You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-10 21:37:00

Iolo
Member
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 38

Base Install Size?

Hmm, anyone know how much space the space install takes up? I've got an old pentium 2 machine with a tiny hard drive I want to convert into a router....

Offline

#2 2004-09-10 22:15:15

paranoos
Member
From: thornhill.on.ca
Registered: 2004-07-22
Posts: 442

Re: Base Install Size?

how tiny is tiny?

i have almost 300 packages installed (a LOT more than you would need for a router) and it takes up just over 3GB. I would think a base install would take up just a couple hundred mb.

Offline

#3 2004-09-11 07:41:53

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Base Install Size?

well i have base plus a few packages and it takes up 694 or something MB. i would assume half of that is the extra packages i installed.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#4 2004-09-11 10:35:09

Iolo
Member
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 38

Re: Base Install Size?

Well, the hd drive on the p2 apparently decided to pack it in this morning so I gues I won't be puting arch on it anyways. Time to go shopping for some new hardware.

Offline

#5 2004-09-11 11:16:10

dp
Member
From: Zürich, Switzerland
Registered: 2003-05-27
Posts: 3,363
Website

Re: Base Install Size?

if you still find a tiny hdd, i want to comment your question:

for a router, you do not need more than ~200mb, but consider, that there are routers available that are cheaper than a new hdd


The impossible missions are the only ones which succeed.

Offline

#6 2004-09-14 12:54:40

tomk
Forum Fellow
From: Ireland
Registered: 2004-07-21
Posts: 9,837

Re: Base Install Size?

dp wrote:

there are routers available that are cheaper than a new hdd

True, but they won't give the kind of control and flexibility you get with a Linux router.

Offline

#7 2004-09-14 15:42:04

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Base Install Size?

tomk wrote:
dp wrote:

there are routers available that are cheaper than a new hdd

True, but they won't give the kind of control and flexibility you get with a Linux router.

no but they don't take the maintenace and space that a whole other computer will. personally i will be going to a commercial router as having to maintain a i586 and the space it takes is annoying the crap out of me.

for that matter i would love to sell off my 19" monitor and 1800+  and move up too a nice space saving G5 iMac.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#8 2016-02-22 02:29:08

timotheusbooth
Member
Registered: 2016-02-08
Posts: 9

Re: Base Install Size?

I know this thread us quite outdated but for routers all you need is OpenWrt I can't remember how much space it takes up but I think it's a few MB for the base install which has firewall web interface and basic kernel modules for wifi LAN etc. I installed it on a tl-mr3020 I can't remember but I think they have a 20mb flash chip. Other options I've heard about are ddwrt and tomato. But I have no experience with them

Offline

#9 2016-02-22 02:31:16

timotheusbooth
Member
Registered: 2016-02-08
Posts: 9

Re: Base Install Size?

The distribution is in a 3.5mb zip anyway

Offline

#10 2016-02-22 02:41:03

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,699
Website

Re: Base Install Size?

timotheusbooth wrote:

I know this thread us quite outdated

That's an understatement.  The OP hasn't even been on the forums in almost 12 years.  Please do not "necrobump" old threads.

Closed.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB