You are not logged in.

#1 2009-08-05 02:38:18

li.alvez
Member
Registered: 2009-06-16
Posts: 37

pacman -Syu error?

hey guys just curious as to why im getting this error msg. this is the 3rd day in a row ive recived this so i don't really know what to do i've read through some forums but i got nothing please help!

$ pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
error: failed retrieving file 'core.db.tar.gz' from mirrors.easynews.com : Forbidden
error: failed to update core (Forbidden)
error: failed retrieving file 'extra.db.tar.gz' from mirrors.easynews.com : Forbidden
error: failed to update extra (Forbidden)
error: failed retrieving file 'community.db.tar.gz' from mirrors.easynews.com : Forbidden
error: failed to update community (Forbidden)
error: failed to synchronize any databases

Offline

#2 2009-08-05 02:59:18

sHyLoCk
Member
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2009-06-19
Posts: 1,197

Re: pacman -Syu error?

Select a different mirror from the mirrorlist and check again.


~ Regards,
sHy
ArchBang: Yet another Distro for Allan to break.
Blog | GIT | Forum (。◕‿◕。)

Offline

#3 2009-08-05 03:44:43

Arisna
Member
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 81

Re: pacman -Syu error?

Yeah, easynews is having problems currently.

Offline

#4 2009-08-05 12:49:54

li.alvez
Member
Registered: 2009-06-16
Posts: 37

Re: pacman -Syu error?

how do i select a new mirror?

Offline

#5 2009-08-05 12:50:34

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,409
Website

Re: pacman -Syu error?

edit /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

Offline

#6 2009-08-05 13:01:08

jelly
Trusted User (TU)
From: /dev/null
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 711

Re: pacman -Syu error?

it's also recommended to do a

pacman -Syy

after updating a mirror

Offline

#7 2009-08-05 21:12:23

li.alvez
Member
Registered: 2009-06-16
Posts: 37

Re: pacman -Syu error?

well i tried but this is all i got

etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
bash: etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist: No such file or directory

Offline

#8 2009-08-05 21:26:52

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,170

Re: pacman -Syu error?

li.alvez wrote:

well i tried but this is all i got

etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
bash: etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist: No such file or directory

You need to edit that file, as Allan recommended. Don't just type "etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist" into a shell, (furthermore, you forgot the leading "/").
Try something like

$ nano /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

Offline

#9 2009-08-05 21:40:25

keegan
Member
Registered: 2009-05-12
Posts: 54

Re: pacman -Syu error?

Misfit138 wrote:
li.alvez wrote:

well i tried but this is all i got

etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist
bash: etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist: No such file or directory

You need to edit that file, as Allan recommended. Don't just type "etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist" into a shell, (furthermore, you forgot the leading "/").
Try something like

$ nano /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist

I love how you avoided further headache by suggesting nano. Thumbs up wink

Offline

#10 2009-08-05 22:53:14

li.alvez
Member
Registered: 2009-06-16
Posts: 37

Re: pacman -Syu error?

sorry do i have to write nano? if so what is it?

Offline

#11 2009-08-05 23:11:01

.:B:.
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2006-11-26
Posts: 5,819

Re: pacman -Syu error?

I firmly suggest you do some reading up or revert to a distro that is more befitting to your level of Linux knowledge...

Nano is an editor, if you don't know how to work with it run

man nano

If you're not familiar with working in a terminal, install Ubuntu, learn, and come back in a few months. If you do, print the nano manual for reference if you need to and write man on your forehead so you'll see it every morning you wake up. Never ever forget it again.

Do this and you'll thrive in a Linux environment.


Got Leenucks? :: Arch: Power in simplicity :: Get Counted! Registered Linux User #392717 :: Blog thingy

Offline

#12 2009-08-19 12:41:40

dick_turpin
Member
From: West Midlands, United Kingdom
Registered: 2007-05-05
Posts: 25
Website

Re: pacman -Syu error?

li.alvez wrote:

sorry do i have to write nano? if so what is it?

As there is no further posts I have no idea if you solved this problem or not?

I don't use nano myself I use vi which you will probably have installed anyway, also I don't use sudo so if you have that you will need to modify the following accordingly.

open a terminal (xterm, konsole, gnome terminal whatever it is you have/use) and do the following;

su -
This will ask you for the root password, give that and press 'enter' next type

cd /etc/pacman.d

This is where your 'mirrorlist' lives, next we type

vi mirrorlist

You need to concentrate here, use the arrow keys to navigate around.
So we navigate down to the country's near you, the first entry is the country i.e #United Kingdom we leave that alone we need to uncomment the # sign from in front of the server url so we move down one more using the down arrow key then press i (The letter i) this means "Insert here" press the delete key to remove the # in front of the server.

The line should have changed from blue (Or whatever) text to white text, you can uncomment some more or all if you like. Now press the Esc key then Shift and : (Colon) then type wq (Which stands for Write & Quit)
NOTE: If you make any mistakes type only q! this means "quit without writing anything"

Once you have done all the steps above type

pacman -Syy

This will refresh your list. There is a further step you can take of rankmirrors you will need to look on the wiki for that.

Hope that helps

Last edited by dick_turpin (2009-08-19 12:47:43)


Regards
Peter Cannon
"The man who never makes mistakes never makes anything."

Offline

#13 2009-08-19 14:13:15

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: pacman -Syu error?

Arch Linux support has reached a new level : How to edit a config file, step by step

I really think someone should make a video, a text description is not friendly at all. Also including an on-screen keyboard in the video to show exactly what was typed.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#14 2009-08-19 14:44:01

Barrucadu
Member
From: York, England
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 1,158
Website

Re: pacman -Syu error?

Clearly the installation process isn't preparing people for the difficulties of Arch. We need to obfusticate it to ensure people have a minimum level of Linux / CLI knowledge.

Last edited by Barrucadu (2009-08-19 14:44:27)

Offline

#15 2009-08-19 15:02:01

AdrenalineJunky
Member
Registered: 2009-05-03
Posts: 149

Re: pacman -Syu error?

Barrucadu wrote:

Clearly the installation process isn't preparing people for the difficulties of Arch. We need to obfusticate it to ensure people have a minimum level of Linux / CLI knowledge.

i'm guessing he didn't do the install the arch way, unless he's still using the command line, i don't think it would be possible for him to install the system without learning how to edit text files from the command line.

as has been said before, unless you really wanna take a hardcore crash course in linux, arch may not be the best distro for you right now. if you really do wanna take the crash course - i'd recommend starting over the arch way, and doing a full install following the begginners guide. you'll learn alot that way.

Offline

#16 2009-08-19 15:53:37

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: pacman -Syu error?

Barrucadu wrote:

Clearly the installation process isn't preparing people for the difficulties of Arch. We need to obfusticate it to ensure people have a minimum level of Linux / CLI knowledge.

I remember someone mentioning this point, on the arch-releng ML I believe, but I could not find the post again
http://www.archlinux.org/pipermail/arch-releng/


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#17 2009-08-21 09:54:56

plurt
Member
Registered: 2008-10-16
Posts: 87

Re: pacman -Syu error?

my first distro was slackware which a friend of mine installed. There was no package manager for slackware at the time, installing meant compiling. I had no idea how to use the cli, let alone vi. Still, given some time and lots of reading, I learned.

Give people some time to learn, just set them on their way. Nobody even bothered to provide some links to the appropriate wiki pages.

Every pupil benefits from good teachers, and I see who fails at what. It's not the pupil willing to learn.


When everything's coming your way, you're in the wrong lane I say.
FAQ / Beginners Guide / The Arch Way

Offline

#18 2009-08-21 13:10:54

li.alvez
Member
Registered: 2009-06-16
Posts: 37

Re: pacman -Syu error?

I was just reading through this string, yea i did not install it myself but i spend many hours in wiki and other forums before i ask for help, just remember everyone here had to take the first step. Dick_Turpin, thank you for going into details on how to fix my problem, Plurt thank you maybe all the big shot programmers here can take a page from your books. thanks guys

Offline

#19 2009-08-21 13:40:58

jumboa7
Member
Registered: 2009-08-18
Posts: 1

Re: pacman -Syu error?

I am not sure whether you can solve this problem or not. But I like to encourage you to stick with ArchLinux. It is harder than some other distros but  wiki and forum here is very good. Start with the hard one and you will learn a lot.

For your problem, I think you should try to understand the meaning of each command and each file. You can find out more in ArchLinux wiki.
Also, I think you start working with pico or nano first before move to vi and/or emacs.

Good Luck

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB