What version of the firmware are you running?  Looks like there have been some recent BIOS/firmware updates for the 1000 in the past few weeks.  Updating the firmware may fix the pciehp problem.

I've upgraded the BIOS to 1005, to no avail.


tea is overrated

Offline

#63 2008-09-05 17:02:38

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

inf wrote:

Maybe we should make a wiki entry just for the 901/1000(H) EEEs.

It would much clearer to read and configure these new eee's

Im planing this, but have not so much time now (spend a lot of time in work now). Maybe on weekend, or next week. Maybe if I will have some free time in work tomorow.

Offline

#64 2008-09-05 20:25:43

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

So I have start writing WIKI entry for EEE 901, if someone can help me it is welcomed smile

http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Asus_Eee_PC_901

Offline

#65 2008-09-05 20:50:27

aadeelnrx
Member
Registered: 2008-09-05
Posts: 4

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

eWoud wrote:

* X.org: to remove vsync problems with video I use xf86-video-intel-2.2.1 with the 2 patches from http://readlist.com/lists/lists.freedes … 19797.html and http://readlist.com/lists/lists.freedes … 19798.html
I could not get it vsync correctly with any recent version. Any ideas anyone?

I'd be interested in that as well, just noticed that I can't play any videos on my beamer without the screen going blank after ~10 minutes.
There must be a better way than using old drivers and patches. By the way, does anyone know if the bug has been reported?

Offline

#66 2008-09-06 01:39:01

D-Locked
Member
Registered: 2008-08-22
Posts: 31

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Robretk, I was wondering, did you disable swap support in the latest  Stable 26 2.6.26-zen2?
I get

sudo swapon -a
swapon: /dev/sdd1: Function not implemented

even though swap works fine with another kernel installed on the system.

Offline

#67 2008-09-06 02:33:16

chori
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 145

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

eWoud wrote:

* X.org: to remove vsync problems with video I use xf86-video-intel-2.2.1 with the 2 patches from http://readlist.com/lists/lists.freedes … 19797.html and http://readlist.com/lists/lists.freedes … 19798.html
I could not get it vsync correctly with any recent version. Any ideas anyone?

I know almost nothing about video hardware, but doing some research, it looks like those two patches are for the G965 chipset.  Yet the eee 901/1000  has the  GM 950 graphics core, which is a 945 chipset:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_GMA# … d_chipsets

I have no idea whether those patches could be causing your vsync problem, but I do wonder why you'd apply a patch that doesn't appear to be necessary.  Unless I'm missing something, which is entirely possible.

Edit: There's a more recent version of xf86-video-intel available at http://www.intellinuxgraphics.org/download.html and http://www.archlinux.org/packages/testi … deo-intel/  :  xf86-video-intel 2.4.2

Last edited by chori (2008-09-06 03:22:36)

Offline

#68 2008-09-06 06:57:02

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Yes I have disabled swap support, but it is no problem to enable that. I have done that, because I think there is no need to swap and it isnt also good for ssd.

And if you wish this for suspend to disk, than I will be working and testing suspend to file, which is part of tuxonice that is in zen-sources.

Does I miss something, because I dont have any problem with xorg and intel and video. I dont use xorg.conf at all.

Offline

#69 2008-09-06 13:09:27

D-Locked
Member
Registered: 2008-08-22
Posts: 31

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Robertek wrote:

Yes I have disabled swap support, but it is no problem to enable that. I have done that, because I think there is no need to swap and it isnt also good for ssd.

And if you wish this for suspend to disk, than I will be working and testing suspend to file, which is part of tuxonice that is in zen-sources.

Does I miss something, because I dont have any problem with xorg and intel and video. I dont use xorg.conf at all.

I just use an old SD card for swap, which I do not mind sacrificing smile

Offline

#70 2008-09-06 14:53:58

eWoud
Member
Registered: 2005-07-06
Posts: 39

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

chori wrote:
eWoud wrote:

* X.org: to remove vsync problems with video I use xf86-video-intel-2.2.1 with the 2 patches from http://readlist.com/lists/lists.freedes … 19797.html and http://readlist.com/lists/lists.freedes … 19798.html
I could not get it vsync correctly with any recent version. Any ideas anyone?

I know almost nothing about video hardware, but doing some research, it looks like those two patches are for the G965 chipset.  Yet the eee 901/1000  has the  GM 950 graphics core, which is a 945 chipset:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_GMA# … d_chipsets

I have no idea whether those patches could be causing your vsync problem, but I do wonder why you'd apply a patch that doesn't appear to be necessary.  Unless I'm missing something, which is entirely possible.

Edit: There's a more recent version of xf86-video-intel available at http://www.intellinuxgraphics.org/download.html and http://www.archlinux.org/packages/testi … deo-intel/  :  xf86-video-intel 2.4.2

You are missing something smile This forum post nicely illustrates my problem with video: http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p= … stcount=11

Look for the effect in fast-moving images, or places where the camere slowly pans over the scenery. It's not always as noticeable as the above link, but it's there nonetheless.

I have this problem with xf86-video-intel 2.3.2 and 2.4.2, even without a 'Device' section in xorg.conf. The only way I found to get rid of these annoying artefacts is by using an older, patched driver and adding "TexturedVideo" "false" to xorg.conf.

EDIT: A-HA, mplayer can switch to the overlay video port if you ask nicely (look for the right port in the output of 'xvinfo').

mplayer -vo xv:port=98

Problem solved. I'm not sure if a similar hack is possible with other video players.

@Robertek

The 1000H has a standard hard disk, not an SSD, so swap is still useable. This is why I prefer to use a stock kernel, it has everything I might possibly need in the future.

Last edited by eWoud (2008-09-06 15:21:41)


tea is overrated

Offline

#71 2008-09-06 17:45:54

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Ok, I use this forums to colect the things that other people need in the kernel. I was always used to compile my own kernel for myself, so it will take some time till I include all the options.

But I dont think swap is mission critical stuff, mainly here. It will be in the next release.

Offline

#72 2008-09-07 11:10:52

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

Lybxx: I will look at the madwifi.

Maybe I will create repository, I will look on some howto. But after 27 release, dont expect testing versions, I dont have so much time. When zen-27 will be release I will make only stable versions.

Offline

#73 2008-09-07 19:19:46

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

So some NEWS:

I have created repo:

[zen-eee]
Server = http://robertek.brevnov.net/files/linux/arch

Please unistal zen-eee901 first before you install from the repo, because of some conflicts and cleanups in packages

And now there is support for madwifi and p4-clockmod now (so 900 should work also)

Offline

#74 2008-09-07 20:32:10

Robertek
Member
From: Czech Republic
Registered: 2007-06-02
Posts: 165
Website

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

I suggest using git version till .27 stable is released. Because wireless switch on/off doesnt work on .26 for me. Please confirm that.

The configs are nearly the same for both kernel.

Last edited by Robertek (2008-09-07 20:32:47)

Offline

#75 2008-09-08 03:34:12

chori
Member
From: Wisconsin, USA
Registered: 2008-09-02
Posts: 145

Re: Arch on Asus EEE 901

After spending many fruitless hours trying to connect to my wireless WEP-encrypted network at home, I finally bit the bullet, followed @Yashkir's lead, and installed /etc/Wireless/RT2860STA/RT2860STA.dat, then edited it, changing the following lines:

SSID=my_essid
AuthMode=WEPAUTO
EncrypType=WEP
Key1Type=1
Key1Str=my ascii WEP passcode

I then executed "ifconfig ra0 down", then "ifconfig ra0 up", and presto-bingo, it all just magically worked.  This came after several frustrating hours of trying to set the exact same parameters via the command line with "iwconfig", to no avail.

On the other hand, wireless worked right out of the box with the WPA network at my office, no extra files or arcane configuration needed.  So go figure.

@Robertek:  I tried your suggestion (made to me offline) to specify the access point's mac address with "iwconfig ra0 ap=<router mac address>".  That got me part way there -- after I did that, the interface was bound to the correct cell; however, I still couldn't get the encryption and passphrase to take.

So it seems that /etc/Wireless/RT2860STA/RT2860STA.dat is necessary in some cases (to connect to a simple 64-bit WEP network).

Last edited by chori (2008-09-08 03:39:44)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB