You are not logged in.

#1 2008-11-04 21:51:15

Wishes
Member
Registered: 2006-08-06
Posts: 36

awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

Hi,
cli-programs are running normal in java, but all programs with GUI are only a grey window. For Example with Netbeans, i see nothing, except grey. In KDE4 it works normally.


System is Arch64, Netbeans from community and Java from extra.

Any clues whats wrong?

Offline

#2 2008-11-04 22:09:49

BabyDoc
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-03-20
Posts: 74

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

I have a similar problem. Both Netbeans and Visual Paradigm just give grey screens on launch.
Googling the problem always led me to fixes as disable beryl/compiz. But since I run awesome3 and none of these things aren't even on my system that does not help me.
While searching this forum I came across this thread. But the suggested fix did not work either as I don't even get the grey screen anymore.


Existence is futile.

Offline

#3 2008-11-05 00:29:10

Wishes
Member
Registered: 2006-08-06
Posts: 36

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

I dont use compmgr either. And same result with the MTools seeting in ~.bashrc.

When i start netbeans from urxvt with this setting:
wishes ~  $  netbeans
#
# An unexpected error has been detected by Java Runtime Environment:
#
#  SIGSEGV (0xb) at pc=0x00007f456fd786af, pid=9927, tid=1123809616
#
# Java VM: Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (10.0-b23 mixed mode linux-amd64)
# Problematic frame:
# C  [libc.so.6+0x306af]  catgets+0x1f
#
# An error report file with more information is saved as:
# /home/wishes/hs_err_pid9927.log
#
# If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:
#   http://java.sun.com/webapps/bugreport/crash.jsp
# The crash happened outside the Java Virtual Machine in native code.
# See problematic frame for where to report the bug.
#
/usr/share/netbeans/bin/../platform8/lib/nbexec: line 466:  9927 Abgebrochen             "/opt/java/bin/java" -Djdk.home="/opt/java" -classpath "/usr/share/netbeans/platform8/lib/boot.jar:/usr/share/netbeans/platform8/lib/org-openide-modules.jar:/usr/share/netbeans/platform8/lib/org-openide-util.jar:/opt/java/lib/dt.jar:/opt/java/lib/tools.jar" -Dnetbeans.dirs="/usr/share/netbeans/nb6.1:/usr/share/netbeans/ide9:/usr/share/netbeans/java2:/usr/share/netbeans/xml2:/usr/share/netbeans/apisupport1:/usr/share/netbeans/enterprise5:/usr/share/netbeans/mobility8:/usr/share/netbeans/profiler3:/usr/share/netbeans/gsf1:/usr/share/netbeans/ruby2:/usr/share/netbeans/visualweb2:/usr/share/netbeans/soa2:/usr/share/netbeans/identity2:/usr/share/netbeans/uml5:/usr/share/netbeans/harness:/usr/share/netbeans/cnd2:" -Dnetbeans.home="/usr/share/netbeans/platform8" '-Dnetbeans.importclass=org.netbeans.upgrade.AutoUpgrade' '-Dnetbeans.accept_license_class=org.netbeans.license.AcceptLicense' '-Xmx512m' '-client' '-Xss2m' '-Xms32m' '-XX:PermSize=32m' '-XX:MaxPermSize=200m' '-Xverify:none' '-Dapple.laf.useScreenMenuBar=true' '-Dsun.java2d.noddraw=true' org.netbeans.Main --userdir "/home/wishes/.netbeans/6.1" "--branding" "nb"

Offline

#4 2008-11-05 05:43:13

hotsauce
Member
From: Ann Arbor
Registered: 2005-12-28
Posts: 124

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

http://awesome.naquadah.org/wiki/index. … _screen.21

XMonad has a much easier workaround using a contrib package. Judging for the terse responses from devs on the bugtracker, they do not seem intent on offering an easy workaround anytime soon because "Java is stupid".

To me, this unfortunately was a deal breaker. Maybe I should have persevered and set-up the xzephyr... Alas, I don't have that energy.

Vincent

Last edited by hotsauce (2008-11-05 05:44:59)

Offline

#5 2008-11-05 07:22:38

Wishes
Member
Registered: 2006-08-06
Posts: 36

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

Hm, i have it neither, seems that i have to use KDE4 when i want to do something with java GUI (well, doesnt happen that often this time).
But thanks for the wiki-link.

Last edited by Wishes (2008-11-05 13:38:04)

Offline

#6 2008-11-18 02:33:37

Ranguvar
Member
From: Our collective subconscious
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,515
Website

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

Same problem... same WM... same error message...

AwesomeWiki wrote:

he XToolkit/XAWT backend breaks ICCCM-compliance in recent JDK 1.5 and early JDK 1.6 versions, because it assumes a reparenting window manager.

Any info on a fix for this? This: http://bugs.sun.com/bugdatabase/view_bu … id=6429775 isn't very helpful.

Non-standards-compliant apps seem the cause of 90% of all Linux GUI problems....


UPDATE: Turns out, after reading a lot of online info about this problem, it would be trivial for Sun to fix this, but they don't. Well, they do in Java 1.7. Is this the same as openjdk 1.7? Is openjdk 1.7 backwards-compatible with jdk 1.6? EDIT: Never mind... can't get openjdk 1.7 to compile anyways, same issues as cited by other AUR commenters.

This is really a deal breaker for me... I recognize the fault is with Java, not Awesome, but does anyone have a hacky patch to Awesome to make this work? There was one to Xmonad a while ago: http://article.gmane.org/gmane.comp.lan … monad/1790

Last edited by Ranguvar (2008-11-18 03:11:09)

Offline

#7 2008-11-18 03:56:22

kett
Member
Registered: 2008-04-21
Posts: 104

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

I had a similar issue with MATLAB which I worked around by installing the official jdk1.7 binaries from http://download.java.net/jdk7/binaries/

Last edited by kett (2008-11-18 03:56:40)

Offline

#8 2008-11-18 04:40:37

Ranguvar
Member
From: Our collective subconscious
Registered: 2008-08-12
Posts: 2,515
Website

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

Nice, thanks... I'll try my hand at making PKGBUILDs tomorrow wink

EDIT: Woah... saw the jdk PKGBUILD... I would not trust myself to make something working if that's what JDK 1.6 needs tongue

Anyone willing to help?

EDIT 2: Fixed!! With Java 1.6, too. First, don't set AWT_TOOLKIT if you are. Second, get the package wmname from the AUR, and third, add 'wmname LG3D' to your .xinitrc. Java has a workaround if the window manager says its name is Compiz or LG3D. Compiz doesn't work due to other bugs, but if you make your WM say it's LG3D, Java apps work flawlessly. Thanks to Espen Wiborg for the fix!

Last edited by Ranguvar (2008-12-01 00:08:06)

Offline

#9 2010-05-06 23:40:57

kulpae
Member
From: Bremen
Registered: 2010-02-06
Posts: 34

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

thanks, the solution with calling "wmname LG3D" actually solved this issue painlessly.
suddenly all my java aps behave properly now!

kulpae

Offline

#10 2011-05-23 02:24:54

Bonzai11
Member
Registered: 2009-08-30
Posts: 2

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

Thanks a ton for the tip Ranguvar, though it seems my .xinitrc doesn't like the command. I don't restart X ofter so it's all good.

Offline

#11 2011-05-23 02:55:04

ZekeSulastin
Member
Registered: 2010-09-20
Posts: 266

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

1) You DO realize this thread is from 2008 and you're the second necropost, right?

2) You DO realize Awesome's wiki has a page about this very problem, right?

Offline

#12 2011-05-23 03:06:04

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,059

Re: awesome3 and Java gui on Arch64

On that note.... closing...

Follow tips on the wiki as linked by ZekeSulastin.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB