You are not logged in.

#1 2005-02-01 10:17:21

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Why is X required by samba?

I require samba
samba requires cups
cups requires ghostscript
ghostscript requires xfree86
therefore I require xfree86

Argh! I don't want xfree86!

Offline

#2 2005-02-01 12:09:27

Spider.007
Member
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 1,151
Website

Re: Why is X required by samba?

I've been told pacman -Sd cups will do the trick; however I was also amazed my server suddenly wanted to download Xfree big_smile

Online

#3 2005-02-01 16:25:53

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Why is X required by samba?

kleptophobiac wrote:

I require samba
samba requires cups
cups requires ghostscript
ghostscript requires xfree86
therefore I require xfree86

Lewis Caroll would be proud!

obviously there is some odd dependancy chain here...
samba-cups : understandable
cups-ghostscript : hmmm not too familiar with cups, but I guess it's understandable
ghostscript-'x-server' : hmmm this may not be needed. Seeing as ghostscript can be used solely for printing...

Offline

#4 2005-02-01 23:58:03

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Why is X required by samba?

yeah... I definitely don't want the X hole on my server. smile

Looks like I have some manual cleanup to do. sad

Offline

#5 2005-02-02 01:34:04

celeron2002
Member
From: Santiago, Chile.
Registered: 2004-02-18
Posts: 150

Re: Why is X required by samba?

ummm but samba in others distros the support for cups is optional  roll  roll


irc.bsd.cl #linux
irc.freenode.org #archlinux-es

Offline

#6 2005-02-02 08:20:16

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Why is X required by samba?

Also, this version of samba seems to be having problems for me... It pegs CPU usage cyclically, killing transfer rates.

Offline

#7 2005-02-03 01:33:56

kleptophobiac
Member
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Registered: 2004-04-25
Posts: 481

Re: Why is X required by samba?

phrakture wrote:
kleptophobiac wrote:

I require samba
samba requires cups
cups requires ghostscript
ghostscript requires xfree86
therefore I require xfree86

Lewis Caroll would be proud!

Hmm? Care to explain? I've never read him...

Offline

#8 2005-02-03 15:40:28

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Why is X required by samba?

kleptophobiac wrote:
phrakture wrote:
kleptophobiac wrote:

I require samba
samba requires cups
cups requires ghostscript
ghostscript requires xfree86
therefore I require xfree86

Lewis Caroll would be proud!

Hmm? Care to explain? I've never read him...

He's the guy who wrote "Alice in Wonderland" - but, most people don't know, he was a logician... he focused heavilly on logical arguments (if P then Q, not Q, therefore not P) but he liked to be real whimsical with his arguments... hell, read some of the conversation between the Mad Hatter and Alice, or the Cheshire Cat and Alice - it's all logical stuff... the technical term is "he likes valid arguments which are not sound" - meaning that while his argument may be perfect, the conclusion would be "if I am not a cat, then the sky is purple" which just isn't sound...

Offline

#9 2005-02-06 22:07:50

MEfreak
Member
Registered: 2004-07-18
Posts: 20

Re: Why is X required by samba?

kleptophobiac wrote:

I require samba
samba requires cups
cups requires ghostscript
ghostscript requires xfree86
therefore I require xfree86

Aha, so it's cups that wants me to install all this crap. I saw the output when I went to Su today, and had to do a double take before saying "no thank you."

Argh! I don't want xfree86!

Sentiment shared.

Offline

#10 2005-02-07 05:56:09

Snowman
Developer/Forum Fellow
From: Montreal, Canada
Registered: 2004-08-20
Posts: 5,212

Re: Why is X required by samba?

A bug report was submitted so it will  probably be fixed.

http://bugs.archlinux.org/index.php?do=details&id=2130

Offline

#11 2005-02-14 23:53:40

MEfreak
Member
Registered: 2004-07-18
Posts: 20

Re: Why is X required by samba?

Spider.007 wrote:

I've been told pacman -Sd cups will do the trick;

it did  smile

Offline

#12 2005-02-15 06:17:43

sarah31
Member
From: Middle of Canada
Registered: 2002-08-20
Posts: 2,975
Website

Re: Why is X required by samba?

that is a bad dependency chain reminiscent of debian dependency chains. I remember that one day I wanted to remove some weenie little utility app that was just over 500 K and it wanted to take all of gnome and several other things with it to the tune of nearly 200MB of packages.


AKA uknowme

I am not your friend

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB