You are not logged in.

#1 2008-06-08 15:07:43

inf
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-18
Posts: 102
Website

Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

Does anyone have any lead how to get this thing working.

I followed the wikis E220 page, and i can connect with wvdial but can't access internet after it.

I've bee trying to get this thing working with Arch almost a day and have tried pretty much everything but still it won't let me surf / ping anything when i connect with wvdial.

Offline

#2 2008-06-09 15:01:30

inf
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-18
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

I've been trying to find the source of the problem, and it seems that Arch doesn't create the /dev/ttyUSB* files when i plug in the modem. I have googled and trying to read the wiki over and over again, but with no luck.

At one point i got the modem and wvdial to connect succesfully but I can't surf the net, and it seems that it won't put the nameserver info to /etc/resolv.conf and that's why i can't browse any sites or ping anything (like google f.ex)

If someone has a better understanding what should i try, i would be real glad for your help. So if you have any suggestions, please help.

Offline

#3 2008-06-09 15:04:18

INCSlayer
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-09-06
Posts: 296
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

can you try to manually add a nameserver in resolv.conf and see if it helps?


In Life or Death no one Shall have what is Black Jack Lee's

windoze: "for people that can't spell windows"

Offline

#4 2008-06-17 16:58:56

inf
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-18
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

chmac wrote:

If you haven't yet found it, there's a blog post on getting the E169 working on the EEE. Very detailed instructions, hopefully it will be helpful.
http://dalelane.co.uk/blog/?p=254

Thanks, i'll try that out...although don't know how could i configure network manager in gnome to also use this thing?

Offline

#5 2008-06-20 15:10:12

inf
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-18
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

Couldn't get it working. The modeswitch script just doesn't find the device. So i guess it's a kernel problem then? I think it needs a patch for the usb-storage module or something like that?

Offline

#6 2008-06-27 07:02:58

inf
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-18
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

Hah

Finally yesterday evening I got this freaking thing working big_smile

I'm not so sure what was the resolution to the problem. After the first tries I removed Arch and used Fedora 9 (very nice actually) for a while, but when Overlord was released i tried this with it. And it just worked.

Maybe something was updated while i was using fedora. Maybe the kernels usb-storage or option module which this modem uses.

So everything works now, and I'm a happy Arch user again smile

Offline

#7 2009-03-06 10:39:07

mang
Member
From: stockholm/sweden
Registered: 2008-11-11
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

deiga: I have problem to get it working as well. I tried to use wvdial without success so i'd be very happy to se your configs! And how do i know what nameserver to add? the 10.xx.xx.xx number..

Offline

#8 2009-03-06 10:40:26

inf
Member
From: Vantaa, Finland
Registered: 2006-07-18
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

mang wrote:

deiga: I have problem to get it working as well. I tried to use wvdial without success so i'd be very happy to se your configs! And how do i know what nameserver to add? the 10.xx.xx.xx number..

You need to use your ISPs DNS addresses.

Offline

#9 2009-03-06 13:15:31

mang
Member
From: stockholm/sweden
Registered: 2008-11-11
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

ok i got this info from my isp:

APN: mobileinternet.tele2.se
IP-adress: Dynamic
DNS-adress: Dynamic
WINS-adress: Dynamic

can i add "nameserver dynamic" to resolv.conf?

Offline

#10 2009-03-09 18:10:56

matahari
Member
From: Bandung, Indonesia
Registered: 2007-04-04
Posts: 59

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

you can see your isp dns ip from /var/log/ppp or /etc/ppp/resolv.conf, or just use opendns (208.67.222.222, 208.67.220.220) tongue

Last edited by matahari (2009-03-09 18:13:00)

Offline

#11 2009-03-16 21:38:07

mang
Member
From: stockholm/sweden
Registered: 2008-11-11
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

I have no luck unfortunately..
I didn't get any ip from the log and the /etc/ppp/resolv.conf didn't exist. I tried with gnome-ppp and it gave me an ip for 2 seconds then it died. But I copied it to /etc/resolv.conf but it doesn't help. Perhaps there's something I don't understand..

The ppp log outputs this:

Mar 16 22:28:02 xmng pppd[25230]: pppd 2.4.4 started by root, uid 0
Mar 16 22:28:02 xmng pppd[25230]: Using interface ppp0
Mar 16 22:28:02 xmng pppd[25230]: Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/tts/USB0
Mar 16 22:28:05 xmng pppd[25230]: CHAP authentication succeeded
Mar 16 22:28:05 xmng pppd[25230]: CHAP authentication succeeded
Mar 16 22:28:36 xmng pppd[25230]: IPCP: timeout sending Config-Requests
Mar 16 22:28:42 xmng pppd[25230]: Connection terminated.
Mar 16 22:28:42 xmng pppd[25230]: Modem hangup
Mar 16 22:28:42 xmng pppd[25230]: Exit.

Wvdial outputs:

--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.60
--> Cannot get information for serial port.
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Sending: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","mobileinernet.tele2.se"
AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","mobileinernet.tele2.se"
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT*99#
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT*99#
CONNECT
--> Carrier detected.  Starting PPP immediately.
--> Starting pppd at Mon Mar 16 22:21:04 2009
--> Pid of pppd: 28087
--> Using interface ppp0
--> pppd:  Ȕ[08]
--> pppd:  Ȕ[08]
--> pppd:  Ȕ[08]
--> pppd:  Ȕ[08]
--> pppd:  Ȕ[08]
--> pppd:  Ȕ[08]
--> pppd:  Ȕ[08]
--> Disconnecting at Mon Mar 16 22:21:44 2009
--> The PPP daemon has died: A modem hung up the phone (exit code = 16)
--> man pppd explains pppd error codes in more detail.
--> Try again and look into /var/log/messages and the wvdial and pppd man pages for more information.

and i get an interface:

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol  
          POINTOPOINT NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

any ideas...?

Offline

#12 2009-03-16 21:43:01

mang
Member
From: stockholm/sweden
Registered: 2008-11-11
Posts: 27
Website

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

and yes, my wvdial.conf:

[Dialer Defaults]
Dial Command = ATDT
Baud = 9600
New PPPD = yes
Carrier Check = off
Password = internet
Modem Type = Analog Modem
Check Def Route = on
Abort on Busy = off
Abort on No Dialtone = on
Ask Password = off
Init = ATZ
Username = gprs
Phone = *99#
Init1 = ATZ
Init2 = ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
Init3 = AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","mobileinernet.tele2.se"
Auto Reconnect = on
ISDN = 0
Auto DNS = on
Phone1 = 0738700703
Idle Seconds = 0
Stupid Mode = on
Dial Attempts = 3
Modem = /dev/ttyUSB0

Offline

#13 2009-04-07 14:28:40

petrisz
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2009-04-07
Posts: 3

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

Hi!

I googled the net but none of the solutions really worked. I figured out that the current kernel does support this device and I probably do not need the usb_modeswitch utility. I used the above wvdial.conf -- no luck.
I found a page listing worldwide GPRS APN settings: http://www.modushome.gr/gprs-apn-setting.html
According to the list I set the username and password and used the APN id in the AT+CGDCONT=... init string.
Also I inserted another init string to pass the PIN code to the device (AT+CPIN="xxxx").
I tried wvdial but I always received a "no carrier" error message.
I thought that there must had been a problem with the init strings. I do not know what exactly fixed my problem but here is what I did:
- I used the Windows utility supplied with the device to switch of PIN protection.
- I asked Windows to connect to the internet after that I disconnected and checked the modem log. (Control panel > Phone and Modem settings > Modems tab > Huawei Mobil Connect - 3G Modem > Properties > Diagnostics > View log -- or something like that, as I have a localised XP)
- I saw some strings Windows passed to the modem and although Windows kept repeating some messages to the modem, decided to use them all in the order Windows did.
- I removed all the init strings from wvdial.conf and put all the init strings Windows used into wvdial.conf like Init1=xxxxx, Init2=xxxxx,... and so on. I had 9 Init lines smile
Finally I run wvdial and it was able to connect to the internet at last. I copied /etc/ppp/resolv.conf to /etc/resolv.conf and I was able to ping www.google.co.uk && surf the net.

I hope this helps.

Have fun smile

Peter

Last edited by petrisz (2009-04-07 15:25:18)

Offline

#14 2009-04-08 11:14:36

petrisz
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2009-04-07
Posts: 3

Re: Problems with Huawei E169 3G modem

No, it didn't solve the problem. Today I got the no carrier message again. What I tried is that I stopped HAL and then tried to dial. Then it could connect.
Do you think that HAL can have this kind of impact? How can I use the Huawei E169 device together with HAL? Do you have any ideas? I'll investigate the issue further. For now I stop HAL, connect to the internet via the modem and then restart HAL again so that I can use HAL's functionality when I start X.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB