You are not logged in.

#1 2004-12-18 03:52:01

bostoniman
Member
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 213
Website

Webmin on an Arch server

I installed Webmin on my server using the package from the webmin site, and opted for it to load at boot, but it won't do it.  What should I do to have Webmin load at boot?

Offline

#2 2004-12-18 14:49:33

FUBAR
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-12-08
Posts: 1,029
Website

Re: Webmin on an Arch server

The "ugly" solution is to add the command for webmin to /etc/rc.local. The commands in this file are executed during systemboot.

A nicer solution is to write an rc.d-script, put it in /etc/rc.d/ and add the script to your /etc/rc.conf.

Should you try to write a script, it's best to start off with one that's already in /etc/rc.d and see how it works.


A bus station is where a bus stops.
A train station is where a train stops.
On my desk I have a workstation.

Offline

#3 2004-12-19 02:46:49

jskier
Member
From: Minnesota, USA
Registered: 2003-07-30
Posts: 356
Website

Re: Webmin on an Arch server

I took the rc.local way and it works great and is the easiest to me. In case you're wondering how to set it up I posted the line I have in my /etc/rc.local below. Adjust to your install directory of course.

/webmin/webmin-init start

--
JSkier

Offline

#4 2004-12-19 06:21:29

bostoniman
Member
Registered: 2004-09-17
Posts: 213
Website

Re: Webmin on an Arch server

Great, thanks.  And you don't have any problems with boot or anything?  No need to manually start it after boot?

Offline

#5 2004-12-19 06:28:30

jskier
Member
From: Minnesota, USA
Registered: 2003-07-30
Posts: 356
Website

Re: Webmin on an Arch server

Nope. It basically starts the webmin service in the background as root. Never had a problem with it yet.


--
JSkier

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB