You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-10 21:37:00

Iolo
Member
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 38

Base Install Size?

Hmm, anyone know how much space the space install takes up? I've got an old pentium 2 machine with a tiny hard drive I want to convert into a router....

Offline

#2 2004-09-10 22:15:15

paranoos
Member
From: thornhill.on.ca
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 442

Re: Base Install Size?

how tiny is tiny?

i have almost 300 packages installed (a LOT more than you would need for a router) and it takes up just over 3GB. I would think a base install would take up just a couple hundred mb.

Offline

#3 2004-09-11 07:41:53

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Base Install Size?

well i have base plus a few packages and it takes up 694 or something MB. i would assume half of that is the extra packages i installed.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#4 2004-09-11 10:35:09

Iolo
Member
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 38

Re: Base Install Size?

Well, the hd drive on the p2 apparently decided to pack it in this morning so I gues I won't be puting arch on it anyways. Time to go shopping for some new hardware.

Offline

#5 2004-09-11 11:16:10

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,366
Website

Re: Base Install Size?

if you still find a tiny hdd, i want to comment your question:

for a router, you do not need more than ~200mb, but consider, that there are routers available that are cheaper than a new hdd


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-09-14 12:54:40

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,839

Re: Base Install Size?

dp wrote:

there are routers available that are cheaper than a new hdd

True, but they won't give the kind of control and flexibility you get with a Linux router.

Offline

#7 2004-09-14 15:42:04

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Base Install Size?

tomk wrote:
dp wrote:

there are routers available that are cheaper than a new hdd

True, but they won't give the kind of control and flexibility you get with a Linux router.

no but they don't take the maintenace and space that a whole other computer will. personally i will be going to a commercial router as having to maintain a i586 and the space it takes is annoying the crap out of me.

for that matter i would love to sell off my 19" monitor and 1800+  and move up too a nice space saving G5 iMac.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#8 2016-02-22 02:29:08

timotheusbooth
Member
Registered: 2016-02-08
Posts: 9

Re: Base Install Size?

I know this thread us quite outdated but for routers all you need is OpenWrt I can't remember how much space it takes up but I think it's a few MB for the base install which has firewall web interface and basic kernel modules for wifi LAN etc. I installed it on a tl-mr3020 I can't remember but I think they have a 20mb flash chip. Other options I've heard about are ddwrt and tomato. But I have no experience with them

Offline

#9 2016-02-22 02:31:16

timotheusbooth
Member
Registered: 2016-02-08
Posts: 9

Re: Base Install Size?

The distribution is in a 3.5mb zip anyway

Offline

#10 2016-02-22 02:41:03

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 15,539
Website

Re: Base Install Size?

timotheusbooth wrote:

I know this thread us quite outdated

That's an understatement.  The OP hasn't even been on the forums in almost 12 years.  Please do not "necrobump" old threads.

Closed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB