You are not logged in.

#1 2005-01-17 22:29:10

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

xorg not compatable with kde???

:? I finished installing Arch on a IBM t-23. I believe it's a good install, text
     only. Everytime I try to pacman -Sy kde I get this error message:
     " xorg conflicts with xfree86". What does this mean? I don't even know
     if I have either one of these on my laptop.       
    Should I download xfree86 or xorg first? I don't know if it matters witch
    one is downloaded first, kde or the conf. system. Is xfree86 being
    phased out? How do i get kde installed? -- Thanks Larry

Offline

#2 2005-01-17 23:32:02

craw
Member
Registered: 2005-01-06
Posts: 26

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

hi!

xfree and xorg are basically the same... they provide your x-server. but the pkgbuild for kde, which you want to install by:

pacman -S kde

depends on xorg. so can either change that in a custom package, or simpler just do:

pacman -R xfree
pacman -S xorg kde

::edit:: yes it should be pacman -R xfree86 ::edit::

at least it should work that way...
:twisted:

Offline

#3 2005-01-17 23:33:52

rayjgu3
Member
From: Chicago IL usa
Registered: 2004-07-04
Posts: 692

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

you could try
pacman -R xfree86

but you havent really done anything yet so id
reinstall only a BASE install , this time
DO NOT select any other packages
once you have that then run
pacman -Syu
get your base current then
pacman -Sy xorg kde
once you got that put kdm in dameon section of /etc/rc.conf
reboot
should put you into kde login
good luck

Offline

#4 2005-01-18 02:13:29

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

rayjgu3 -  I only installed the base packages! When I finished the
     basic install and was in root I upgraded pacman and then upgraded
     the system. -- pacman -Syu. I don't know where the kde message
     was coming from? So a quick question, I believe xfee86 is being
     phased out, does it matter which one I use? Where do I go to find out
     if xorg or xfree86 is already on the system? I'll probably try xorg and
      see what happens. smile thanks for the reply -- Larry

Offline

#5 2005-01-18 04:21:30

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

lmellen wrote:

Where do I go to find out
     if xorg or xfree86 is already on the system?

pacman -Q xfree86

If you only installed the base packages as you say then upgraded you should not have xfree86 or xorg on your system.

with a base install you should:

pacman -Sy pacman
pacman -S xorg kde

then you would have to do your configuring of X and KDE. Your error tells me that you have more than a base system installed. It sounds like you installed xfree86. Therefore:

pacman -Rd xfree86
pacman -S xorg kde

I think there is a very old new article in the archive on the webpage that tells you exactly how to replace xfree86 with xorg.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#6 2005-01-18 05:58:50

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

:?  Hi Sarah31 -- I did as you suggested, pacman -Q, both xfree86 and
    xorg, nothing there. I then pacman -S xorg kde. I'm stumped as to
    how to run xorg? The Arch Linux Documentation only says to edit
    the .xinitrc file. I did that, but when startx I only get something called
    xterm, not kde. I know how to configure xfree86, and xorg, but how do
    you get the program running? -- thanks for the reply -- Larry  smile

Offline

#7 2005-01-18 06:13:01

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

i believe you just create an entry in .xinitrc like so:

exec startkde


make sure all other "exec"s are commented out (place a # in front of them)


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

#8 2005-01-18 14:38:34

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

:)Hi Sarah 31 -- thanks for the reply  Everything is as you suggested.
       Still not working!
I'm switching over to desktop environments forum. -- Larry

Offline

#9 2005-01-18 17:05:27

scarecrow
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2004-11-18
Posts: 714

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

Forget xfree86, xorg is way better an xserver.
Either run xorgconfig after installing xorg 6.8.1, or more simply:
pacman -Sy hwd
hwd -s
hwd in most cases creates a working /etc/X11/xorg.conf.hwd file, which you can rename to xorg.conf, edit your .xinitrc and then "startx". Type also "hwd -h" to see the other available switches.
I don't like the idea running KDM as a daemon- simpler would be editing your /etc/inittab file and taking care KDM not running as a daemon all the time.
Change the line
id:3:initdefault:
to
id:5:initdefault:
and the last line to the real KDM placement with a -nodaemon switch:

x:5:respawn:/opt/kde/bin/kdm -nodaemon

It works just fine like that here.


Microshaft delenda est

Offline

#10 2005-01-19 02:50:41

lmellen
Member
From: Fairport, NY
Registered: 2004-06-11
Posts: 120

Re: xorg not compatable with kde???

big_smile Thanks everybody, everything is working fine! This message
      is being typed on the t-23. I still don't know why I got the
      original message! After that message I pacman -Q to see if
      there was any x-whatever on the machine, there wasn't.
      All I did was as everybody instructed, and now everything
      is working fine!!! --  big_smile Thanks again -- LARRY

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB