You are not logged in.

#1 2004-09-14 14:23:07

banana989
Member
Registered: 2004-06-03
Posts: 60

Internet Connection problems

from a friend :

I installed my network drivers and was able to successfully ping various websites through the terminal. However, firefox and gaim were not able to connect after i installed them. a friend had me install Links and consequently, Links will connect to any website just fine. so i re-opened firefox and went to google, which actually worked. the strange thing is that i can run a search from google but once i click the google search result links, nothing happens.

so in short:

-pinging works in terminal
-google home page and search results pages load successfully
-Links works

-everything else times out.

Help?

Offline

#2 2004-09-15 01:52:08

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Internet Connection problems

does he have a proxy set in the browser settings?
Do other GUI browsers work?


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#3 2004-09-15 02:19:36

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Internet Connection problems

Offline

#4 2004-09-15 06:26:49

Bobonov
Member
From: Roma - Italy
Registered: 2003-05-07
Posts: 295

Re: Internet Connection problems

What does it mean nothing happen?
Does the navigator start to do something (in firefox in the upper right corner there is a round dot line that is animating when firefox load someting)?
Does firefox give some error message, or the page became blank?
Did you try to ping one on the site that does not work and see the result.

Please post one of the address that does not work.

Offline

#5 2004-09-16 15:57:02

i3839
Member
Registered: 2004-02-04
Posts: 1,185

Re: Internet Connection problems

192.168.0.* is a local address, is your router acting like a DNS server or something? I guesst hat DHCP is messing with your resolv.conf, are you using that? If so, then try changing the DNS server in your router to one that works, or somehow tell DHCP to not overwrite resolv.conf.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB